Ratings based on 1,012 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice and Modern

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Walking distance to the Cathedral if you're into walking. About a 20 minute walk to it and the old town by the promenade.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very nice. Rooms were clean, bright & comfortable. Great location beside waterfront. 15 min walk to city centre. Amazing breakfast but pricey. Only disappointment was the quality of wifi was poor. Would definitely stay here again. Cologne is beautiful with good value public transport system.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Modern Hotel in Koln

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
A sightseeing trip over the Easter weekend brought about our stay here in Novotel Cologne. The hotel is a short walk away from the Severinstraße KVB tram station. It is a modern building with a good access for wheelchairs and wheeled suitcases from the right hand side. The reception is big and spacious and manned by friendly multi lingual staff and my young children were given some complimentary small toys - which they were over the moon with. The room is spacious enough with a queen sized bed and a fold out sofa which was already made up for us. There was plenty of storage space and a 42" tv on the wall. The bathroom was plenty big enough. The room was quiet enough but a bit louder with the window open. Obvious statement but it is right on the main road in view of the Rhine. The breakfast had a vast range of choice although it ought to have as there are so many rooms spread over the many floors. Recommended hotel for business and private stays.
5 out of 5
by John

Found our choice hotel in Köln!

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel; clean, great price and great amenities!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

lovely quiet, close to the city,awesome

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: yes, at least one european adaptor for guest not using same plug connection. It cost me 13.00euro to get one, and that is have many at home now.
Location: lots of stuff, restaurant, chocolate factory, sea side, walking distance to the main trAIN STATION, ETC,
my experience with the staff was good, helpful, they express well, both in German and English, smartly dress. Neat, and pleasant people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London GB

Great location with many places to eat close by

Posted Apr 19, 2017
If I stayed here again I would bring my own pillows. Hotel only has 1 foam-filled type and far too soft/small. Besides this everything else was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Nice hotel - short walk to the town centre

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location, decor, staff
Cons: Breakfast was very expensive. There were only 2 slow lifts and one was out of service.
Location: Chocolate museum, cathedral, river
First impression of the hotel wasn't good - an uninspiring grey building. However, upon entry to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the bright decor and good use of space. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and enough space for 4 of us. Breakfast was very expensive as we did not have it included, but a good buffet spread. Children eat for free. Pleasant walk along the river (15 mins) to get to the centre of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando

Great location.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great location. Helpful & pleasant staff. Only negative was a problem with one of the elevators during our stay. Also, the lobby doubles as a children's play area, so it can be very distracting while dining in the restaurant adjacent to the lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Novotel standard.

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Lift was not working, staff quite helpful. Anonymous stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weston, FL

Great stay!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The staff was very helpful and kind both at checking in and answering our questions/requests. The room was nicely decorated and modern. The beds very comfortable. The location is very convenient, walking distance to the city center.