Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Hotel clean,staff great and location ideal for getting around
4 out of 5
by Emilio

Good place to stay.

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place to stay with a really comfortable bed. The room size was perfect as well. The location is great, near lots of shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Mercure, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Hope to welcome you in Cologne again. Best regards Mercure Hotel Köln City Friesenstrasse Tom P. Tröbs General Manager
4 out of 5
by ROBERT

Great location, but beware during Carnival!

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, but we stayed during a carnival weekend. Our room was on the front of the hotel (facing Friesenstrasse), on a high floor, and we heard loud thumping music all night long. Next time, I'll request the back side!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Mediocre hotel, too far from the city

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The hotel furnishing is dated, it needs renovation. The chair was dusty. We were given 4 paper cups (no glasses) for every night stay. The bathroom was not very clean either. It was a long walk to town every day. The only thing I liked was that the room was soundproof. If given a choice, I'd have chose another hotel closer to the scenic Cologne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Great location

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The hotel was great except for getting English tea so bring your own if you want a decent cup of tea. The only bad thing I've got to say is that we went out at 11 in morning to the Dom markets 10-15 mins walk caught bus to all other markets which is really easy to get around. Got back to hotel at 6pm to find our bedroom door open and beds had been made . Luckily none of our things Had been taken but because there are no safes in rooms we left money and passports etc in rooms so could of been worse. Hotel staff seemed shocked when I told them but I got no feedback to say it had been addressed Apart from that this hotel is great location next to a great Irish bar where we ended up every night
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Phoned to ask if could change dates, told not possible so lost all money , enough said
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay. Lovely staff. No noise could be heard when inside the room (I sleep very light, so this is very important for me).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party Street. Stay only if you like to party.

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located at a great location. Party music all night until wee hours. If you have room facing the Party Street....then it could be v noisy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent stay, good area, poor services

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Decent stay, shower head broke on first use, tough time getting staff to fix it in the day. Internet was free, but horrible quality, couldn't get a connection unless I was in the bathroom or in an odd corner of the room, and even then it was quite slow. I needed to use the wifi to check and send a work emai and I had to sit in the toilet to get it to barely work and send a normal message in 30 minutes.