Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Great place. Great location. Great Staff. Great Room. Couldn't ask for more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Different but great

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Quality accommodation with nice touches like complimentary drink offered on arrival and chocolate strawberries in the room.
Cons: There is no lift so if you have a problem with stairs, that may be relevant.
Location: Great location, right on Royal Mile so very convenient for all that Edinburgh has to offer. Easy walk to Waverley Station in less than 5 minutes.
Stayed here midweek. There are only 9 rooms over three floors with the pub facilities below, so no traditional hotel reception, lounge etc. This didn't matter to me at all. The top floor room I had was very clean, with quality fittings and a huge very comfortable bed and super bathroom. Staff were all very good and the evening meal I had was very nice too.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

Excellent, luxurious location in heart of Old Town

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous location for a stay in Edinburgh - we will be back! Ok, the only minor drawback was the stairs - no lift. Not that we mind stairs ordinarily, but we were on the top floor, and we had luggage with us for our six-day tour of Scotland. Fortunately the friendly staff offered to bring the luggage up to our room without even being asked. The room was very luxurious with everything we needed, and was not at all noisy, despite the location on the Royal Mile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jan 14, 2017
excellent place, mix of old & new. very well located, very close to castle. I could not be more happy. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Fantastic experience! The only issue we had was running out of hot water when the second person took a shower. :(
5 out of 5
by ana

Excellent location and great hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
You have to walk thru the pub to get to your room! How amazing is that. The rooms are very up to date and the location couldn't be better. You can walk to all the attractions, even the train station. We left one day for an early morning, greeted the bartender, and he offered to make us a pot of coffee even though the pub was closed. Amazing people!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline

Brilliant

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service. Could not fault it. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Surreal

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: It's a great first experience for any one who has not been to such a timeless city.
Cons: It is a 170 year old dwelling with lots of charm and warmth. Lots of life around you as you step out the door.
Location: Local venues, shops, interesting people and places. It is where you can feel at home.