Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

A peaceful oasis away from the tourist crowds

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Quiet neighborhood, easy parking, helpful owner. Historic home with elegant decor. Extensive library. Feel like you are visiting an eccentric relative
Cons: Nothing really. It's a historic residence so there is no AC. Mosquitos abound in Florence so ask for bug spray when in the yard.
Location: Non-tourist plagued part of town with easy access to/from the main roadways entering the city and directed toward Siena.
An extraordinary find in many ways. The hostess (owner) and her husband are lovely people. She speaks perfect English and can provide whatever tourist information and restaurant recommendations one may require as well as helping with bookings as needed. The house itself is in a quiet residential area and lies within a gated private park providing both formal front and informal back gardens (the latter a great place for kids to play). One would be best off arriving during daylight hours as the front gate itself is nondescript. This is an ideal location if you have a vehicle as it is easy to reach from the highway. One does have to be aware that Via del Proconsolo is one way (outbound) in this location so having an up to date Nav system is a plus (access is from Via Senese). This would be a great location to visit Florence from if arriving from outside Tuscany and also provide a home base for day trips to the adjacent countryside (going as far as Siena and San Gimignano would be pretty easy). Parking elsewhere in Florence -and driving into the city is an absolute nightmare so leaving the car here is a fantastic alternative. Although no attractions are within easy walking distance a brief downhill walk takes one to the main road where 3 bus lines provide rapid service into the city proper (10-15 minute ride depending on time of day). Once there it's likely best to pass the day or take a cab back to save time. Rooms and BR are of good size for EU. Wi fi signal best in common area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Old Italian Ambiance

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The Villa was built in the 1400s and it's beautiful. It is owned and run by an older couple, the wife speaks English and does most of the administration, but they are both kind, patient, and extremely helpful. We loved them! They made my mother and I feel very welcome. Lovely atmosphere in the breakfast room. The only down side we discovered is that there was no air conditioning, but the large fan provided by the administrator and leaving the windows open at night worked just fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria Australia

Gorgeous B&B in Florence

Posted May 9, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Maybe they can offer hot breakfast as well? - No big deal though.
Location: 5 minutes walk will get you to a bus stop and from there, you can catch a bus to the city (10-15 minutes ride)
We stayed here for two days while we were in Florence - two days were just not long enough! The place was gorgeous and the owner was so nice. I had a sore foot and could not wear my boots, so the owner kindly let me borrow a pair of sandals which fit me perfectly! We would like to stay longer next time we visit Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Firenze

Nice Bed & Breakfast hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Excellent option in Firenze. As a B&B hotel, it had exceeded all expectations: well organised, with a charming garden that makes you feel @ 19th century! The breakfast is delicious, there are amazing restaurants nearby and 3 bus lines that can drop you in the best parts of Firenze in less than 20 minutes. And the hotel's owner gives all support, providing accurate information about Florenve and the whole country! Whenever I came back, that will be my staying choice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay at Historic B & B

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in Villa Malavolta for two nights and found it to be an amazing experience. The property is about 10 min from the center of town and about 15 min from SMN train station via buses 11, 36 or 37. The buses run very frequently so we never had to wait more than a few minutes. We did take taxis on the way to the property when returning home late at night. Our room was upstairs overlooking the front of the property but there was a very large balcony off to the side which looks toward the city. A great area for my late night cigar and glass of Chianti. The room was clean and quiet and the bathroom was roomy by EU standards. If you are unsure of where to visit while in Florence, the owner, Donatella, is fountain of knowledge. We just let her know how much time we had available and she gave us a plan. Our son is a chef in the area who had a few days off to visit so we spent more time sampling food than the average tourist. Breakfast was plentiful with a selection of fruits, breads, jams, cake, meats, cheeses and excellent coffee. As mentioned in the other reviews, the meal is served in the oldest room in the house dating from the 15th century. The home is a bit of an art museum itself as the owner is an accomplished artist and sculptor. Her works as well as those of others is displayed throughout the home. WiFi was OK, better if accessed in the common area (library) outside the room, but it worked in the room as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a house with history

Posted Oct 15, 2016
It is an old house with traditional deco and a lush garden. The kind of place I wanted to experience. It is a bit out of the town, but with few bus lines just a few blocks away or taxi, it is very easy to get around. It is located at a nice neigbhood. The owners and staff are nice and friendly. They recommended me a place to visit and a restaurant to go. Both turned out to be very nice surprise. The breakfast is adequate. The room is big, clean, and the bed is comfortable. The one thing I wish could be different is more natural lights into the room. But as an old house, the window is small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mossissauga, Canada

A 6 Star B&B disguised as a 5 star.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Beautiful house with very comfortable accommodation and close to Florence and other must visit little towns in the Chianti area.
Cons: Can't think of anything at all.
Location: It is a 15 bus ride to Florence and 20-30 minutes drive, through the wine region of Chianti, to small towns such as Greve in Chianti, Ponzanno, etc.
A house with a lot of character and charm that is so inviting and accommodating. Our hostess, Donnatella, was so full of information about what was important to us.....how to get to downtown Florence, what places to go and see and what restaurant to patronize in the area. She and Sergio are the type of couple that you can't help but instantly like and what to chit-chat with. If our travels brings is back to the Florence area, we will definitely stay at Villa Malavolta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Beautiful place with magic and charm

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We absolutely had a wonderful time staying at this historic Villa. Highly recommended and gladly will stay here again. Close to everything.
4 out of 5
by Hagai from Santa Cruz, California

Hotel Malavolta review from Santa Cruz

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in 6 locations over two weeks and this one left an impression. It is a bed and breakfast and the owner has been there for many years. The villa itself is from 1450 and you get to read about the history of the house and the area. It is about 5 minute drive or 30 min walk from Florence old town (Duomo and the museums). the owner of the villa is an artist (as well as her parents) and she showed us her studio and the work she does. She was very helpful and welcoming. Room was beautiful with nice view of the back garden. This was the only hotel where we slept good. The bedding was very comfortable. The only issue was finding the place.. It was dark and raining when we came, and the villa doesn't have a sign to make it unique from all the other villas around it. So it took about 15 minutes to find it.. Other that that, I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fernando Valley, CA

Best b&b ever!!

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Not a thing could be improved. I only wish we could have stayed there longer. I would return to Florence just to stay there again.
Location: See above.
The house was built in the 14th century. It is absolutely gorgeous and the hosts, Sergio, and Donatella are lovely, and extremely helpful. Breakfast was stunning with the table set gorgeously; the maid served an incredible array of delectable morning treats.I cannot say enough about this bed and breakfast. It is and always will be the most beautiful one I have ever stayed in........... Its decorations for the Christmas holidays were superb. I would advise everyone interested in this place to book it. It is ten minutes by bus to the center of Florence and the neighborhood is extremely quiet. And the bus stop is five minutes from the house...... Our room was beautifully furnished including embroidered sheets and pillow cases. The bathroom was ample and our room had a lovely terrace which looked out upon the huge back yard....... There was also a kettle and an assortment of teas in the room. The house had a chapel and Sergio and Donatella's grandchild was baptized there!!! Need I say more. It was perfect!!!