Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bothell, WA

Excellent hotel staff

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Excellent staff, clean rooms and good location. The hotel does need some "facelift". But, we'll definitely stay there again. Thanks to Justin, Hotel Manager for addressing my concerns.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
At check out there was a $5 charge added as a "resort fee" this had not been disclosed to me at any time by any one prior to check out. The hotel said it was an Expedia charge and had to be paid. Because of this I will never use Expedia again unless Expedia corrects this. Bill Cote
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
It's walking distance to the heart of port Angeles right in the water 5 min drive from the Olympic national park. Wonderful hotel with a wonderful free breakfast included. Highly recommended
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale CA.

Not worth the price

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Overall the staff was very nice.
Cons: Update with carpet, paint etc.
Location: Not sure, had business out of town.
Old and dated, bathroom not re-stocked 2nd day. Wish we could have had a room with a view. On a positive note we came back to the hotel 30 minutes after the restaurant closed but they still helped us get a couple of drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet home away from home.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Quiet sleep, accommodating and helpful staff, clean comfortable bed and great TV options. Wi-Fi was a little weak, but overall a great place to sleep while visiting relatives in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Total Home Run

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the Coho Ferry, downtown, waterfront, free bikes, cleanliness
Cons: Nothing - for a hotel at this price point, the value is outstanding.
Location: Next to many restaurants, the old part of Port Angeles, some artistic and cultural sites, waterfront, trail access. Easy walk from the ferry.
As a guy who spends a modest amount of time in hotel rooms as a professional musician, I can vouch that Red Lion Hotel is one of the cleaner, friendlier establishments I've ever stayed in. While there was a minor glitch on check-in, the daytime manager, Justin, went out of his way to ensure that he made things right, and in the end my expectations were exceeded. All this while he was in the midst of training a new employee, and as someone who values leadership within an organization, he was right on the money in terms of coaching his new hire and showing her the ropes. The free bikes were a surprise and a real treat as I was able to take my kids out on a little excursion down the Olympic Discovery Trail, which runs right next to the hotel. The hotel was very clean, very quiet, right on the water, with gorgeous views (and the gentle sounds of the ocean in the background). The complimentary breakfast was delicious, the staff in the restaurant being as friendly as the lobby staff. Definitely will stay here in the future. Well done to Justin and the staff!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location is good

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: location is good.
facility is too old. staff is nice. location is very good. Many eating places near by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynnwood, WA

Nice clean hotel by the water front.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
I had not stayed in this hotel for a few years because the room and the carpet looked old and rather dirty. I decided to give it a try last week and was pleasantly surprised! The hotel must have been renovated. We got an ocean view room and the room not only was neat and clean, it was newly furnished with flat screen TV, microwave oven, and refrigerator. The package we got also came with free breakfast for two at the Crab House restaurant. If you have a pet, there is a nice long walkway along the waterfront that you can take your dog with. Overall I really liked it and will stay here again the next time I visit Port Angeles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the water and downtown.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Nice and most helpful and accommodating staff. We will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Cons: Internet speed
Friendly staff and spacious room. Highly recommended.