Ratings based on 1,075 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Stylish hotel conveniently located on M51 metro

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The Mercure is a beautiful space conveniently located an 8 minute walk from the M51 metro line, and thus easy access to both the touristic centretown, and airport. However the location of this hotel seems most suited to the business traveler as there are no amenities in the surrounding neighbourhood, which is mostly businesses and conference centres. The lobby and lounge area is absolutely gorgeous, decorated with sleek and cozy Scandinavian decor. A quaint corner store offers snack and small gifts, but grab-and-go breakfast options are limited. The river view, business class room room was quiet, stylish and well appointed, albeit a bit small, but with a fabulous double shower with excellent water pressure. My only concern was the bed, which was too firm. I recommend this hotel to the business traveler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: friendly staff, clean room, great facilities
Location: There is a metro station about a 5 minute walk from the hotel so it is easy to get anywhere you'd like to go in the city.
I booked the Mercure hotel for myself and my parents because we were going to see The Rolling Stones in Amsterdam. The hotel was amazing, I couldn't fault it. The check in was fast, the room was spotless, the staff were lovely and friendly. This hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the metro station so it is easy to get anywhere you want to go in the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for one in the Amsterdam City area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Sep 30, 2017
We disliked the room we got as it was right next to the storage room, the cleaner kept banging the door early morning about 5 times each morning. We came on holiday to get good sleep but did not end up getting that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Nice hotel in an ok location, 5 min walk to the metro. Room was lovely although the air con didn't work so was stuffy through the night making it difficult to sleep. We stayed for 4 nights and one of the days the room wasn't cleaned properly... only the bed was made. Would recommend and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice Hotel and very near to the Metro.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
This is my first visit to Holland and I have a very good experience. The Hotel staffs are super friendly, polite and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel serves very nice food with reasonable priice. I will definitely come back to Amsterdam snd to this hotel, Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

It was easy to get to and from the hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: ,
Cons: Gym equipment was broken
Location: City
It was fantastic, easy staff, great location the hotel room was comfortable just everything you need in a hotel the Mercure Amsterdam had it all well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Excellent hotel, handy for metro into centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford, UK

Lovely hotel for a long weekend break

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Fabulous rooms and service
Cons: A cheap minibus laid on would be fantastic as hotel is some distance from the nearest public transport and as I have COPD this was not ideal.
Location: Once you get to Metro station (about a 10 minute walk) then everything in Amsterdam is within your reach
Our room was upgraded on arrival - a very pleasant surprise. Staff were all friendly and welcoming and the room was fantastic. We liked the fact that if you opted not to have your room cleaned you got a 5 Euro voucher to spend in the bar or restaurant, nice and eco friendly. Lovely breakfast, again with attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Clean and close to all facilities
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Everything close
Great staff very friendly close to all tourist attractions and main city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aldershot england

Brilliant staff and hotel!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Staff were very nice and helpful, 2 staff members , one of them being Lars and the other who I can't remember his name, he worked with Lars on Monday to Wednesday were very kind and helpful as it was mine and my girlfriend's first time to Amsterdam. Would recommend this hotel to anyone ! Rooms are so comfy and if you're as lucky as we were you may get a free upgrade to privilege room ! As we did and it was brilliant. Would defiantly stay here again! Thanks to all the Staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Antony, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Laura Heeringa Management Assistent