Ratings based on 1,366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Business Trip

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix heater, clean carpet and update.
Heater sounded like a squeaky wheel. Had to shut it off in winter to get some sleep. Why can't maintenance check these things out...too many hotel with excessive heater noises. Place needs some TLC.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the waterfront

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The comfortable room and great bed.
Cons: An elevator would have been handy for my less than perfect knees.
Location: Lots of stores and restaurants and a waterfront walking trail.
Very clean and comfortable with great room service. Pet friendly and very quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Nice hotel, location is great

Posted Dec 8, 2016
It is a nice hotel, with a very good location. Friendly staff and a clean room. The rooms are spacious. We entered the restaurant, but quickly turned and exited, because as soon as we walked in we noticed it smelled like a bathroom, not an inviting smell for a place that prepares food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

One night stop, road trip.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location, convenience, price
Cons: Get rid of the resort fee, it just cheapens the place.. trying to be something its not.
Location: Right downtown
Coming up from Phoenix AZ, last stop for Victoria Blackball ferry in morning. Ferry right next door, so easy to find. Room was nice, clean, comfortable, fridge and microwave. WIFI was good, TV was terrific (large). Close to 24hr Safeway ( 5 min drive) and right downtown Port Angeles walking to shops, etc.. This time of year, not expensive. Restaurant was fine, food was excellent, price was good, service was terrific...nobody else but us that night....lol Only complaints,very long hallways to get to room with luggage....and nickel and dime 5 dollar resort fee slipped under door? No pool open this time of year. Just charge me more for the room...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Visit on 11-24-16

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The location, cleanliness, size of room
When we arrived, I inquired about a room with a view. I was able to upgrade to a waterfront room, upper floor for only $20.00 more. The room was comfortable, CLEAN and the view of the waves and open water was just what I needed. We were too full to partake of the Thanksgiving Buffet the dining room offered, but it sure smelled GOOD! I actually cracked the sliding door about 2 inches, upper floor with balcony, and could hear the water all night. Very restful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Near everything

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Near everything
Cons: See above
Location: Ferry, restaurants, Marine Center, ok shopping and nice walks along the water.
Hotel staff was great and very helpful even though it was Thanksgiving and they were stuck working. The hotel is in an excellent location near everything. That being said, the rooms were very dated and needed paint, upgrades, chipped tiles in bathroom, unclean curtains (so filthy), worn out carpeting, and dirty shower curtains. They use a charcoal lavender soap, which was nice, however, it left black spots on the shower curtain that were from previous guests. yuck.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puyallup, WA

Red Lion- Port Angeles, WA Thanksgiving Holiday

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The professional staff. The waterfront location. The peace. The quiet.
Cons: The WI-FI. The WI-FI was virtually non-existent.
Location: It is right on the waterfront, in downtown Port Angeles, WA. We took a long drive one day up to Neah Bay, WA.
We had a very nice time this Thanksgiving Holiday weekend at the Red Lion in Port Angeles, WA. The hotel is right along the waterfront, and offers a wonderful view of the straits looking towards Canada. The hotel staff are all very pleasant, and were extremely professional. The restaurant offers some very fine food, and we enjoyed the Thanksgiving Day Dinner Buffet. Our room was very clean, and the staff maintained the room in an excellent manner. The only room for improvement is in the WI-FI. We continually would lose the WI-FI signal; but even when it was available it was extremely slow and not very useful. Everything else was wonderful, and overall we had a wonderful long holiday weekend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Angeles

Nice quiet beach front room

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very quiet and beautiful view from 2nd floor. The shower was surprisingly nice. The water pressure was fantastic as was the shower head. Beds were comfortable and the price was right. I will return again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very dirty, needs renovation!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Location - right next to ferry landing.
Cons: New carpet, new drapes, new furniture, new mattresses....
Location: The connected restaurant is average at best.
The carpet throughout the hotel needs to be replaced. It is stained and dirty. Our room was as clean as it could get - vacuumed and dusted. But the furniture was horribly stained; the carpet was stained; the curtains had a thick layer of dust on them. AND THE ROOM STANK!! We were burning incense and spraying perfume around trying to cover up the smell. The mattresses were hard and worn out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Best place in town!

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable and nicely appointed rooms.
Cons: No complaints. Just remember it was built in 1969, so there will be some wear that the renovations don't cover up.
Location: Olympic National Forest is a must see. Plenty of shops and galleries right there along the harbor. Lot of wildlife to watch!
Had a very nice stay in November. Staff were all very friendly, accommodations clean and comfortable. The buildings have been there a while, and being waterfront, get some wear and tear from the elements. The view from the harbor side rooms is great, and the balconies are quite large. It is well worth upgrading to a water view room. The hike and bike trail starts right at the edge of the property, much to the delight of weary travelers wanting to stretch their legs. The Crabhouse restaurant on the property is an added bonus, also sharing a nice view. Our meal was tasty, nicely presented and reasonably priced. The hotel is the closest to the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC and on level ground. The grounds are adjacent to the marine interpretive center and observation tower that is a favorite of kids and teenagers. Hope you enjoy your stay!