Ratings based on 1,148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Quick business trip

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Third trip to this RL--comfortable and reliable. Very personal attention at late night check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Safe Travels,, Hotel Management
RSH, Thank you for the review. I am happy to see that we are your stop while in Olympia. We will continue to take care of you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in a quiet setting

Posted Sep 16, 2016
A lovely room overlooking the pool with views of river nearby. The room had everything we required. Spacious room with all amenities. Only stayed one night but looking to book in next few days for our return from Seattle. Dinner in the restaurant was a good experience and the food well presented and tasty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Safe Travels,, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We look forward to your return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rebranding -- and not a good thing. . .

Posted Sep 10, 2016
We've stayed at this hotel numerous times on our regular trips and appreciated its nice location (grassy lawns down to water views, near the highways but quiet), comfortable rooms, and friendly service. Hence, we keep coming back. Maybe that's over. The staff -- if you can find someone and grab a minute -- is still quite nice. But Red Lion is rebranding this property as Hotel RL or somesuch, and downgrading, about to install self-check-in kiosks, etc., and, apparently, to cut way back on the staffing needed to keep up a hotel of this size. So, there were plates with piles of rib bones in our hallway the evening when we arrived -- and at 10 in the morning when we left. The checkin with the new computer system took forever. The cleanliness has dropped below acceptable. And the free breakfast is way less attractive -- and by conscious choice of the management, the cooking and serving team has been cut back to perhaps half of what they need. So even getting to a table in a room with plenty of empty ones took 10 minutes, because there was no one able to find the time to greet you and get you there. There were only a few items at the buffet, but two of them were out in primetime, as there was no one to refill them. Good luck to any one wanting to order off the menu. Not because the staff wasn't running as fast as they or anyone could have. Because the hotel's new management or business plan has chosen to cut the labor costs and leave employees (and us) stranded. Sad!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Safe Travels,, Hotel Management
Anonymous, Thank you for the review. I appreciate your feedback on the new rebranding. We are all getting used to the new hotel and we thank you for your patience while we are working with the new challenges that have been presented to us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Red Lion

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Was shocked at how nice this place is, much nicer than many other Red Lion hotels. You can tell the place was once very dated, but they did a good job updating the facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Safe Travels, Hotel Management
Kraig, Thank you for all the kind words. We are glad you like all the updates to the hotel. We will see you next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington state

Great night sleep!

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Beds are so comfortable!!!!!! Love the hot breakfast and free Expresso! It's cool to have bikes there to use for guests!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Safe Travels, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We will see you next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Hotelzimmer

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Gute bequeme Betten. Großer Pool. Unkomplizierter Check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Safe Travels,, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy to see you liked the beds and the pool and that our check in process was quick and easy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pool dirty with yard debris but clean around the area. Also, breakfast good, needs waffle machine!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Safe Travels, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We will look into the waffle machine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellingham WA

Good hotel close to the Capitol

Posted Aug 26, 2016
My room was dirty, my white socks ended up black, the air conditioning super dirty, the beds are comfortable, the walls of the bathtub dirty as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Safe Travels, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will continue to work to improve in these areas for your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR.

Pleasant surroundings

Posted Aug 26, 2016
The hotel overall was fine, and the room was nice. The hotel is in a beautiful setting (lakeside) and the staff had a welcoming yet informal feel (low key dress and style). I had dinner at the bar and the food was fine other than the cornbread being very under-cooked. The bartender was a bit of a slacker; was whining about working his Friday because he was filling in, was inattentive after serving me (so I couldn't tell him about the cornbread), acted surly with guests, didn't pay attention to details. Honestly, a bar is much better when you have a solid personality behind it who understands what good basic service is. Breakfast advice: it's summer so why not have a nice display of sliced fruits for breakfast? The steam table had strange scrambled eggs, "fried" potatoes that had oil on them but very under-cooked and reheat-style sausages. Also, why no sundries section? The front desk said "we've got some vending machines by the exit light". That turned out to be a soda machine. Honestly, if you're going to cut corners at least have a section that offers snacks, juices, razors etc. for purchase. There is no convenience store near the hotel so offer something and since you don't have room service at least give customers the option of purchasing items.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Safe Travels, Hotel Management
T, Thank you for the review. We offer all sundries at no charge at the desk so I think we may have misunderstood your question. We will continue to work on our service in all areas for your next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to reach from interstate

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Lovely grounds, quiet hotel, accommodating staff. Restaurant was also good. I left my tablet in the room, I called the hotel the next day and they said they'd found it and mailed it to my home. I was very grateful for this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Safe Travels, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will see you next time.