Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Posted Jul 28, 2015
We were pleased with our stay at Gem Park in Ooty. Very nice, spacious and clean room with spectacular view and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dombivli, Maharashtra

Good stay for 3 nights with a few concerns

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Whole property, cactus garden, swimming pool, specious rooms, ambience. Strongly recommended for stay
Cons: Staff could be more friendly. Certain small things should be easily be made available,
Location: Location is just excellent. Dodabetta, Botanical garden is too good, Coonoor trip was good.
Overall good stay. Positives 1. Good location, Ambiance, property, specious rooms, clean bathrooms 2. Excellent gardens, cactus collection, swimming pool, weather 3. Some staff members were good and smiling but many were not Areas of improvement 1. Unnecessary compromise on certain things like Fridge not switched on unless complained, hot water kettle switch broken and we were asked to operate by inserting a stick, only one hair dryer provided in two rooms and we were told , please manage with one 2. Insufficient stock of food items at breakfast, no fast refill 3. Many staff members did not even smile, the head bell boy (brown coat) came into action only when we were about to leave and put our bags in car 4. Non availability of hot water after morning(It was just warm) Overall, apart from certain staff/service factors, the hotel is just excellent for stay.
4 out of 5
by Sridhar from Ghaziabad

Good Hotel in the city but in a quiet locality

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
I had seen a mixed review of this hotel.While some praised it very much others were critical. My own experience has been good. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful but again not too far away from the town.One can walk to downtown in 15 minutes.The rooms are well appointed and comfortable.It is time to replace linen and towels, I think.They look somewhat old but clean. The staff is very friendly.View from the rooms, garden and restaurant is great. The staff is thoughtful enough to keep the rooms slightly warmed up. The bar is good but slightly expensive.Same goes for the restaurant. Food quality was also good.We did not have breaffast so I can not comment on it.Overall a good experience.The managment should consider providing indoor slippers. I was walking inside the room in my socks.Overall a good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gurgaon

Great hotel with good location.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Good customer Service, Great hotel with superb location.
2 out of 5
by Noby from Kochi, Kerala

Terrible service from reception staff.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Restaurant
Cons: Lot of improvement in staff service.
Location: Good location. Very near to popular attractions
Detailed review given in tripadvisor. You get only assurances and no service delivery from reception. Poor wifi signal even in restaurant. Expedia shows that bath tub is available in deluxe room. But, it is not available. They do not serve even news papers in your room. The refrigerator was not cleaned and seems not to have been used for years. No mini bar available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible worth for money. Unclean toilets.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Cons: Expedia tricked that the amount included breakfast - hotel said otherwise.
Horrible worth for money. Unclean toilets. Poor service at restaurant. Never going to stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Dale Foster from Cypress, Texas

Tucked away from everything

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels
I have stayed here several times. In the past it was somewhat rundown. But the room I had this time had be refurbished. The location is a bit remote but otherwise it is OK. It offers a great view.
3 out of 5
by Rajesh Agarwal from Visakhapatnam

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels
Nothing extraordinary to share about the Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2012 on Hotels
ok hotel, wifi does not work, when it works it is slowr than dialup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from London, UK

Good hill top hotel with lovely views.

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: The views across the valley. Lovely picture window and sitting area in room.
Cons: No free wifi as advertised.
Location: Hill top location but close enough to walk into town and back - or taxi back as uphill all the way!!
A good hotel in Ooty. Lovely hill top setting and views of the town. A bit of a walk up from the town but taxis are available in town to the hotel. Good breakfast and clean rooms. No free wifi as described in hotel details and swimming pool did not appear to be functioning during our stay. Having said that it is probably the best hotel in Ooty.