Ratings based on 1,129 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: As above.
Location: Walking distance of the city centre- so everything.
Excellent location- close to city centre but far enough out to be quiet. Excellent facilities, very comfortable. Great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Dear mark, Thank you so much for your 5 out of 5 review and I am delighted you had a great stay with us. Our location is fantastic as it is just outside the heart of the city so quiet but yet easily accessible for all the sights and Christmas market. I am glad you found the facilities excellent and the staff to be great. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind regards Andrew Boe Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Location: Good location at the bottom of the Royal Mile, close to many attractions and not to far to walk from the train station
Fantastic breakfast and very comfy beds. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by A, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent 5 out of 5 review it is very much appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed breakfast the most important meal of the day and I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the staff. They are all a great asset to the team and the guests experience We look forward to welcoming you back I the near future Kind regards Andrew Boe Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
The hotel is very comfortable, room is very spacious and reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent review. Our rooms at the Holyrood are of a good size for a city centre hotel and this does help to add to the comfort of our guests stays. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind regards Andrew Boe Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Swimming pool a bit chilly!

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Great room with terrible view. Bed was so comfortable I didn’t want to get out of it. Staff were without exception delightful! Pool was so cold. I guess the upside was I had to swim fast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent review and I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am delighted the room was great and the bed was comfortable but I am sorry the view let it down. I have taken on board your comments with regards the pool and will be addressing this as it should always be at a comfortable temperature. I am happy to read the staff were delightful as they do make the difference when it comes to the guests experience. We hope to welcome you back soon and we will be sure to locate you high enough for a view.... Kind regards Andrew Boe Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Wonderful hotel! Loved it. The hotel room was great and felt very luxurious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5 star review and I appreciate you taking the time to feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted you found the hotel to be wonderful and I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you again Kind regards Andrew Boe Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stourbridge

Good for exploring the city

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Seemed expensive for the experience provided. Staff were excellent, the bed and feather duvet were extremely comfortable. Everything else was about ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you so much for your feedback in relation to your recent stay and I am very please you found the staff to be excellent and the bedroom to be comfortable. We very much hope to see you again in the future Kind regards Andrew Boe Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Lovely Hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Lovely hotel. Would definitely recommend. In a quiet area but very easy access to attractons. Staff very welcoming and rooms of excellent standard. Hopefully stay here again in the future. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Dear Allison, Thank you so much for the 5 star review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and even more you will stay with us again in the future. Please to read you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming and room to be an excellent standard. We look forward to seeing you again soon Andrew Boe Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prince George British Columbia

Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: The decor was nice and location
Cons: Breakfast attentive
Location: The palace and castle quick jaunt to the train station. Everything within walking distance
Bathroom in room needed some extra care. The breakfast for 3 mornings was not correct ever, Your concierge and bartenders were friendly, knowledgeable and extremely happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Dear Earl and Janet, Thank you so much for your recent review and I appreciate you taking the time to feedback. I am glad to hear the concierge team and Bar were friendly and knowledgeable and I will be sure to pass on your feedback. I am disappointed to hear about breakfast as this is by no means our usual standard and I will be addressing this with my team. I glad you liked the location and as you say everything is within walking distance. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future Kind regards Andrew Boe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Location: close to all major tourist attractions
Nice stay, central location, dining in bistro very expensive for tiny al la carte portions but impeccable service non the less
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Andrew , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent review and I appreciate your feedback. As you mention we are close to all the main attractions but away from the hustle and bustle of the noisy city centre. Thank you for your feedback in relation to our fantastic new restaurant Bistro Deluxe by Paul Tamburrini and I will be sure to pass on your honest views. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Andrew Boe Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado USA

Edinburgh Welcome

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Cons: adding a self serve laundry room and having more than 1 electrical outlet in bathroom.
Arriving after a long night flight we were checked in within 15 minutes. All hotel staff are friendly, helpful and cater to your needs, thank you to Teri & Jacob especially! The newly remodeled restaurant/bar is lovely, menu/food delicious. Room service breakfast was prompt. There are other places to eat/drink nearby as well. We had a comfortable quiet King room with a view of Arthur's seat & dynamic earth. Property is close to Queens residence, Holyrood Park and a mile from Edinburgh Castle, we were able to walk everywhere. Would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay at the Holyrood and I appreciate you taking the time to feedback. I am delighted you would stay again and you like our new restaurant and bar Bistro deluxe by Paul Tamburrini. I am really happy to read your feedback on the team especially Teri and Jacob and I will be sure to pass your comments onto them. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Andrew Boe Hotel Manager