Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by sharon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel rural que ha de disfrutarse por sí mismo

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Es un hotel rural con acceso directo al andén del tren que lleva a Macchu Picchu. Esto es muy cómodo para dicho viaje, pero hay que contar con el ruido de los trenes y el olor a combustible; si esto no incomoda, adelante. Las habitaciones son cómodas y se ajustan al concepto "rural": no hay grandes lujos, pero el entorno es verde, hay una huerta orgánica, los gatos campan a sus anchas... El restaurante es excelente y sirven desayunos desde tempranas horas de la mañana; también tienen una cafetería aparte servida por el propio restaurante, así como una sala con juegos de mesa y diversos lugares para sentarse en el jardín. Es un hotel para disfrutarlo por sí mismo. Y es por esto que quizá el precio me ha parecido ligeramente elevado para el contexto, porque solo he ido al hotel a dormir y no lo he disfrutado lo suficiente, pero en comparación con otros lugares de Perú es alto. También es cierto que el pueblo prospera poco a poco gracias al turismo y ello requiere ingresos, pero choca comparar el precio con el de hoteles de categoría superior en ciudades más grandes.
1 out of 5
by Caroline from California

Very disappointing

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointing stays due to the following reasons: 1) El Albergue is more like a rustic inn, not a boutique hotel 2) our room was extremely small and did not match the description posted on hotels.com. We complained the discrepancy to the hotel, but no action was taken to address our concern and dissatisfaction 3) we were charged extra 10% as service fee, not the price we booked on hotels.com. Not a good value for the money. 4) the location right on the platform of the train station is horrible, subject guests to annoying vibrations & noises. Also make th hotel difficult to access. One has to drag your lugguge from the station's parking lot to the hotel and the hotel does not offer sny assistance The restaurant is good and it's staff warm and helpful. Highly recommend eat at the restaurant, but stay at other better option in the town.
3 out of 5
by Caroline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Susan from Las Vegas

Enchanting!!

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
When the cab driver stopped we had no idea where the hotel was at. Then he walked us right up to the train station and pointed at the hotel sign. From the moment we walked through those gates it was pure enchantment. The room was like a private bungalow, with the most amazing views of the mountains. The bathroom and the room was large and the beds were the best! Fluffy white comforters and clean mountain air, in a garden like surrounding. No TV, but with those windows all around and those deck chairs, you would never miss it. I had the lamb for dinner in the restaurant and it was great. They had someone in authentic Peruvian dress playing some kind of Peruvian instrument. The next morning we were equally impressed with the breakfast. Only negative for us was the low water pressure in the shower but that is because of their drought.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great place to stay

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: The strength of this hotel is the location, the staff, the service, and the restaurant.
Cons: nothing
Location: take a three wheeled “tuk tuk” for 1 sole per person (less than 50 cents). The Inca ruins in Ollantaytambo are worth a visit. -
We stayed two (non-consecutive) nights in this is a unique Peruvian hotel, but went to Machu Picchu for one night in between. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Ollantaytambo. It is not a Marriot or Hilton style hotel, but a smaller hotel with about 20 rooms. Our room had a (creaky) wooden floor and was quite basic in furnishing, but was clean with a good supply of towels. There is a security safe in the room and a fast, complimentary wifi. The strength of this hotel is the location, the staff, the service, and the restaurant. It is in a train station and you literally walk from the platform into the hotel lobby. This was a great bonus after a long day at Machu Picchu – off the train and into the lobby, get our key and within two minutes we were in our room. We were not disturbed at all by the noise of trains. The staff did all they could to assist guests. The receptionist, Javier was awesome. He spoke excellent English and provided us with sound advice to our many questions. Julia, one of the managers also introduced herself to ensure our stay was going well. There was a good choice of breakfast items in the complimentary breakfast including scrambled eggs, juice, fruit, coffee and tea, with excellent waiter/waitress service. The web site explains how they source their food from their local farm. We also had dinner there both evenings and they had a varied menu with all items at reasonable prices - great lasagna.