Ratings based on 838 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
great experience, confortable and with a lovely view. Valet Parking is an abuse... Consider an extra resort fee!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, California

A definite RESORT hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The natural beauty can't be beat. The pool area is beautiful. You have the resort experience here.
Cons: I would include the resort fee in the actual price. Self parking is a tiring uphill walk and valet parking is not inexpensive.
Location: In summer you can hike, golf, mountain bike, or go river rafting all there or a short drive away. Many were here for a local soccer tournament.
This is a great hotel. You are definitely in a resort. Some of the most beautiful views in the Sierras are right out of your room. The staff is friendly. The service is excellent. The rooms are extremely comfortable. The restaurant and events are great. I have stayed here a few times over the years and would come again if I find myself in the North Tahoe/Truckee area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sarasota, florida

Peaceful, scenic part of Tahoe

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Great views as long as you pick valley view and nice campus amenities. Golf course is nice but not spectacular by any means. On site dining pretty good and a much more sane choice than the nearby restaurants on the lake. Will probably pick a time other than summer break as resort was very full with school age kids having a good time. Nearby ski runs looked like they could be very tough in winter. Access is good from interstate to Reno airport. Definitely more peaceful and scenic than along the lake. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from williamsburg va

Beautiful resort. Met all my expectations and more

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Set in Squaw Valley this resort was beautiful. If you want a nice relaxing vacation at a beautiful resort in a great location stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel beautiful views

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: The views were beautiful, the grounds were spotless.
Cons: see above
Location: Squaw Valley where the Olympics were held was a disappointment. The place looks like a ghost town. Truckee had lots of cute shops.
Our room was warm even with the thermo set to 67! so we opened the windows at night and it nice and cool but not until morning. We said something to the guy who brought up our bags the first day but he didn't seem like he wanted to be bothered and said to give a few hours. The temp in the hallway was nice and cool, but our room, not so much. Also there is no fan in the bathroom so showers always were very steamy unless you opened the door. The mattress cover was REALLY lumpy and you couldn't smooth it out, it was bunched up right in the middle where you lay down. The fridge was not very cold either, even though it was set to the coldest setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful, clean resort with great amenities!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Overall staff friendliness & warmness
Lovely hotel that has all you can want in a mountain getaway. Clean, pretty, with good dining options and beautiful location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The parking is terrible.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Forced into parking Valet as the walk is a great distance for most people to walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Andre Priemer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, The self parking is a relatively short distance, as it is adjacent to the resort; however, guests do have to walk up the stairs from the self parking area. In the future, please feel free to valet your car or you can drop your luggage at the front door with valet and they can watch it for you while you park your car. We hope you find this tip helpful. Sincerely, Andre Priemer, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We only stayed one night, so we didn't get a chance to enjoy all the amenities. Next time we will stay longer to enjoy the pools, hot tubs, stores and tennis!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Wonderful place with a courteous staff. Only reason I didn't give a perfect score was the 25 a night amenities charge that I don't remember being alerted to. Extra 100 i didn't expect. It won't keep us from coming back. Totally worth it. Just don't like surprises. FYI. Sign up for the fly fishing! Great time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Andre Priemer, Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sending us your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry if the nightly resort fee took you by surprise. We do our best to explain it to guests at their time of purchase and at check in. It sounds like you enjoyed the activities the area has to offer and we hope to welcome you back to Resort at Squaw Creek again very soon. Sincerely, Andre Priemer, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice property offering activities to keep busy

Posted Jul 4, 2017
A very beautiful location but is 15 minute drive to actual Lake Tahoe. Mountain views were lovely. Had a room in the tower which was ok - not spectacular. Offers swimming, hiking, golfing and a very helpful concierge for off property activities. Very family oriented and was somewhat overrun by small children. There is a shuttle every half hour to the village with shopping & restaurants. For a short summer get away or summer get away with small children, I think it's great but I wish we had stayed at a property right on Lake Tahoe. If it was winter & we were on a ski trip it would have been phenomenal.