Ratings based on 1,200 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocean City, NJ

Beautiful historic building with modern update

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Stunning historic building in great central location. Rooms recently updated with modern amenities, however have retained old world charm with the decor. Beds and linens were incredibly comfortable. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Posted Aug 6, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Scotsman. It is close to the Royal Mile and all the activities. Parking is not close - about two blocks away and the entrance to the hotel was hard to find when we first arrived by car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
the hotel is very well managed, the manager and his staff are excellent, We were disappointed the famous bar is under renovation so could not enjoy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The back entrance to the hotel is across the street from the train station.
Location: Steps from the Royal Mile. Numerous restaurants, stores, and historic sites.
Staff was wonderful. Breakfast was very good. Room was roomy and very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not even a three star hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Not what one would expect from a four star hotel the staff was nice but the hotel had no air conditioning the entire hotel had a stuffy warm air with a pervading smell bed was too small the bathroom furnishings we're really old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ct

nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The Hotel was in a grand ancient building but was old world quaint,clean and comfortable. Great view and close to shops, restaurants and site seeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxury historic hotel with charm and location

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Charm, location, convenience
The location is excellent - just across from Waverly Station and by the Royal Mile. We loved that the hotel has been updated yet retained historic charm. Our room overlooked the train terminal and Princes Street. We booked with the option that included breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Scotsman was in a good location but did not live up to my expectation! Hotel is very old and worn looking and needs a substantial face lift and so I would not go back. Service was very good however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastbourne UK

Central location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Fabulous hotel, room was full if everything you could possibly need, staff were exceptional nothing was too much trouble. One one small hiccup the milk for tea and coffee in the room was not as fresh as it could have been. Not sure if the mini fridge had been set cold enough to store it in. That been said it was replaced as soon as possible when told about the problem
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lackluster

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The check in staff were void of any enthusiasm or customer service. They seemed to be just going through the motions. The gym is closed and the bar area drab. The room was extremely noisy. We had to open the windows as there was no air conditioning. The air quality in room very stuffy and stale. The room was large with high ceilings. The only redeeming quality is location. Close to everything. The room rate was high and not worth the money. Will not stay here again considering the extensive hotel options in Edinburgh.