Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotels like this should not be allowed to run!

Posted Dec 17, 2017
By far worst hotel in Birmingham and i travel there regularly! Poor welcome. Winding stairs, never ending maze-like corridors; a real safety hazard! Not for clients with suitcases. No lift! Filthy dingy room No heating No toiletries Filthy bath Poor lighting No duvets or extra blankets. Thin walls....etc Do not go there on your own or with anyone. Do not go fullstop! Unless you want to experience rock bottom for the hell of it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Absolute nightmare

Posted Dec 11, 2017
We arrived at the 'hotel after driving for nearly 4 hours to be greeted by the man on reception who was not welcoming and proceeded to ask us if we wanted to check the room before we paid?! Me and my mum both said no as how bad could it be we only needed a base for the night. We paid and then went to find the room which just went on and on through doors down corridoors etc I couldn't believe it. The smell and overall state of the hotel started to worry us. Finally opening the door to our room right at the back of this building I couldn't believe it i knew straught away i couldn'tstay there. The bed when I pulled back the covers was filthy the heating was on sky high the bathroom was falling apart. Broken windows no lock on the door neither of us felt safe. We ended up paying out for a Travelodge. I wish I had taken photos but will be reporting this to trading standards and the council for health and safety. Never seen anything like it was like a horror film. I've since been informed it's used by the local prostitutes. Expedia should not be advertising this hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

The worst inn hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2017
This is not an hotel and expedia should not recommend this place. It was vile the hotel needs knocking down. If I hadn't pressure paid for my room I would never of stayed there. An absolute disgrace.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Hell hole

Posted Nov 27, 2017
We ended up staying here 2 nights & it's the worst experience I've ever had. It ruined our holiday completely. It was filthy dirty, the safety chains on the doors were missing, there were holes in walls, damp, doors that could be accessed from the other side bit no idea where they lead to, bags of rubbish busted outside the door........I could go on! It was somewhere between a crack den & a brothel. It made me fear for my life. 5 woman in 1 room & we still didnt feel too safe. DO NOT STAY HERE.
3 out of 5
by Penny

Budget budget.

Posted Nov 25, 2017 on Hotels
Sheets and towels very clean, room not so clean. Very shabby some lights not working ripped wallpaper no direct light window onto a wall with takeaway air con box. Staff very helpful and friendly. Easy to find via sat nav.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South East UK

The "Worst Inn", the hotel from hell!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The concept is great, an unusual hotel where all the rooms are different, close to the city centre & great public transport link
Cons: Everything must improve, the all place is in a right state, all of it & in serious breach of the most basic health & safety regulations, outrageous!
Location: McDonald open 24 hours & Chiquito
I put a note on my reservation, advising I'm partially sighted & needed some basic help. I was coming from far & I was late, &I rang the hotel to advise I was going to arrive late & not to give my room away, even though I paid in advance. I arrived at 7pm, very late but with plenty of time to drop my bags & reach the venue on time for the start of a concert very dear to me. I got the 1st scare at the reception when I was told me there was no reservation for me, but there was 1 when I rang earlier! So I gave the printed copy of my reservation & finally I was given the key to my room. I was very agitated by then & made my way to my room via never ending floors, set of stairs & dark long corridors, the carpet in filthy condition that disgusted me even by walking with my shoes on. It looked like the carpet hadn't been hoovered for days & not washed for years, the floor tiles had sellotape on. I opened the room & it was still uncleaned with dirty bedlinen, the bed undone & McDonald cups on the table. The check out is at 11am, at 7PM, my room was still in that state! I went back to the reception, taking the case with me thru all that maze of stairs & floors really angry. I got a 2nd room: wallpaper coming off the wall, 1 square of the glass on the window broken & replaced by plastic sellotaped on the window & 1 side of it would not close as the lock was missing! I was furious, the guy said it was a budget hotel...I got a 3rd room, by then I was so late I missed 3
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting

Posted Nov 19, 2017
I get it is a budget hotel? But, my goodness...... our room was terrible. A thin sheet which they call a duvet? And there was no light bulb in the bathroom. Was using the bathroom in the dark?! Told the man at reception .... he was not remotely bothered. So rude. Disgusting. Never again. That place is falling apart!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watford

Room to stay if budget is the main sticking point

Posted Nov 10, 2017 on Ebookers
I would not recommend this place for any other reason. It is strictly a budget hotel. Do not stay here unless your expectations are basic. Having said that it is manned at reception and the staff are helpful. The place does need a refit but that would add to the cost of a room. I'd prefer it as is.
3 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grubby hotel and staff unhelpful

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very noisy all the time. Grubby needs a deep clean. Wifi doesnt work in room even though then insist it does. No parking available always taken. Didnt service the room once. Had to empty my bin myself. Raised the issues but staff took no notice.