Ratings based on 881 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location, friendly staff

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very good location close to all Edinburgh attractions and be University. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. Everything is walking distance. Hotel is good value for money with friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Very convenient to the heart of Edinburgh

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Very convenient location. The rooms and common areas seem virtually new. My room was a bit small by US standards, as most inner city European hotels might be, but it was quite comfortable and was everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Highly recommend!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Great location-close to Royal Mile but on a quiet street. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and room was not only clean, but had nice touches for comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet hotel in the Old Town

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Room and location
Location: Handy to everything.
Our superior room was a good size, reasonably light and airy. Very quiet. The hotel lobby was small but adequate. The hotel is located in a quiet Square about 12 minutes walk to Castle and Royal Mile. The South Bridge area is a little shabby, but felt quite safe. It's only a few minutes walk to the Museum and the buzzy Grassmarket bars. We didn't eat in the hotel, preferring to take our chances with cafes in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Good choice

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Close to all attractions. They provide popcorn pretzels coloring books for kids. Breakfast was good. Would recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Convenient with larger rooms

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Hotel is conveniently located and walking distance to everything. Rooms are good size. We had low floor view of alley but at least quiet. No parking - discount tab for nearby garage didn't work one day. Still a decent place to stay. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ideal base in Old Town for Festival Fringe

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: no complaints - see above
Location: Very good location for many popular Festival Fringe Venues
August visit during Festival so nothing available except at premium price, but this seemed like as good value as I could find and so it proved. No complaints about anything so overall rating excellent and I would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Nice hotel, close to royal mile. Large, comfortable room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Loud construction noise from 7am each morning

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location is ideal for the Fringe Festival venues. Staff at check in very friendly. Room was spacious and has air-con
Cons: Should be warning guests before they arrival that building works start at 7am each day. Replenish toiletries and tea/coffee each day. Clean cups!
Location: Location is ideal for the Fringe Festival venues.
Stayed at this hotel every year for the festival, it offers a great location, decent rooms and is usually fine for us. This stay was unfortunately ruined by being woken up each morning at 7am with loud building noise right outside the bedroom window. Reported this to reception only to be told that we weren't the first to complain. Also disappointed by the standard of housekeeping - toiletries and tea/coffee not replenished each day and cups we're left dirty. Not what you expect for this room rate. Very disappointed compared to previous stays, could no longer recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Nice hotel near downtown

Posted May 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The position.
The rooms were very silent. But the beds are for two small persons.