Ratings based on 1,321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great place but needs updating.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
We had a single king room with waterfront view. Room was great, large TV, plenty of space, great view. Wish there was a table to eat at since they offer room service. Bed was comfortable, linens smelled fresh. Room service was prompt and food was warm. Needs updating: sheer curtains had a hole in them, wallpaper was bubbled in the corner. Looks like was put on poorly or is detaching from moisture. Ceiling had a water stain. The footstool for the chair had a stain on it. Bathroom walls showed signs of mildew. Grout in shower had mildew. Above shower also had mildew/discloring and could use a fresh paint job. Shower curtain had some mildew spots. The tub floor was stained slightly. Looked like the floor was mopped but the corners not wiped. Even with needing updates, will definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Sea? or stank?

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Check out was easy and effortless
Cons: Uh the stench
Checked in , freindly staff , all well till we entered our hotel entrance then we were greeted by a foul sour smell! Sewer? We proceeded to our room with haste and closed the door and opened the windows. Luckily the smell subsided some but left our nostrils tainted. We promptly set out for dinner and a candle , which we had to walk over a mile to get. On our way back we stopped by the front desk to enquire about the origin of the stench. "I'm sure you've heard by now but there is a foul smell in the hotel" "No? Wait , What? Oh yeah , the cleaning woman mentioned such a smell , yeah the storm must have blown it in. Hmm hope you don't plan to stay during the next storm. "There's really nothing we can do , sorry the city says they can't do anything" What!? Wow! , for as offending as that smell was we would have hoped for some sort of compensation on the price of the stay as it was not cheap enough for such an odiferous situation. Well I guess not. Smell ya later Red Lion!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pacific NW

Nice room

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Hotel exterior a little dreary but the double queen room was clean & roomy with an easy chair and a desk, which I love to have.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: The site seeing opportunities from that location are too numerous to list.
Excellent hotel, great location on the waterfront. On site restaurant but some guests received breakfast vouchers for the restraint but we did not. Might have been because we booked on Expedia...? Front desk guy at check in was a wiseguy and after a long day of driving it was not appreciated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

Great hotel staff!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Along the waterfront, easy walk through town. The Crab House had terrible service, though.
The room was nice enough, no complaints, the staff at the hotel was great! Took care of us like we were family. Remembered us right away through the crowds of CrabFest. CrabFest was virtually in the parking lot! Unfortunately, the restaurant, Crab House, connected had terrible service. We understood that it was a busy weekend, however, the wait for the bill was ridiculous, Lost patience and went to lobby and asked them to put the bill on the room, explaining what happened. Too bad, the hotel was otherwise nearly perfect, loved all the staff at hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
comfortable room pool/sauna not convenient easy ck-in/ck -out
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Hotel has a great location near ferry dock. Staff was helpful. Room was very clean, quiet and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Very Nice Hotel, very nice view

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The view and location
Cons: Restaurant and bar
Location: Lots of other places to eat nearby and great shopping.
Great place just don't eat there. The restaurant service was so bad. 15 minutes no one saw or spoke to us. We left.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Very nice rooms, good location , down town close to restaurants, shops and ferry/water! My only complaint is the first night is they gave me my Expedia rate of 130.00 then the rest my stay I was charged 150.00 a night???
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Red Lion expensive for what you get?

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Close to ferry terminal
Cons: Needs a good update and be more reasonably priced.
Location: Close to the ferry terminal.
We were looking for a nice place to stay before we took the ferry to Victoria, we booked 2 rooms at just over $200 us + tax per room. What a surprise, it's very overpriced for what you get, it's very tired and the rooms we had could do with an update and the carpet in the hallways looked dirty and worn. From inside our rooms we could hear people talking as they walked by in the hallway also the every movement in the rooms above us. We were also charged a resort fee of $5 for what I don't know as the pool was closed for the season. On reflection we should have booked in one of the major chain hotels that would have been more reasonably priced and probably had a free breakfast included.