Ratings based on 1,095 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Location, location, location.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
In the heart of Squaw Valley. Perfect place to stay during the Spartan Obstacle Race World Championship weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Glad you could come enjoy the event, thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Liked the location, our room and the cleanliness
Cons: Wish that the front desk would answer the phone
Had a very pleasant stay. Would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to give us your feedback. There should have been someone available at the front desk through the duration of your stay, as we staff the desk 24-hours a day. We will address this internally.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from park city, UT

Nice hotel in the village

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Nice hotel in the village. Room service is weak. I got 1 coffee in 3 days. And $25 a day reaort fee is high for not getting anything
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to give us your feedback. We have front desk agents available, 24-hours a day, to assure you do not go without room amenities. The resort fees are stated on the Expedia site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from modesto, ca

Perfect September Getaway

Posted Sep 22, 2017
I love how quiet it was and how close it was to the village! Starbucks was a short walk and it's only 15 minutes from the water. Would definitely stay here again and would bring my family this time. Great for couples and even better for families. Will be back here in the winter!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very happy to see you had such a memorable experience, and we will be looking forward to your return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
easy check in, parking, clean room and excellent service overall
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
It is our pleasure to have you stay with us, thank you for you kind review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocklin

Perfect Summer Getaway

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, amenities.
Cons: Need to repair some of the wear and tear on the building due to ski equipment.
Location: The village at Squaw has multiple retail stores, restaurants, and bars. Great hiking in the summer and world class skiing in the winter.
Wanted a mid-week break from the hustle and bustle of work that is daily life, and the Village at Squaw Valley was just what I needed. I'm a season pass holder at the mountain but never stayed at the Village during the ski season as it's pushing my comfort level for price point. That being said, hotel was exceptionally priced in the off season. All the restaurants and stores remain opened, and the fresh mountain air was rejuvenating. It's just a quick drive to Lake Tahoe and there are good hiking opportunities right outside your doorstep. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodations were fantastic between a comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, and nice sitting areas. The only reason the hotel didn't score a 5 is the wear and tear on the building. Ski equipment can be rough on a building, and based on the scuff marks in hallways, on doors, etc. it shows. Thus, there are some deferred maintenance issues that I hope they'll handle soon. Will definitely be recommending to friends in the future. As one local I chatted with stated, you come to Tahoe for the winters but stay for the summers. Great trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, as well as taking the time to give us your thorough feedback. Please know we are constantly taking care of the seasonal, and daily, wear and tare that our property endures.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beware...beep, beep, beep

Posted Aug 24, 2017
First let me state clearly that there is NO air conditioning in this place. Which is fine in the winter but in the summer with a unit facing the tram and sun, completely unacceptable. No matter what, was unable to get room temperature below 74 degrees. There is a "fake" unit that is noisy and blows air but is totally ineffective. Even leaving the windows open all night did not help. Which brings me to my second complaint. We were awoken EVERYDAY at 6:00am by garbage trucks that operated from 6am-8:30am emptying all the dumpsters in the complex. As a bonus, on Sat and Sun they operated from 11:00pm - 1:00am because there was a beer/jazz festival. The village is great and the High Camp experience is awesome but DO NOT stay in these units in the summer!! Very disappointed!!! The staff was not helpful or empathetic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to give us your feedback. You are correct, we do not have central air conditioning on property, though we do have many units with a portable AC unit. I am sorry you had issues with your AC, and hope you had called to have the unit looked at by our maintenance team. Please know in the future you can ask to have your room moved away from noisy areas of the village for a more quiet unit. I am sorry you were not made aware of the festival, as we try to have something happening nearly every weekend. In the future, our front desk agents will do everything they can to accommodate to ensure you have a great experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san pablo ca

Very nice hotel with many things to do

Posted Aug 19, 2017
I really thought it was a beautiful place with beautiful views of the mountains. For the most part we really enjoyed our stay. Also has many little shops and restaurants, cafes, and spa all downstairs. I was disappointed in the room though. Our pull out bed was broken also things were missing from the room and the staff forgot to clean the refrigerator out and coffee pot and also our tv remotes were missing really weird...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
It is nice yo see you enjoyed our village. Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry for the issues you experienced with your room, as none of which sound normal, we will be looking into this further. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from silicon valley

Comfy room, beautiful setting

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Nice staff, clean, comfy room. Good sized bathroom. We had some glitches with our TV. Maintenance came right up. Unfortunately he was unable to fix it. It was late in the evening and we saw no need to push for a change. The fitness center is tiny and was at mac capacity when I went down to work out in the morning. Fortunately for me, outside is beautiful, so I enjoyed running outside. It was a lovely stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by DJ Rufo , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us Morgan, and for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sorry maintenance could not fix the TV immediately, please know we are already working on it. I am glad to hear you utilized the bike path that runs along the Squaw Valley Rd. In the future if you feel the fitness center has too many people, we have multiple on property, give the front desk a ring and they will direct you to another fitness center.
5 out of 5
by Aleksandr

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017
Thank you for staying with us, your five star rating!