Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2018
Great location, minutes from wawel Castle. Close to tram which is often loud. Great breakfast included.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight UK

Centrally located - Great value for money

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Cannot fault the Royal
Location: Castle, market Square, Jewish sector, tram stop, city tour stop all withing 100 yards of hotel door.
The Hotel is in a great location opposite the castle. Just a short walk to the main square and also the Jewish sector. You can also pick up the hop on/hop off tour bus right outside.The Royal is an old hotel, like a grand old lady. Yes the rooms could do with a lick of paint and a refurbishment programme is imminent but do not let that detract from the ambiance of the Royal. A throw back to a bygone age with its grand staircase, chandeliers, subdued lighting and retro décor. Breakfast is extensive, lots of breads, cakes, yogurts, fruits, tea, coffee, juices and several other items such as sausages, eggs and other morning fare. Service is first class. I booked an economy room and that is what I got, basic but with a modern shower room. The bed was ridiculously comfortable. Linen and towels changed daily. Staff were well turned out and very helpful. A really excellent experience from booking in to checking out. I would definitely book the Royal should I ever return to Krakow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Hotel itself is ok, maybe a little dated but it's well situated just across from the castle and a glorious church plus a short walk to the town centre. Check in was great, friendly chap on the desk told me everything and even gave me maps with directions of where I wanted to go. Room was OK for what I payed but just a little warm in the evening so could do with air conditioning maybe as opening the window isn't ideal with the tram running right outside. Breakfast was adequate and a good selection of both food and drink to set you up for the day. Only really used room for sleep and bathroom which was the best part of the room. Fridge didn't work very well but my biggest gripe was trying to check out. My pick up for the airport was 4.15am so I left the room at half 3 and walked round to the front of hotel as my room was near the back entrance. Door was locked and night guard opened door and when I said I wanted to check out he sent me back round to the rear. Cue a difficult conversation with the security guard and then on the phone to the overnight receptionist I was led through the hotel and accused of not paying for my room so I couldn't leave putting me in an uncomfortable situation. The issue was eventually resolved but certainly how I didn't want my 12 hour journey home to begin.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was founded in 1898 and in some ways looked as if it hadn't been refurbished since. However the bathroom was fine, the bed clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast excellent. Position excellent: right by Wawel and Kazimierz and very short walk from old town. Wi-Fi worked well enough,
5 out of 5
by Kathleen

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Brilliant Hotel for the price
4 out of 5
by Alexander

Great location

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great location! big room. Not new but clean. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

I miss it already!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Great location, helpful staff, great breakfast, clean rooms and lots of character.
Cons: The TV and bathroom door were broken but I spent little time in my room and I was in a single room any way so neither mattered.
Location: Wawel Castle is right on the door step and it's a 5 minute walk to the market. The Jewish district is also a short walk away. Fantastic location :)
This hotel is in a great location! Very close to the market, castle and Jewish district. The single room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was incredible! Amazing choice of food. The staff were lovely and they let you keep your bags in the hotel after check out time if you have a late flight home. If you like modern hotels this probably isn't for you but if you like a place with character, I would recommend this for sure.
2 out of 5
by Leo

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Was not that Happy stayed for 3 days and when I ask for Free WiFi the frontdesk lady said The WiFi is down don't know when it will be back up, Next day I ask again is the same story third day again, and had been told the router is not working need another one don't know when
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotl with a great location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Nice hotel and the biggest room I have ever stayed in! Modern en suite. Very clean. Breakfast was advertised as continental but it was more as there was hot food also. Nothing was a problem for the staff. We would definitely go again