Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Location & Comfort

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable and great location for walking around city. Stay Central is only 10 min. walk from Waverly Station bus stop to airport.
Location: Edinburgh Castle, gardens, shopping, restaurants, pubs, Arthur's Seat.
Stay Central was the perfect location for our first visit to Edinburgh and the Fringe Festival. Easy walking distance to chosen venues, sites, shopping and restaurants. Our modern and clean rooms were located in the back of the hotel and quite quiet even with a festival garden set up in the courtyard entrance. The hotel staff were very professional and accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location but more hostel than hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Central location, friendly reception staff and nice room decor. Unfortunately the street is run down and the adjacent pub is incredibly noisy, particularly at weekends. The entry to the hotel us via the pub courtyard. Ear plugs are a requirement. Whilst advertised as a hotel I think this is actually more in keeping with a hostel so overall I was disappointed and I think the room prices are excessive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlevoix, MI, USA

Nice Hotel in Old Edinburgh

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Perfect location. Great Staff.
Cons: Sometimes, the muffled sound of the bar activities could be heard.
Location: Just off of the Royal Mile. Walking distance to Castle, Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, several museums.
Perfect location. Great staff. clean rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Only thing negative I can say is the poor internet service,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Extremely noisy with outdoor bar below. Hard bed No air conditioning Window shades did not block out light. Great staff Great extras like free ice cream Excellent contiental breakfast that was cheap
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The hotel is central and clean. The only issue is that as soon as you step out of the hotel you reach a court yard where you find a bar with people drinking and it is very noisy. The room was at the back and was quiet nonetheless. Strange decor but clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Excellent location and the room was super comfortable and quiet since it was facing the back of the building. The courtyard with big tables should be very popular at night but we did not hear a thing!
3 out of 5
by Jane

Basic, clean but noisy accommodations

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Central location but could be troublesome because of steep inclines to get up to every other street. American style outdoor bar with mega screen has to be walked through to arrive. The worst for us was the Ugly noisy recycling of glass and dumpsters outside our window. An abrupt waking! Likely would smell if it had not rained so heavily yesterday.the room is clean with an edgy finish which is already dated. No surgace to open suitcase. Large armoire but one doesn't want to unpack everything for a night or two. Very good water pressure and temperature in shower.Nice coffee ,bottled water, and tea available to make in room. Large screen tv .
5 out of 5
by Robert

great fun location

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in the Cowgate area, adjacent to the Three Sister's Bar. Comfortable room and beds, nice showers. The room is a little small but fine. The front desk staff were great - all three that we met. Super friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Garelochhead

Old town hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not a lot
Location: Round the corner from the National Museum of Scotland. C'mon it's in old town Edinburgh, if folks can't find anything to do they must be daft
Only one night stay, but everything excellent. Staff on booking in very friendly and helpful. Room quite different to previous experiences, quirky with 'The Dandy' wallpaper. Bed extremely comfy. Only wee niggle is that the telly didn't work, but what the hey, who needs it?