Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Really nice location just 1 block away from the Royal Mile. Lots of restaurants nearby, lots of security for the visitor in the area as well. Easy access via train from Waverly Station which is just a 5 minutes walk away and direct tram from the airport is around 10 minutes. Overall conditions are very good to excellent indeed, more of a nice 2-3 stars hotel than a hostel as we would expect. Greatly surprised with my stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location and crowd
Cons: The room layout can be improved to have more space if possible. Right now its to crammed.
Location: Its a great location and almost everything is at a walking distance alongside a good street having lots of food options.
It cannot be at a more perfect location and great crowd and facilities. Definitely recommended for people who are looking at a decent but cheap option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicester

Edinburgh Fringe

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great base to see the fringe from. Clean, friendly and lively. Perfect for the family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
We didn't go. The airline made us include a hotel so it would be cheaper. So I'm sure it's great. I can't recommend it I was never there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hostel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
My room was clean. But it took a little long time to check-in or ask staff something.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Mill SC

Suprised

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: See above
Location: Just short overnight stay
Worried after making booking. Pleasantly surprised by room accommodations, bathroom, in house restaurant and friendly staff. Great place.. recommend private room if traveling with friends or family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clueless staff in an average hostel or so so hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The front desk staff were clueless about their policies, meal cost or even where the laundry was located. They could not give me back the correct change for extra costs. Our private room was a dorm room for the university of Edinburgh whish was ok for a dorm but tiny for a hotel. The cost was similar to a hotel and not inexpensive by any standard. The bunk mattresses were uncomfortable. The food was bad even for dorm food and pricy for the quality. Spend a few pounds more st any other place nearby. The only plus was the location just off the royal mile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

will go back!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great staff, fun atmosphere and clean rooms. Nice common room with bar and food with an out door terrace. We felt safe and welcome to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Convenient and close to major attractions

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Place was well maintained and was close to many major attractions like the royal mile
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hostel BUT!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location, style
The hostel is great, perfect location, clean, new . But if you gonna stay in the summer be prepared for middle and high school trips, they taking over the whole place and its a zoo , I didn't even know kids under 18 are allowed in hostels.