Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southend

Brilliant Rooms in Centre

Posted Aug 16, 2017
The hotel was brilliant, we thought the room would be small as the hotel front is small and narrow. Instead we were taken down the street to a separate building and the apartment was massive. It was for four people and was lovely and modern, all of the beds were extremely comfortable. It was located in a rather busy street that was close to some of the most popular nightlife so could be a little noisy and times but true brilliant value for money made up for it.
4 out of 5
by Chris

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Good place to stay. Parking garage was very close. Great location. Very friendly staff. We had problems with an elevator that went out and had to use stairs (3 flights) but it was quickly fix and staff apologized profusely. TV was working properly, again staff helped to resolve the problem too. Hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. I'd definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing second stay

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location is close to the river, Alter Market, and one of the Hop On-Hop Off bus stops
Cons: Service, more accurate descriptions of the rooms
This was my second stay at Hotel Hayk. I really enjoyed staying here in December with my husband during the Christmas markets so we decided to book again, this time with a group of 4. We booked a Standard Apartment listed to have two queen beds and a view. However, we were put in an apartment across the street, with a door direct from the street. At first, the place seemed fine- it was cute, clean, and cool (which was nice during the heat wave Cologne was experiencing). But I was incredibly disappointed with the beds. The one actual bed was very hard and the second "bed" was a couch with and ottoman propped up next to it and a bed pad laying on top. It was not comfortable and the ottoman actually collapsed twice. The first time they fixed it and the second time happened in the middle of the night so we just had to deal with it. I was really not happy that I paid for two beds and did not get them, especially when there was no indication The staff was not very friendly and gave attitude when we only wanted coffee in the morning, not the "breakfast" they offered. Overall, I will not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by ran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice apartment style rooms

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Great rooms but apt was not in hotel so we had to walk about 5 min down the road.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location! Just not on Friday or Saturday nigh

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately our room was not actually in the hotel Hayk but a block away. Still a nice old bulilding but we were on the 5th floor which was a long way to haul our luggage up so keep that in mind. Also, we were there on a Saturday night and the pub below and across the walkway was VERY noisy. Vomit was on stairs in a couple places the next morning. The music was thumping loudly until 5 am! The next night was Sunday and nice and quiet so my suggestion is to avoid booking on a Friday or Saturday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you're expectations are low it's ok for a night

Posted Nov 29, 2016
We couldn't find the place since the actually address was different to the one given through Expedia. Its more an apartment than a hotel room. The room felt really cold and the bathroom was smelling weird. The breakfast wasn't anything special. Good point for this room was the location since it's located 10 mins walk from the "Cologne cathedral" and all shopping areas.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The hotel was not as they advertised on Expedia. We paid for a room with 3 queen beds and a view. Instead we got a place with one king size bed and one double bed, and zero view. Our daughter had to sleep on the floor. The hotel was dirty, the staff spoke no English, and the cleaning ladies let themselves in at 9am, when checkout was 11:30. Fortunately, we were only there one night. The bathroom was tiny, the floors filthy, and the bedding smelled like someone else had slept in it...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rent the apartment room, it is roomy and central.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
The room is is in the central square of the city and very accommodating for a larger party.