Ratings based on 890 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery

Posted Dec 4, 2017
First of all we had a late flight. When we got tot the hotel the doors were shut and no one wanted to help us. The people are so rude and didn’t want to help us at all. We finally checked in and the guy at the front desk didn’t explain absolutely anything to us, he just gave us our room key and that was it. The room was nice but our fireplace was not working at all. We paid extra for the fireplace that didn’t even work. The service here is horrible. We ordered breakfast and no one got our order right. They over charged us for our coffees and food and they still got the order wrong every single day. When we got back to the room, nothing was cleaned. Room service is garbage here. I will never go back here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort...no

Posted Dec 4, 2017
They really need to spend some money on new mattresses and down pillows. Both of us had a horrible night's sleep. Usually my husband can sleep on ANYTHING! The clerk at checkout deducted the $25. resort fee because I complained about the lack of comfort. But that was not enough to compensate for my stiff neck!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Its time for renovation.

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Beautiful property until staying inside the rooms. I am less then impressed with the old, out dated, and worned out rooms. Wish they csn remodel this place and change the furnitures.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't sleep all night

Posted Dec 1, 2017
So there was a party in the next room and people were really inconsiderate and loud, we didn't complain since it was thanksgiving and didn't want to ruin the fun but they got really drunk and started knocking around on doors which scared my friends daughter. We were about to complain but one of the girls got really drunk and somebody called the paramedic. All the commotion ended at 3 in the morning and we were finally able to go to sleep. When we told the hotel staff the story in the morning, they looked at us like we were making up a crazy story, but later one of them came and acknowledged the story and all they did was said sorry. Absolutely horrible experience. Hotel was quite nice though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakland, ca

Not good for thanksgiving skiing!

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Thanksgiving is not a good weekend to stay here if you are planning to Ski. The lifts at the resort are not operational. The staff have no idea how to handle the skis. The shuttles are always leaving early or late. The rooms are acceptable for a four star hotel. The staff are very friendly $ accommodating!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco CA

Not what we expected

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Resort is really nice but can’t say the same about the room. Very old and dirty. Bathroom and kitchenette is updated but the bedroom and living area were very old and smelly. Carpets were in horrible condition with stain all over. Toilet had stains in it. Bedding was not clean either so we didn’t even use it. Overall the room needs major renovation and cleaning. I expected much more for the price. I could have gotten a Marriott or Hilton for less and way better condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Andre Priemer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sending us your review. We're very sorry you experienced this inconvenience. This is very concerning as the rooms that the hotel manages were recently renovated. May we speak with you directly to find out which room you stayed in. If you are so inclined, please contact our guest service manager Nate Los, at nlos@destinationhotels.com. We look forward to speaking with you. Sincerely, Andre Priemer, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno

Amazing resort

Posted Nov 6, 2017
We enjoyed the spa, restaurants and all around beauty of the resort!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Oct 20, 2017
My stay was a working one Very accommodating staff Very relaxing job this trip I'll be back when I'm not working !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tracy, ca

Absolutely wonderful!

Posted Oct 12, 2017
We stayed here because my husband was doing the Spartan race. The hotel staff was amazing! The hotel was VERY family friendly, the grounds & room were beautiful & the beds were SOOOO comfy! We will definitely be back next year & May even try to come back before!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Great location, incredible views. Very clean, cozy, and welcoming atmosphere. Definitely enjoyed the availability of shuttles to get to Squaw Valley.