Ratings based on 1,077 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
easy check in, parking, clean room and excellent service overall
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
It is our pleasure to have you stay with us, thank you for you kind review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocklin

Perfect Summer Getaway

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, amenities.
Cons: Need to repair some of the wear and tear on the building due to ski equipment.
Location: The village at Squaw has multiple retail stores, restaurants, and bars. Great hiking in the summer and world class skiing in the winter.
Wanted a mid-week break from the hustle and bustle of work that is daily life, and the Village at Squaw Valley was just what I needed. I'm a season pass holder at the mountain but never stayed at the Village during the ski season as it's pushing my comfort level for price point. That being said, hotel was exceptionally priced in the off season. All the restaurants and stores remain opened, and the fresh mountain air was rejuvenating. It's just a quick drive to Lake Tahoe and there are good hiking opportunities right outside your doorstep. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodations were fantastic between a comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, and nice sitting areas. The only reason the hotel didn't score a 5 is the wear and tear on the building. Ski equipment can be rough on a building, and based on the scuff marks in hallways, on doors, etc. it shows. Thus, there are some deferred maintenance issues that I hope they'll handle soon. Will definitely be recommending to friends in the future. As one local I chatted with stated, you come to Tahoe for the winters but stay for the summers. Great trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, as well as taking the time to give us your thorough feedback. Please know we are constantly taking care of the seasonal, and daily, wear and tare that our property endures.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beware...beep, beep, beep

Posted Aug 24, 2017
First let me state clearly that there is NO air conditioning in this place. Which is fine in the winter but in the summer with a unit facing the tram and sun, completely unacceptable. No matter what, was unable to get room temperature below 74 degrees. There is a "fake" unit that is noisy and blows air but is totally ineffective. Even leaving the windows open all night did not help. Which brings me to my second complaint. We were awoken EVERYDAY at 6:00am by garbage trucks that operated from 6am-8:30am emptying all the dumpsters in the complex. As a bonus, on Sat and Sun they operated from 11:00pm - 1:00am because there was a beer/jazz festival. The village is great and the High Camp experience is awesome but DO NOT stay in these units in the summer!! Very disappointed!!! The staff was not helpful or empathetic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to give us your feedback. You are correct, we do not have central air conditioning on property, though we do have many units with a portable AC unit. I am sorry you had issues with your AC, and hope you had called to have the unit looked at by our maintenance team. Please know in the future you can ask to have your room moved away from noisy areas of the village for a more quiet unit. I am sorry you were not made aware of the festival, as we try to have something happening nearly every weekend. In the future, our front desk agents will do everything they can to accommodate to ensure you have a great experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san pablo ca

Very nice hotel with many things to do

Posted Aug 19, 2017
I really thought it was a beautiful place with beautiful views of the mountains. For the most part we really enjoyed our stay. Also has many little shops and restaurants, cafes, and spa all downstairs. I was disappointed in the room though. Our pull out bed was broken also things were missing from the room and the staff forgot to clean the refrigerator out and coffee pot and also our tv remotes were missing really weird...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
It is nice yo see you enjoyed our village. Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry for the issues you experienced with your room, as none of which sound normal, we will be looking into this further. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from silicon valley

Comfy room, beautiful setting

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Nice staff, clean, comfy room. Good sized bathroom. We had some glitches with our TV. Maintenance came right up. Unfortunately he was unable to fix it. It was late in the evening and we saw no need to push for a change. The fitness center is tiny and was at mac capacity when I went down to work out in the morning. Fortunately for me, outside is beautiful, so I enjoyed running outside. It was a lovely stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us Morgan, and for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sorry maintenance could not fix the TV immediately, please know we are already working on it. I am glad to hear you utilized the bike path that runs along the Squaw Valley Rd. In the future if you feel the fitness center has too many people, we have multiple on property, give the front desk a ring and they will direct you to another fitness center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Charming village at Squaw, good restaurants, walkable. Short drive to Lake Tahoe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
It sounds like you took full advantage of what the northern Tahoe area has to offer. Thank you for staying with us, and giving us a great review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Location & Views

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Fantastic stay. However, the room can get a bit warm as it only has a portable a/c unit. That being said, if you have the bedroom door shut in the suite it gets pretty warm. The fitness room is a joke. Otherwise, a great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
So sorry to hear the room heated up on you, we will look into it further. Thank you for staying with us, and for your 4/5 rating!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
They upgraded us to a 1bdroom suite but we were next to a noisy parking lot. And no central AC in summer. Very expensive for a summer stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
I would like to apologize for the lack of AC, and are working to have AC units installed in all of our units.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beautiful, comfortable hotel with incredible views

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We stayed here for a few days in June, our first vacation as a family of 3. Hotel staff was very accommodating with making sure we were comfortable while staying with our infant. Awesome shopping and food options and incredible views! Would definitely love to come back in the winter and enjoy all the hotel has to offer regarding snow activities!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of our property, we'll be looking forward to seeing you this winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas, texas

Perfect location with everything you need!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
This ski resort was great! Even during the summer there was still stuff to do. Definitely more busy from Thursday to Sunday. Such a great location and close to Lake Tahoe. My 3 kids had a blast! Food is very expensive but I expected it so definitely budget for food. I do not have a single complaint about this resort. We will be back to ski!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. We're very happy to hear all three of your kids had a blast, looking forward to seeing you next time.