Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronoto

The hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
This was such an amazing place! The room above the restaurant was a bit loud loud from the sound carrying up to the bedroom. However this was an amazing place to stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty good for Holland.

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Check in started badly. Arrived at midnight and it took 20 minutes to check us into the hotel. I booked on Hotels.com and elected to pay at the hotel. The desk clerk said it was pre-paid through expedia. Rather than argue I asked him to sort it out and I would be back the next day. Upon check out 2 days later the problem still happened. I paid on site but I'm now worried that I will be double billed. This seems to happen alot in Holland with Hotels.com . My final bill was more than what I originally booked for, as well. Very disappointed with the restaurant, Julia's Kitchen. I made a reservation 2 weeks in advance and when we arrived on a Saturday night at 8:30 pm for a nice meal they gave us a very much slimmed down menu which offered only three entrees ... the 'Market Garden' menu. I wish I was informed upon reservation that they would not be offering the full menu. Serving staff was quite nice but it would be nice if the servers spoke better english and were better acqainted with the menu and wine list. Overall, the hotel was clean, safe, and comfortable...which is much better than most Dutch countryside hotels which tend to be very minimalist.
2 out of 5
by VARitch

Not as Advertised

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
The beds were comfortable although the room presented was not the room I paid for online. The room online was stated to be a double room with one double bed. Upon checking in, the room was a twin room. The reception did a poor job pretending to be surprised that it wasn't as advertised. Upon ckecking out, the receptionist tried to charge me again! I wouldn't stay here again, however the beds were comfortable.
5 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire. England.

Excellent Hotel, friendly and welcoming.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Highly recommended! Had a wonderful stay! The staff were friendly and always had a smile on their faces. Rooms spotlessly clean and the on site facilities were also excellent. Situated in a beautiful part of Oosterbeek in very pleasant grounds. The bike hire is highly recommended if you are visiting the nearby battlefields of Arnhem. Planning on coming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire, England

Pleasant hotel in beautiful setting

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Location was perfect, pool, bed, breakfast was OK
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in rooms, toast should be available at breakfast (is not at present).
Location: Lots of walking, hotel is situated in the woods, bicycles are available. If you are a military historian you are perfectly situated.
The hotel was beautifully situated in woodland, perfectly placed for the Hartenstein museum if you are visiting the Arnhem battlefields; it is about 15 minutes stroll away. The room was a decent size and clean, en-suite with bath, but slightly dated. Bed was very good. No tea and coffee in the room which would have been a big minus for us, except we always go prepared now with our own kettle! There doesn't appear to be any air conditioning, the room was quite stuffy at night. On the ground floor are several beverage machines and stations, but these are not for the use of private guests, they are reserved for corporate conferences. Our only reservation with this hotel is that as a couple we felt slightly second class, the hotel's priority is with its corporate clients (we were politely asked to move during our lunch in the bar to make room for a corporate event). The swimming pool was pleasant and not crowded. Be aware when looking for the hotel, that there are 4 different Bilderbergs in the locality. The front doormat takes on a malodorous smell when wet, but don't let that put you off (we mentioned this to the staff)!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather basic hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: quiet environment
Cons: train staff to be warm and friendlier to guests
Don't expect too much from this hotel. It's not 'terrible', but it's also 'nothing to be crazy about'. It provided basic service for relatively good price. Some hotel staff (definitely not everyone, but decent percentage though) is not quite friendly and you get feeling from their communication that you are rather 'accepted guest' and not 'welcome'. They seem love to argue about anything - but maybe it's dutch folklore so I may be wrongly accusing them. Breakfast is extremely basic - even the cheapest motels on German highways have better selection. (Typical hint are always minimalistic glasses and watery orange juice - saving 'extreme' amount of money probably). At least bakery was very fresh and perfect, although not much to choose from. I thought it was just my experience, but surprisingly more of my colleagues who stayed there at the same time had same feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Bilderberghotel - a sense of tranquility

Posted Jul 23, 2011 on Hotels
The only bad thing I can say about this hotel was that I was only there for one night. Very friendly staff, well appointed and a great location. Whilst the rooms were not the most modern they were clean, quiet and entirely functional. Restaurant was very good, if a wee bit pricey but at the end of the day, you get what you pay for. If I am in the area again, I would certainly go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Needs updating

Posted May 28, 2011
The Bilderberg is in a lovely location, but location only is not what majority of gusests are looking in a hotel - its the whole package location, cleanliness, quality staff and good service. Simple this let this hotel down: 1) cobwebs covering a large section of the ceiling!! 2) outdated TVs in rooms 3) dirty swimming pool 4) if the rooms were painted with in modern colours then they would not seems so out dated!! Please sort it out! Lovely Italian Resturant if a little expensive!!