Ratings based on 1,459 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria,BC

Nice night close to ferry and wine bar.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The bedding and proximity to good food/drink and ferry.
Cons: Glasses! Real glasses! New toilet seats, that stained one was concerning even though I'm sure it was clean.
Location: So close to the WINE BAR!!!! LOVE that place and their wines and small plates and the staff. For breakfast go across the street to Le Creperie.
This hotel is nice although this time we stayed in an older section and the fixtures were old and stained. The bed was super comfy though and the bedding is always nice. There don't seem to be many hotels in Port Angeles with nice bedding. Would be nice it they had proper glassware in the room though. It's gross having a night cap in a flimsy, plastic cup. The staff are always really nice at check in and check out. Just a pleasant way to get the heck "off the rock" for a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Nice hotel, close to ferry terminal.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
We stayed overnight, left the car, & caught the first ferry to Victoria the next morning. View of the harbor is nice. Staff at both the hotel & restaurant were friendly & very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingham

Great Location but Hidden Fees

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Great location, right on the beach. The hotel also goes back to the 70's giving you that cool retro feeling. Very nice!
Cons: Hotel management should use some common sense and forget about "nickle and diming" customers with extra fee's. Management needs to re-think!
Location: Great location in the old part of town, lots of walks and sights. You can walk on the beach or catch a ferry - all nearby!
Hotel and location were great but the pricing and offers were misleading. There were 4 added fees to the price that we were quoted and.............breakfast came with a "catch". Although 3 people were in the room you are given 2 breakfast vouchers for a breakfast that is standard (below standard on weekends due to staff shortage) fare at all other hotels. Breakfast was the same or less than you would expect at any other average hotel. So why does management have extra charges and require the use of vouchers that require a large tip? Why not give your basic breakfast to all of your guests? Bottom-line, expect to pay more than you think!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

NO maid service and a poor front desk attitude!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Very quiet unless groups walked down the hall. Very good location close to the ferry terminal, Feiro Museum, restaurants, shore walk.
Cons: Replace the hall carpets. Replace the attitude of the desk clerks. Hire maids that are capable of doing the job.
Location: The Feiro Marine Museum within 100 yards was great! Volunteers are very knowledgeable about marine life and we learned a lot!
We booked 2 nights thru expedia.ca. The second day, we left the room at 1015 am. We came back at 3pm. The room was not made up although there were maids working nearby. We left and came back at 7pm after dinner. No maids and the room was still a mess. We phoned the front desk. She tried to blame us because we had the DO NOT DISTURB sign out while we went to breakfast, but took it in before we left at 1015! We went over and spoke to the desk clerk. She gave us a coupon for $5 off drinks for 2. Fortunately the restaurant staff had more sense and gave us free drinks. The room was made up when we went back an hour later. The bill was slipped under the door and included 2 charges for $6.95 each. Apparently this hotel chain charges this fee on all who book on line. I think that expedia.ca should make it clear that this fee will be charged where they put the room price, so we can compare the total costs we pay when we are comparing hotels. This had never happened to us before. We would never book this hotel chain, again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC, Canada

Hotel in great location.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Great location, and friendly staff.
Cons: Hotel restaurant food was very disappointing, exterior of hotel and hallways need repair .
Location: Located right along the waterfront, easy walking to shops, restaurants and pubs.
One night stay, we were catching the ferry the next day. Located within a block of the Victoria ferry. Great location for walking around town, we borrowed the hotel bikes the next morning and road out to the break water, easy 40 minute ride beautiful view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Added money to the bill, no buffet breakfast

Posted Mar 21, 2017
When paying there was a charge on the bill for using Expedia ?? There was also NO buffet breakfast *part of the reason for choosing this hotel. There was a voucher to go next store to a restaurant and allowed 1 item off a small section of the menu with ONE drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley California

Water front hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location and view
Cons: Could use a little updating but the view made it all worth well!
Location: Waterfront. Could walk to the pier and all restaurants. Also great trail right in front of the hotel.
Perfect location for a great walking path, ferry to BC and downtown restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable

Posted Mar 18, 2017
This hotel shows its age. Way overpriced for the amenities offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

excellent customer service and nice view

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: low price with breakfast included. Beds comfortable and nice part of town.
Cons: The exterior looked a little dated.
Location: downtown location and good view of the water and harbor. Walking distance to restaruants
We appreciated the wonderful customer service with the text welcoming our stay. Nice greeting from the front desk as we arrived. The free breakfast offered was better than any other hotel we have stayed with. Cooked to our liking and we had a choice of what we wanted with drinks included. Wonderful view of the harbor. We will be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Battle Ground, WA

Beautiful view for this aging beauty.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The view and the restaurant
Cons: Make sure the windows are clean after all they are selling the view! Replace the dingy towels with new ones. Replace the carpet on the stairs.
Location: Port Angeles is a pretty little town and the ferry to Victoria BC is right at your doorstep. There are some great restaurants there. Walk the trail!
This hotel used to be the best motel in Port Angeles, but unfortunately the staff doesn't realize how critical clean windows and unstained towels are. The view was beautiful, but the windows were dirty and streaked. Someone did not take enough time to clean them properly, the sheers on the windows were a wrinkled mess and to top it off the white towels were dingy and stained. The rooms were clean, dusted, vacuum, clean floors etc., but those dingy towels were a total turn off. The old beauty of a hotel needs some updates. The stair carpets were dirty and the upholstery on the sitting chair in our room needed to be replaced. I always loved staying in the Red Lion, but sadly the caring that once made it stand out seems to be lacking. We had a fabulous breakfast included with our room, and enjoyed the restaurant very much. I don't like giving poor marks, but I can't give good marks when they are not deserved.