Ratings based on 889 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice close to the convention Center

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Well. I like because it was close to the convention center that's all
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bug motel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Horrible stay lies about whos the Mgr also bed bugs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Very expensive to used their business center

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Yes, But not their business center
Just want to print one page of an email that cost $5.00 for 5 minutes Plus the printer out of toner and wait for another 10 minutes to change it. Than the printer was not working. End up I have to use their office printer and cost total $12.50 What a Business center service. Needed a new manager. PS. the printer which they used is very old and super cheap.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the business center particularly with the condition of the printer during your stay. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like for our valued guests to have. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure that situations like this will not happen again in the future. It is our hope that your next stay would be a pleasurable one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
needs renovation for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal for the price

Posted May 18, 2017
Hotel is located near convention center. Not to much within walking. Distance but a mall with many restaurants and shops is aboit 2miles away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible place

Posted May 16, 2017
The pool was totally dirty, disgusting ! No jacuzzi. TV wasn't working properly . Tha hotel looks dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel including the pool during your stay. Also, we are sorry to hear that the television was was not working properly at that time. This is not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. Your comments are valued, and will be used to consider improvements in the future. We hope to see you again and exceed your expectations in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Staff were not very nice. When checking messages or trying to call in to confirm reservations, I had to call several times as no one answer phone or they accidentally hang up on you. Bad service overall. I would not stay there again. But its near airport that's the only advantage.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” service. We regret our front desk service was not to the standards . We addressed the situation and training is in place. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Horrible accommodations.

Posted May 14, 2017
Low budget maintenance to say the least. Needs upgrades and better management. I usually stay at motel 6 with no complaints. At least they have clean accommodations and a free breakfast for half the price. I wanted to upgrade since I had my family and now I can never take back this weekend. Expedia definitely made the situation right after I expressed my concerns. Thanks Expedia!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. Sergio, we appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No bed

Posted Apr 29, 2017
They gave me a room with no bed. Then they moved me to one with a bed. But the bathroom didn't work in that room and the TV didn't work in the room either
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. I appreciate you taking the time share your experience. I apologized for the misunderstanding on the room assignment and the issues you have with your room. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Radisson Review

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Spacious Room. Ability to open room windows to allow fresh air. Beautiful courtyard & good sized pool. Attractive entrance. Airport shuttle.
Cons: Lots! The long, rambling hallways are ridiculous - no access to elevators. No ice machines. Funky odor in rooms from old carpeting. Dirty pool.
Location: Situated about 1/2 mile from Ontario Int Airport. Close to the Convention Center & Ontario Mills giant shopping complex.
We booked this room online through Expedia; the hotel looked great online. We had a late arrival from the Ontario airport. We had to call the hotel 3 times for the airport shuttle & waited over 30 min for its arrival. Not horrible, just a bit inconvenient (though I did take a fall getting out of the shuttle - too many steps & very dark). From the hotel entrance, all looks lovely - but don't be fooled. We were given a room so far in the back of the hotel we had to walk & walk & walk - and had to call twice to actually locate the room because the room numbering is skewered. We finally get to the room; it's clean, good sized, but there was an extremely funky odor (we believe it came from the old carpeting). We were too exhausted to change rooms - it was past midnight by then. I went to get ice. No ice on any of the floors; had to walk way back to the front desk where they hand scooped me some ice. No ice machines even upfront. But, we slept fitfully - the beds & pillows were comfortable & the windows opened to a courtyard that allowed fresh air into the room. The next morning we went for a swim - but the pool was filled with yellow mustard algae. It had not been cleaned for a while. No swim. There is no Jacuzzi. This was rather unfortunate because the pool is situated within a beautiful courtyard. It is clear that this was once a very nice facility that is now truly in need of some renovation & tender love & care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. Elizabeth We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. On our continuous efforts to improve and update our facility , we are working diligently to get our elevator functioning really soon and we fixed our ice machines. Our hotel no longer offers a hot tub. We deeply regret not exceeding your expectations. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We look forward to the opportunity to have you again as our guest .