Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Very centrally located in old town. A little noisy at night because of the busy area but not bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in old part of town

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The location is great for exploring the Old town. Staff was superb and friendly but the room was noisy due to proximity to pubs and streets. Shower was effective but very slippery surface. No shelving area in bathroom. Stairs only to access to rooms. Wonderful bar downstairs with restaurant. Room was very nicely appointed with upgrades.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great pluses but some minuses

Posted May 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Cute boutique hotel. I did not read the reviews carefully and was surprised by all the steps (no lift). The hotel is located on a busy corner with lots of street noise. Also the plumbing system is quite noisy. That being said, the staff could not have been nicer; the bathtub was awesome; and the bar/restaurant was a plus. I great place for the right person, but a bit challenging for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Cool Hotel, Service was just OK

Posted May 6, 2017
Upon arrival the gentleman at the reception desk was very helpful and brought our luggage to our room. He informed us that our breakfast was included, however it was not. The in-room pamphlet said that breakfast was at 7 but it was at 8. Dinner at the inn was delicious but the restaurant was understaffed. Complimentary drinks were amazing but the communication between morning and evening staffers was disjointed. Overall I loved the hotel and would recommend it. I think they are on their way to being great with some effort needed in consistency and communication.
5 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Perfect, hip, spot in old town Edinburgh.

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Small hotel, 9 rooms, situated above a beautiful pub on the Royal Mile. Warmly greeted by the afternoon manager, he escorted us upstairs. (No lift, but OK for us). The room comes with waters, snacks, nice beds, luxury bath liquids, huge towels. We were given 4 Chocolate covered strawberries! After check in, we were told that the 1st drink in the bar was complimentary. So we went there, had dinner and listened to an awesome guitar player. In the morning we had a light breakfast in the pub before making the 5 minute walk to the train station. We highly recommend the Inn on the Mile.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, but little space

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a perfect location, right in the centre of the Royal Mile. The building looks great, very old and with loads of character. We were on the top floor and knew about there being lots of stairs and no lift so that was fine. The room was very modern and contemporary. My only criticism wouldn't be that it was very small but mainly that there wasn't nearly enough wardrobe storage. Part of the wardrobe was taken up with a minibar which I don't think is needed, space for clothes is more needed. As the room is so small it could do with more hooks on walls or doors to hang up wet coats for example as well as other clothes and items, bags etc. Also a shelf in the bathroom is needed as there is nowhere to put toiletries. A great position, clean and modern but definitely more storage/hooks/shelves needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Great place. Great location. Great Staff. Great Room. Couldn't ask for more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Different but great

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Quality accommodation with nice touches like complimentary drink offered on arrival and chocolate strawberries in the room.
Cons: There is no lift so if you have a problem with stairs, that may be relevant.
Location: Great location, right on Royal Mile so very convenient for all that Edinburgh has to offer. Easy walk to Waverley Station in less than 5 minutes.
Stayed here midweek. There are only 9 rooms over three floors with the pub facilities below, so no traditional hotel reception, lounge etc. This didn't matter to me at all. The top floor room I had was very clean, with quality fittings and a huge very comfortable bed and super bathroom. Staff were all very good and the evening meal I had was very nice too.