Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Would go again!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Location: Ask the staff to show you the back path to the ruins. It is a great walk instead of passing through the city!
By far my favorite city and stay while I was in Peru. Ollantaytambo is a peaceful town surrounded by mountains and El Albergue was a wonderful stop in our travels. The food at the restaurant is amazing, and would highly recommend the tour of the farm and traditional lunch, as well. The hotel is true to pictures, has sufficient wifi, and a good supply of hot water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Thank you, Salena, for your wonderful review!! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at El Albergue!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Convenient, Comfortable Eco Hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Cons: The wifi was terrible (I heard it's because the trains' connections interfere with the signal).
Location: Buy a sack lunch, take a taxi to the puente de pumamarca, walk up to the ruins, then walk the trail back to town. It's a great way to spend 3-4 hours.
Nice train-station-connected hotel, stunning flora, environmentally friendly and sustainably managed hotel. Make sure to buy affordable filtered water from the lobby, check out the restaurant, try the Caña Alta Sour (and buy some Caña Alta from the front desk), check out the organic garden in the back, and say hi to the food/booze/IT manager, Frank.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, Will! It was a pleasure to host you, and we hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peru

Nice, clean, quiet and directly at platform

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Unique, nice and clean room. Beautiful grounds w/ lots of different plants. They do have organic farming and the produce is used in the restaurant. Nice breakfast. Would absolutely recommend!! Even though its at the train platform you don't hear anything as the rooms are in the back of the property. You can board the train to Machu Pichu right there. To town it is about a 10 minute walk or you can take a moto for 4 soles. The staff is super nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017
Thank you!
4 out of 5
by Aleksey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Charming Hotel at Train Station

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Delicious dinner and breakfast, very convenient location by train, lovely gardens and rooms.
Cons: Overall excellent. It gets a little busy right outside because of the train station, but I had no issue.
Location: Train to Machu Picchu literally right outside front door. Nearby farm to explore, town center is a short 10 min walk away.
Very charming hotel that is literally in the train station. The location is incredibly convenient, and the trains coming in are cool to watch. The grounds are lovely with gardens, flowers, and terraces. The room was very big and inviting. The restaurant is fabulous - the dinner and breakfast were excellent with fresh ingredients from the adjacent farm. If you have time, request a tour of the farm - it is really lovely. Overall I had an excellent time and would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Thank you for a great review!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You are missing out if you don't stay here...

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
I absolutely loved this hotel. We ate at the restaurant on site twice because the food was delicious, healthy and straight from their farm. We also did the farm tour and meal, which I highly recommend. Rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable, but my favorite part was the setting of the hotel. It was such a relaxing place to be after a long, full day of hiking Machu Picchu. The grounds were so green and full of a beautiful plant palette, which made it the perfect spot to chill on one of their hammocks. The staff were super helpful to us also. We ended up needing to stay at their sister hotel (El Balcón) a night earlier than expected and they helped us sort this out, provided us with transportation to and from the hotel (complimentary one way), and helped us book our taxi to the airport at 5 in the a.m. Oh, and the breakfast was made to order and also complimentary - AMAZING.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017
Thank you for a fantastic review! It was a pleasure to host you at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, and we hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, first rate restaurant

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel, great location and exceptional staff, who arranged transfers from the airport and back iinto Cusco with no difficulty, at great value conisidering the distance.
2 out of 5
by Armando

Machu Picchu Trip

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
I paid for Garden View but my room faced the train tracks instead. I did not received what I paid for. I did not know about this error until I was at Lima. This hotel is really good if you pay for the Garden View.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, excellent food, lovely simple room

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything. Lovely garden, austere and beautiful rooms, great service.
Cons: Two updates: you don't need a TAM (an Andean Migration Card) to stay there any more. And car/driver hire is $105 for the full day, not $75.
Location: Right in the station, so convenient for trains to and from Machu Picchu; Ollantaytambo is a great town to explore.
El Albergue is right in the Ollantaytambo train station and is very convenient. Their little bar has a great happy hour, Distillaria Andina (a partner distillery) is just up the road housed in the hotel's adjacent organic farm, the garden is gorgeous, the restaurant is good (if a little expensive), and you can roll out of bed straight onto your train.