Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved every minute of our stay

Posted May 16, 2017
The stay was extremely helpful and cheerful and the grounds were lovely. I highly recommend for a peaceful, relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
by coventry

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect for relaxing vacation with easy access to main towns in area. Very friendly helpful and kind staff thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Remote........But worth it!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The peace and beautiful vista.
Cons: The bedrooms are huge and absolutely spotless although they are tired and could benefit from a make over, especially the bathroom.
Location: Location as mentioned is very remote and for anyone that doesn't or can't walk a car is a must. We found 2 restaurants that were about a mile away.
This hotel is set in beautiful, cared for grounds in the middle of the Portuguese countryside. If you don't like walking then a car is a must. We opted to walk and taxi to get around and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The bedrooms are huge and absolutely spotless although they are tired and could benefit from a make over, especially the bathroom. (not a lover of shower curtains) just a general modernisation would make all the difference. In fact if they where on par with the brand new apartment's that would be brilliant. The food was fabulous, breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. The restaurant quality food of an evening was very reasonable, although after a week it became a bit samey. The family who own and run the hotel and restaurant couldn't of made our stay any better they are extremely friendly and accommodating to your every need. We will definitely return and may even try the new apartments next time. Plus we would hire a car to get out a bit more but for a week just chilling it is perfect.
5 out of 5
by Leon

Wonderful "rural" hotel.....very comfortable!

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely wonderful "rural" hotel. If you have a car, no problem. Center of town is about 3-1/2 miles and can be walked carefully using the narrow country roads. Hotel offers a very good restaurant, available for bkfst, lunch and dinner. Excellent food and well presented. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained...great for relaxing walks. Owners and staff very accommodating and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Very friendly and welcoming staff. Large rooms, clean and comfortable. Wonderful pool and gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Selby, N Yorks

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Lovely small hotel set in a fabulous rural location. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and the rooms are of a good size, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The restaurant serves excellent food and has a very good value 3 course set meal on an evening. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and is a great place to stop if you love peace & quiet!
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Barrow In Furness, lake district.

The frogs chorus

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
This Hotel is a family run business with a focus on hospitality and friendliness. The room was adequate for what we wanted but was old fashioned with a small balcony. Everything else about this hotel was exceptional, the pool area, the breakfast, the cuisine all 5 star. Then you walk out of the pool area into the very well kept gardens and the ponds. Within the ponds you find an array of friendly turtles, if you remember to take a few slices of bread from the breakfast table these turtles will be your friend for life. At around 7 pm every night while you sit outside near the pool area you will be entertained by the frog choir. it was truly amazing to listen the sounds from these amphibians. All in all i will be visiting this hotel again as we really enjoyed the whole experience. Thanks to all the staff
3 out of 5
by IAN from bolton

good but two points must be made clear!

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
By and large this is a good place to stay with really great service from superb staff, no question about that. However, if you are a light sleeper then be aware that room walls are paper thin and the place is also surrounded by incessant dog barking/ yapping/ howling. Tolerable to some but not for me sadly! Pays yer money, yer takes yer choice...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset- UK

Small friendly hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Quiet secluded hotel with friendly staff.
Cons: The swimming pool was a bit cold for us.
Location: Slightly out of the way so you need a car.
We only stayed for one night but would consider returning for longer. Although we arrived at 11am we were welcomed by the friendly staff and given our room early. Our room was not large but very clean and modern. We headed for the pool which was very quiet and had views over the hotels attractive grounds. The pool was a bit cold for our liking but maybe that was because of the time of year. There were plenty of sun loungers and chairs. In the evening we strolled the short distance across the gardens to the hotel restaurant where we found the staff relaxed and friendly. The food was very good and well priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet and generally friendly

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Faro was okay, Tavira likewise but Ohloa was a treat. The beach at Vale Do Lobo was expansive and mostly deserted but not easy to find.
The hotel is situated away from Faro in a very rural setting. This has pros and cons. It was quiet, except the barking dogs in the night, but also relaxed which was what we were looking for. The facilities were more than expected although not advertised in the room hotel information book for instance. The grounds were very well presented and therefore there was no real need to leave the hotel. The restaurant turned out to be disappointing. The set menu was great for getting to know the quisine but the meal was costed down and the service level deminished. Havig said all that I would agsin especially out of season.