Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in a quiet but accessible place

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: easy check ip and check out
Cons: Their breakfast was a little too pricey and the internet which came with the room was super slow.
Location: there is a shopping mall with a variety of shopping activities and food options
The staff at the hotel were very cordial and willing to assist me in making sure that I settled in comfortably. It was in a quiet location making it easy to study. I liked how easy it was to access it from the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great hotel to stay at. I've stayed there several times over the years.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Lisa Westra, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm happy to hear you are a return guest. We hope you will continue to stay with us. Sincerely, Lisa Westra General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Had a good time. Don't have any complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Hotels.com. I'm glad to hear you had a good stay and that you were pleased with our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Lisa Westra General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the 5 star review on Hotels.com. We hope you will stay with us again. All the best~
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln,NE

No Hot tube in room

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: 0
Cons: Update website
Location: 0
their web set show hot tube in room, that is why we when to that hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Jalyn, Thank you for taking the time to leave an online review. We have recently remodeled our guest rooms and we no longer have any suites with a hot tub. I apologize for the inconvenience. I hope you found other areas of the hotel to your liking. Sincerely, Lisa.westra General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I stayed in the hotel for a wedding that had a block of rooms reserved. We got ready in the bridal suite which was a fabulous room! I checked into my room later that day and it was great! The only problem we had was the shuttle. The bride and groom were told the shuttle would run until they were done at the reception (12:00 midnight) and this is the reason they chose a hotel further away from the venue. It was the only one that provided shuttle service. When we called to get a ride at 11 they said the shuttle service stopped at 11. We finally got them convinced to come get us and the groom spoke to the shuttle when they arrived as there were too many people and they'd need to make one more trip. She said she actually stopped running at 11 and wouldn't come back. She ended up making the last trip to get them, so it turned out ok! The breakfast the next morning was amazing though and I loved the complimentary hot and cold drinks with to go cups!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at the HGI Omaha West. I am so glad to hear that you found your guest room to your liking and that you enjoyed the breakfast on the day or your departure. I want to apologize for the shuttle hours confusion. We usually do our last run at 11:30 so that the shuttle is back at the hotel my 12:00 am. I hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Sincerely, Lisa Westra General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Wi-Fi was intermittent and TV remote was flaky
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was right offthe highway, fantastic location for traveling.
Our room was up to our expectations, the staff was fantastic and breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the HGI Omaha West. I'm happy to hear you found the location convenient, and that your breakfast was very good. I'm also glad to hear that the staff was accommodating. We hope you will stay with us again. Sincerely, Lisa Westra General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great business travel hotel.

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great business travel choice. Kind of tucked away in the back of buildings... use your GPS to find easily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay. I'm happy to hear you found the hotel a great choice for your travel needs. We hope to see you again! Sincerely, Lisa Westra General Manager HGI Omaha West
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Hermon, United States of America

Spacious rooms and very nice staff

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Hilton Garden inns are very cookie cutter so you know what to expect. Breakfast was nice that included fresh fruit and items to order plus their buffet. The staff really was the differentiator. Dining staff was very attentive for both dinner and breakfast. Shuttle drivers were also very nice and accommodating to your schedule.