Ratings based on 955 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to town, modern and good price

Posted Dec 12, 2017
excellent stay, everything is within a 5 min walk, nice and modern and not too busy and noisy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent base for exploring historic Cologne

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Its location, excellent selection of breakfast offerings.
Cons: A little more selection of supper menu would help.
Location: Excellent location for visiting on foot the Cathedral, 12 Romanesque churches, Wallraf-Richarts Museum, Romanisch-Germanisch Museum, etc.
This hotel is located in south old town, making it very easy to explore historic Cologne on foot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by 1206, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Jong-Soung, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We looking forward of welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great stay and location with a special touch

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Great location Cleanses Breakfast
Cons: N/a
Location: Lots of local shops and restaurant nearby. Right next to Metro station.
Our stay at Mercure hotel Severinshof was wonderful, very comfortable, clean and perfect location to explore Cologne city. Breakfast had lots of variety foods, hot and cold, we enjoyed it every morning. And one day, on my birthday a staff brought a lovely cake with a candle to my room and I was very touched by the treat and their hospitality. I would like to go back to stay again, thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by 1206, Hotel Management
Dear Mercure guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback after your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that your stay had been to your satisfaction and we have forwarded your comments to our team. We hope that we soon have the opportunity of welcoming you again at our hotel. With best regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Nice lobby, bar an restaurant. The breakfast was tasty and with a good choice. Good wi-fi connection.
Location: The hotel is located by a busy road just next to Severinstrasse U-Bhan stop. It takes around 15 minutes walk to the cathedral.
We arrived at the hotel quite early and was able to check in straight away which was very nice. Gentleman at the reception was also kind enough to swap our room from king to twin beds. Unfortunately the room was definitely not up to a 4* standard. First of all it smelled badly from the bathroom drains. Secondly it had visible mould on the silicone seal around the bath. And finally the decoration dates back to the 1990's. After the early check in and room swap we didn't want to bother the reception with additional complaints however the room should not be sold to anyone as a 4 star accommodation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by 1206, Hotel Management
Dear Mercure guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City, we appreciate the time you have taken to write us. Your comments are a great help to improve our service and quality and meet our customers’ expectations. We sincerely regret that you have not been satisfied with your stay in our hotel particulary with our twin rooms. Please apologize all inconvenience we cause to you. We hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel and convince you of the quality of our service. With best regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Good value, great position

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
An excellent hotel in a great position with good local amenities restaurants, adjacent to tram station and with safe, albeit expensive, parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by H1206, Hotel Management
Dear Christopher, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We looking forward of welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
4 out of 5
by Asokbhai

Excellent and a pleasant short break !!!

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
We came for a short break(3 Days) and were not disappointed. The location of the hotel was just perfect. All necessary amenities for our daily excursions were a short distance from the hotel. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent. We also had our evening meals (2x) in the hotel and the food was very good. Service in general ( check in/out, restaurant etc) was prompt and very friendly. I would certainly recommend this hotel and will definitely come again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by H1206, Hotel Management
Dear Mercure Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that your stay had been to your satisfaction and have forwarded your comments to our team. We hope that we soon have the opportunity of welcoming you again at our hotel. With best regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
4 out of 5
by Yasmin

Nice but pricey this time

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times now as my son and his family live nearby.It is always welcoming and clean and we love it,the staff are always friendly and polite but I noticed a price hike at €220 euros one night which took our 4 nights to €600 now that's a bit much especially with no breakfast and we will have to look alternative accommodation if this continues again but on the whole I really like it here and always feel at home
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by H1206, Hotel Management
Dear Yasmin, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Due to a special event in Cologne, during your stay, the rates were higher as during the low seasons. We hope that we soon have the opportunity of welcoming you again at our hotel. With best regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
5 out of 5
by Stuart

Perfect hotel for a two night stay

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is 15/20 minutes away from the main train station and Dom. 10 mins from the Alstadt (Old Town) and 15 mins walk to Zulpicher Strasse should you fancy a night out. The hotel was very nice and the staff extremely helpful and welcoming. The receptionist also advised where to avoid on the Saturday evening due to large scale protests taking place. I emailed ahead to the hotel ahead of my stay with friends asking for our room to overlook the inner courtyard so that after a night out we could enjoy some peace and quiet whilst resting. This was honoured and I can't thank the hotel enough for that. I was in room 154 and it had everything we needed, twin beds, large room, tv with lots of channels that I managed to watch the FA Cup semi final on on the Sunday. The décor is was fine and everywhere was clean. The bathroom is small but does the job. Wi-Fi was fine for browsing. The bar area of the hotel is nice, we enjoyed the odd Kolsch and IPA in there whilst watching football. I didn't have breakfast personally although two in my party did and we happy with the choices. The area around the hotel is fine, to the left is a Rewe Supermarket, but take a right and there is an abundance of takeaways, supermarkets, off-licences, restaurants and bars. There is a tram and u-bahn station right outside which is handy should you need it. I will certainly be staying in this hotel again when I visit (provided they allow me to stay in Room 154 again ;-)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by H1206, Hotel Management
Dear Stuart, Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that your stay had been to your satisfaction and have forwarded your comments to our team. We hope that we soon have the opportunity of welcoming you again at our hotel. With best regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
5 out of 5
by Eva

Lovely - would definitely stay again.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were incredible - so lovely and really help (especially when I lost my passport and the lovely lady at reception called the airport for me!)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by H1206, Hotel Management
Dear Eva, Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We looking forward of welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good quality hotel.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Modern clean rooms.
Location: It's more on the edge of the town centre. But you can walk to most places fairly easily. If walking isn't an option then taxis or ubahn are available.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the main train station. Fairly straightforward to find. Check in was easy enough. Rooms are clean tidy and comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by 1206, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that your stay had been to your satisfaction and have forwarded your comments to our team. Kind regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City