Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Peter

Pleasant but noisy

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was pleasant, the room was spacious but a little cold in atmosphere. The location was very central, but the down side of this was that the noisy nightlife at nearby clubs meant we had a disturbed night. The hotel offers a card for the nearby carp ark but we were not informed of that at checkin, only as we left and we had used the car park several times by then.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut, Lebanon

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff. Modern design. Rich breakfast.
Cons: Hotel main entrance door can be a bit bigger.
Location: In the middle of the pedestrian area and market. Bus stop 3 minutes away. Pubs and restaurants all over the place.
Visiting a friend in Oldenburg after a business trip.
5 out of 5
by scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, centrally near town and all activities

Posted Dec 28, 2015
The hotel staff was welcoming and helpful. We brought a bottle of wine into the lounge and the waiter brought us glasses and made us feel very welcome. The location is great.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
This was my second time staying at Altera, and would definitely come back again. Everything was outstanding, especially the super-friendly and helpful service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
we have stayed before and were looking forward to dinner in the restaurant. But dinner was no longer served there,but down the road at a restaurant.It was wellworth the walk excellent food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Sven Brunssen, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you for having taken the time to write a comment. We are delighted that our new restaurant is very much to your liking. Warm regards Sven Brunssen Manager altera hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SOOOO relaxing

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Licorice at the check in - the peanut M&Ms the next morning were much appreciated, too.
Cons: A pool makes everything better, but that is a space issue.
Location: Right next to Oldenburg's delightful city center shopping streets!
Lovely, spacious room, very comfortable beds, the staff were extremely friendly. There was LICORICE at the check in, how cool is that?! There was free ice cream at the entrance for hotel guests to "cool off". We spent a night before an interview and were very relaxed the next morning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judy from Sydney NSW, Australia

Great Oldenburg hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The picture on the wall in the bedroom.
Location: In the centre of town and walking distance from station.
The hotel experience was superb. The staff were excellent, as was the breakfast and room. We were put in the extension, which had airconditioning. There were so many extras such as free soft drinks, icecreams, lollies and nuts at the front desk. Their restaurant was also superb and reasonable for the quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location.

Posted May 24, 2012 on Hotels
Great hotel. Very nice rooms and great location right in the pedestrian inner city. Breakfast buffet was excellent and though Oldenburg has many great restaurants near the hotel, we had a fantastic dinner at the restaurant in the hotel, with a wonderful waitstaff. The bed was a bit hard for me and we couldn't make the coffee pot work more than once which was too bad because the coffee was amazing. Great place.