Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice and accommodating staff.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The woman I interacted with on the phone and in person was excellent. One gentleman was just okay but overall, they were very accommodating even in light of the busy holiday weekend. One small suggestion - shower caps.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprise

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Surprise hidden fees!! $125 turned into $175 dirty bathroom and smelled funny
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by shurley@hiontario.com, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We appreciate your review. We do not have hidden fees. We have a $50.00 per night incidental/security deposit that is authorized at the time of check in and released at check out. This is on the Expedia website. Sincerely, Shari Hurley Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean and close to the mall

Posted Nov 11, 2016
My wife and me we spend a very nice weekend at Ontario Holliday Inn (The place is clean, and breakfast buffet is delicious!!) we visited some friends, went to mills mall and enjoy a very good food. We spend a very good time. Thx guys.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Shari, Hotel Management
Dear Mauro, Thank you for giving the Holiday Inn Ontario Airport. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast, found our hotel to be clean, got to visit friends and do some shopping. We hope we will see you again soon! Sincerely, Shari Hurley Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A comfortable place to stay.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Most of all, I was impressed with the friendly, helpful staff
Cons: The printer in the hotel's business center was not functioning at the time and I had to use the computer and printer behind the front desk.
Location: The hotel was located near the airport. We had a busy weekend so there was no time nor personal energy to enjoy the area.
My daughter and I flew in for a weekend for an interview at an area Veterinary college. We were faced with unpleasant flight times and time-critical connections. For one, our flight home departed at 6:00am on Sunday and, as the car rental facility didn't open until 4:00am, we were concerned we would not be able to arrive the two hours before flight time the airport requested. The hotel staff recommended that I return the car on Saturday evening, call them from the rental facility and they would pick me up there. It worked out perfectly and took all the worry out of the situation. The people on duty at the front desk also assisted me in printing out advance check-in boarding passes for our flight out. I found the staff to be very friendly, professional and ready to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Shari, Hotel Management
Dear Gerard, Thank you for giving the Holiday Inn Ontario Airport 5 Stars. We are extremely pleased that our staff was friendly and ready to help. We do apologize for the issues that you experienced with the business center printer, we will have our IT Department look at that right away. We hope to see you again should you ever be in Ontario. Sincerely, Shari Hurley Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Pros and cons

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Clean, up to date, friendly staff.
Cons: I didn't like that we were forced to use the elevator in the lobby for every entrance or movement between floors at the hotel.
The in house resteraunt was very expensive so unless you want to spend a lot you lost the convenience of having food right there. Facilities were nice. I stayed for a few days and my room was at the end of the hall. There was a stair way that led outside so I could get out, but to get in I had to go to the lobby every time. Parking got a bit tight at times. I also had an uncomfortable experience were one of the staff just opened my door and started coming in. He saw me an apologized and promptly left but it was odd and uncomfortable. The design forces you to use the elevator in the lobby made it odd to get to the pool and work out room, but they seemed nice ( although I never saw anyone use them).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Shari, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that our staff were friendly and that you found our hotel to be clean and up to date. We do apologize that you felt forced to use the elevator. We hope we will see you again! Sincerely, Shari Hurley Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean and quiet

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Quiet
Cons: nothing
Location: near the Airport
Very quiet, clean, friendly helpful staff. Restaurant and bar. would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by shurley@hiontario.com, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you for giving the Holiday Inn Ontario Airport 5 out of 5! We are so happy that you found our hotel to be very quiet and our staff friendly and helpful. We hope we will see you again! Sincerely, Shari Hurley Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Folks at the desk where very nice, but the room amenities were not so hot, one room didn't have a refrigerator and no offer from the desk to supply any type of replacement in or out of the room. The ironing board had no pad, and the replacement they brought (after 3 calls to the desk)had only one 1/8 inch piece of foam for padding. NO free continental breakfast offered to guests! The Jacuzzi was the worst. We came out smelling as though no chlorine had been used for a while in it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by shurley@hiontario.com, Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you for your review. We do apologize that your room did not have a refrigerator during your stay and that you had issues with the ironing board. We will work directly with the staff to ensure this does not happen in the future. We are a full-service Holiday Inn with a restaurant to purchase breakfast or you can purchase a rate with breakfast. Our Jacuzzi chemicals are tested on a daily basis and chlorine is added when needed. Sincerely, Shari Hurley Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very comfortable, jacuzzi relaxing!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
It was nice, comfortable & sevice was good! Coffee maker in room didnt work! Took a while to replace, it was busy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by shurley@hiontario.com, Hotel Management
Dear Pablo, Thank you for your very nice 4 Star Review. We are extremely happy that you found our hotel to be nice and our service good. We do apologize for the coffeemaker not working as we have brand new Keurig Coffeemakers in our rooms. We hope we will see you again. Sincerely, Shari Hurley Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Business trip

Posted Oct 18, 2016
I was here for a 3 day event. No complaint, no big surprises. I slept very well. I'd stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by shurley@hiontario.com, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for your very nice 4 Star Review of the Holiday Inn. We are extremely pleased to hear that you will stay with us again and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Shari Hurley Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Cons: Yessica at the front desk was rude.
When I arrived Jessica at the front desk advised me that they did not have my reservation from Expedia. I showed her my confirmation and she just looked at me like so what?. I asked her if she could call Expedia which she did and after about 30 minutes she just handed me my keys. I asked her what the problem was and she just shook your head and said Expedia messed up. Someone should teach this girl some front desk experience, people skills.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by shurley@hiontario.com, Hotel Management
Dear Frank, Thank you for your honest review. We do apologize as this is not the kind of service our hotel is known for. We will definitely work directly with all staff to ensure this does not happen again. Sincerely, Shari Hurley Hotel Manager