Ratings based on 1,059 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hudson wi

A bit far from center city

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Clean, modern, nice staff
Cons: Let us turn down temp and have face cloth.
Location: Lindts Schokolade Museum two blocks
Hotel was great as it was modern, clean and nice. Location was too far from city center and public transportation. 20-30 minute walk one way to downtown. However, two blocks from Lindts Schokolade Museum, which I highly recommend! Also, be forewarned that this review is coming from an American, room temp is kept too hot and could not lower temp under 20 C (No air conditioning either). Too warm to sleep, took duvet out of cover to have only sheet on because apparently top sheet is not the norm either. Luckily windows opened for cool down (was cold outside). Also, no such thing as face/wash cloth either as found out here bad at next hotel, in Munich. All in all, nice stay, just not convenient.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Rinse you for money!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
On arrival to this hotel I got told by the receptionist I had to pay a 300 Euro authorisation fee and that the amount would not be taken out of my account. Then to find out the next day that 300 Euro had been taken out of my account. When querying this with a different receptionst there response was after check out it will go on back onto my card in 2 days. It is now the 11/10/2017 and I have still yet to recieve my money that was taken out of my account from the 02/11/2017. The hotel have been no help at all told me it was down to my bank to give me the money. When speaking to my bank the hotel have put a pending date on till the 18/10/2017. I have had bills come out of my account because I am unable to pay them with 300 Euro taking out of my account fees have been added to my account for missed payments. When explaining all this to the hotel they do not seem a bit phased at all by my problem. Why they take such a huge ammount anyway is ridiculous! Has been so stressful and I would never again return to a Novotel hotel after this experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Bad Service and under cover costs

Posted Oct 6, 2017
At check in we didn’t feel welcome at all, we booked 2 rooms and ask them to be close one to each other, they were mad about the question and of course we couldn’t have our request. We booked 1 room for 3 guests and the sofa for the 3 pax was terrible. Breakfast is not included 21€ per person, plus 17€ the parking, a bottle of water 4.50€ and you have to wait until they find the keys to open the fridge at front desk, lots of under cover cost. The check out wasn’t nice at all either, For sure we would be better anywhere also. Been traveling for 3 weeks and was the worse hotel. They don’t care about service or assistance at all, before you get there be sure to know everything and don’t ask anything just follow the rules.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Corporate hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Its position
Cons: Friendly reception staff, cheaper breakfast
Location: Between the Rheinauhafen and the Altstadt-Süd so loads to do and nice walks to be had with the river and the parks as well as restaurants and bars.
The check-in was curt, on the edge of rude, the keycards are very temperamental - we saw other people having difficulties with them too. The room was very smart, clean, well kept, massive tv, useful minibar (which we used to store our own stuff rather than spending extortionate sums on its contents). The main clientele is suits though there were a few families. We avoided the breakfast as it was very expensive so we went out instead. The hotel borders the Altstadt-Süd which has lots of lovely streets and loads of choice for eating and drinking. I would recommend the hotel for its position above all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from diamond bar, california

Posted Sep 5, 2017
One of the worst experience I ever had in Cologne. There was electrical problem in our room on the first night we checked in and the room was completely dark. After we contacted the reception desk, the staff promised to sent someone to take a look but it never happened. We contacted the reception desk the second time 30 mins later, same thing. They just didn't believe us. Finally, we walked down to reception desk and complained for the 3rd time then one of the staff came up and verified there was something wrong with the room so they put us in another room. During this whole time, me and my wife were sitting in the dark room and waiting. Really bad experience. The worst part was hotel staffs attitude. After they put us in the new room, one of the 2 keys didn't work as well. On another side note, hotel bed frame was really bad too. If you sit on the edge of the bed, the whole bed will flip over.
4 out of 5
by Shoaib

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jesper

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mathias

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by C B Andrews from Montréal

Service & Location Exceed Expectations

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
For the price we paid on Hotels.com, the combination of the location, service, cleanliness and comfort would be hard to surpass. In this price range I typically expect to make some compromises, but it was not the case here. Easy to park, good breakfast and convenient to the old town and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice and Modern

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Walking distance to the Cathedral if you're into walking. About a 20 minute walk to it and the old town by the promenade.