Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Crashpad

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Pros: Easy to get to. Great staff
Cons: ME
Location: In Old Town Edinburgh. Next to everything.
Needed a crash pad . They were better than almost any hotel you want to name.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you had a great time in Edinburgh & had a safe journey onwards. Kindest Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Downgrade for sameprice

Posted Dec 17, 2017
I booked a room for 4 people for one night, but was allocated to a room for 6. I was so tired at the day, so I went to bed of the room. I told this to a receptionist next morning, and he confirmed I had reserved a room for 4, so it’s a downgrade for the same price, and he told me to tell it to the owner because it seems a subject of compensation. I needed leave soon, so I sent a e-mail to the owner. But until today, for a week, they have sent no reply. Besides, a toilet of a room seemed not to have been cleaned for a while. My pillow also smelled like someone have already slept for a few days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for your feedback & I am extremely sorry you were downgraded. I am not sure why this happened and unfortunately I was not informed of this. Can you please email the hostel directly with your details as no details for you have come through with this review so I am not able to search for your booking or the email you said you sent us. Can you please email us with your details so we can look into this, I can check what night you stayed & also the price difference. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, I will be sure to pass your comments on to management. I hope you still had a great time in Edinburgh & a safe journey onwards. Kindest Regards & look forward to your response.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarawak, Malaysia

Nearby Edinburgh train station

Posted Dec 9, 2017
The room is clean and spacey with only 5 beds. I feel safe living here. Less than 10 minutes walking distance to/from Edinburgh Waverly Train Station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you had a good time exploring Edinburgh and a safe journey onwards! Kindest Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
..............................................................................................................................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you had a good time exploring Edinburgh and a safe journey onwards! Kindest Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Excellent place to stay and value for money. Stayed in room for 6 people and had all of the beds for 6 of us in same room. Do not be put off by the word hostel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you had a good time exploring Edinburgh and a safe journey onwards! Kindest Regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

#1 location, clean, noisy drunks, broken elevator,

Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
Desk refused to let us store packs (room full) when we arrived so we CD not go on tour we had paid for but had to sightsee several hours w heavy bags. Elevator broken over 3weeks so we had 4floors up to room(OK for us but what about anyone disabled or frail) expensive bad breakfast that starts too late at 8for anyone trying to get to a day tour or go places(staff wd not give us food even a few minutes early so we lost a prepaid meal). A bar in common area so sketchy for underage people. Did not use kitchen because of it being off a noisy bar. Not a place for younger travellers without a companion or chaperone for this reason. Noisy drunks in courtyard fr bar outside our window til 2 or 3so had to close window(wh made it v stuffy). Clean and comfortable otherwise. Friendly young people staying there. . Staff barged into our private room when we were sleeping to check for spare beds because of their computer being down. This can happen, but was startling. Fairly pricey for the private rm for a hostel but location great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Jayne, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments and feedback have been passed on to the relevant department. We hope you enjoyed the city and have safe travels ahead! Kind Regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Ebookers
It is A perfect location to stay, everything is at walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you had a good time exploring Edinburgh and a safe journey onwards! Kindest Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

great location--check about the lifts

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Clean and reasonably priced
Cons: Lifts need to work.
Location: Near the Golden Mile.
Clean facilities, friendly staff, great location. The lift by the desk was out during both of my visits, and the 100-stair climb to the 5th floor (with luggage) is not fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you had a good time exploring Edinburgh and a safe journey onwards! Kindest Regards.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Convenient, Central hostel.

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hostel is in a central location, a minute’s Walk from the Royal Mile. Smart and modernly decorated. The bed was comfy, the room warm and the shower good. My only complaints were that the lift was broken and the floor in the bedroom was very squeaky.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Jayne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you had a good time exploring Edinburgh and a safe journey onwards! Kindest Regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hostel

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
The location was fantastic. It was right off the royal mile. The hostel was extremely nice and clean. If you drive you could possibly find a spot on the road, but there's also a parking garage next door (expensive). The doors are thin, so it is easy to hear people going in and out of their rooms and talking out in the hallway. Other than that, I would fully recommend this place!!