Ratings based on 1,266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great waterfront view

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location and waterfront rooms
Cons: Elevator to upper floor
Location: Olympic National Park, ferry to Victoria Island
Used as a base to visit Olympic Nationsl Park. Easy walking distance to food and shops in town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great experience!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: View of the water, balcony, comfortable beds, pool, hot tub, friendly staff
Cons: carpets were a bit stained
Location: Ferry is very close, restaurants, shops, and Olympic National Park
We loved staying at this hotel! The room was lovely and comfortable, and the view of the water with the balcony was terrific! The front desk staff were very professional, friendly, and helpful. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub very much. It is a great location to the heart of the little town, for shops and restaurants, and convenient to the Olympic National Park, which is spectacular.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Nice hotel, clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The room is clean and modern. I love the Directv and big screen TV. The bed is also comfortable, even though my wife felt it's too soft. The hotel is at the center of the town, and close to the beach, so the location is good too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's on the beach but very over priced.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The soaps were interesting. Plenty of towels and the TV was good size.
Cons: Replace the carpet or at least shampoo it, though I think it's well past saving.
Location: It's in a great place to go to. Port Angeles is a good size city so lots to do in the city but the real attraction is the Coast and Olympic N.P.
Disappointing stay. The office staff seemed put out that we were interrupting them to be checked in. Entering the room you're greeted with an unpleasant smell, somewhere between musty and dirty socks. The carpet was loaded with stains (probably the cause of most of the smell.) It wasn't all bad. The TV was a large flat screen, the sheets were clean but the good was outweighed by the bad. Will not be coming back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, somewhat dated hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Location, Location, Location!
Cons: Hotel in general needs to be updated for the price we paid.
Location: Jasmine's Bistro, H2O, and Crepe place were excellent!!!!
Location to port, restaurants, nat. park was excellent! Hotel needs updating but serves the purpose!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Can't recommend.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The location is about the only positive. Hotel is very old and outdated. Way over priced, full of sports teams running the halls at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not worth the price

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We paid $280 for one night. The walls were very thin and we got zero sleep. Kids running up and down the halls and jumping around all night long. We asked for a rollaway bed and it took 3 calls and over 3 hrs to get it delivered. It was clean enough and updated for a motel, but the rate was ridiculous. I kept thinking we should have just drove home and have never been so happy to get back to my own house!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

No sea lions!

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: View!
Cons: Refurbish the rooms.
Location: Walking distance to multiple restaurants and bars.
I read review after review complaining about loud sea lions keeping people awake. I saw a total of four sea lions in the water and never heard one at all during the night. Nary a bark! I also asked the staff and they said that they have never had a complaint. I don't know who is lying, but I never heard a sea lion during the night. Maybe the sea lions are seasonal. If so, go in late July. I even had a room that looked out over the water. As to the quality of the hotel, yes the carpet had a couple of stains and the room smelled a little musty when I first walked in. The whole place could use an upgrade (new carpets, new paint) and the wireless was spotty. Overall, a nice hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the heart of Port Angeles

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: A 5 star restaurant attached to the hotel. A great walking path on the water side of the hotel for both people and pets.
Cons: The beds are listed as "queen" sized beds. They came from a small kingdom then because they were about 8" narrower than our "queen" sized at home.
Location: A good base camp to drive to sites in the area. The Blackball ferry to Victoria is a couple of blocks away from the hotel. Hurricane Ridge.
The best thing about the Red Lion is that it is centrally located to everything downtown. Also they have a great on-site restaurant that provides room service. Great food on the menu. We picked the hotel because they are pet-friendly. That came in handy when our 13 year old Basenji started having seizures due to the excitement of staying away from home. My mistake for bringing her (a bucket list sort of deal with my dog). We had to drive home at midnight (we live in Seattle--about 3 hours away) to get her back into a calm state so she could settle down. We got a day and a half trip out of the deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Everett, Wa.

Nice hotel, right on the waterfront.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
3 night stay in spacious waterfront room. Dog friendly environment was great for traveling with my family and dog. Rooms was comfortable but in need of some upgrades. Leaky toilet and frosty air conditioner were a little bit of a nuisance. Overall an enjoyable place to stay while visiting Port Angeles & Olympic Nayional Park.