Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Santosh

Lots of pros very little cons. Great !!!

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place. Pros: Secluded and away from the town. Good choices at the restaurant. Very helpful staff. Premium rooms provide fantastic view of town and garden.24 hours hot water. Cons: Centralized AC and the rooms does not have climate control in the room. Lighting in room not adequate. Parking space inadequate.Not many activities in the property. Overall a very pleasant experience. Would definitely recommend it to like-minded people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017
Thank you for your review. The unforgettable view from the hotel is one of our USPs. Your appreciation of the staff will motivate us to work harder to deliver even better services to our guests. We do have parking space but at times a lot of our guests drive down to Ooty so we have concerns of parking space. We arrange parking outside the hotel under the supervision of our security personnel. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other hotels/resorts at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. We assure you of a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hyderabad

Stinking smell and no hot water at night

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Drainage smell throughout in level 1 floor. In room menu terrible. No hot water at night. Good location though
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Sinclairs, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are saddened that your experience of staying with us was not a happy one. We have taken a note of your feedback and shall strive to plug the gaps in respect of the issues pointed out by you. We shall request you to please continue to patronize Sinclairs. We assure you of a memorable stay next time you visit us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Once the payment was done during check in none of the staffs never bothered to greet me. I had to request every day to provide two water bottles and I was updated that it would be provided during room cleaning. Not satisfied with the service once the payment was made.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Nice hotel on the hill

Posted Mar 27, 2017
It was a pleasant experience with such a good service provided by Sinclair retreat staff. We also liked the location and the view of hotel. We stayed there for 3 days and liked everything of this hotel, facilities view staff food. We would like to recommend one thing to hotel that they should provide the dormatory for drivers as I have seen them sleeping in cars as no such facility was available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a low average experience for the price paid

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The breakfast was just average. The view is pretty and its a nice resort. There are not too many activities in the resort other than a play area. The bonfire was paid that too ₹ 6000 which would not at all be worth.
1 out of 5
by Arun V

Will not recommend or stay in Sinclair's anymore

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was a gift for my parents and brother, I am disappointed with the service and products received from Sinclair's retreat, rooms with minimal air circulation, semi fixed windows, suffocating, corridors were dark and mediocre food and beverage.
2 out of 5
by Arun V

Good property need to improve in terms of quality

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
My parents stayed with their guests did not enjoy much had to check out early.
4 out of 5
by Pradeep

Good hotel with equally trained staff...

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was a short but a fantastic stay with Sinclairs. Especially the chef Shobhan. He ensured to make the evening special for us on our wedding anniversary. This property will be our first choice whenever we plan to visit Ooty. Keep it up!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Amazing outlook & located near Tea Factory

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Lastminute
We checked in ok after receptionist had to confirm from my downloaded booking as they had the booking for the previous day. Reception staff can be more polished. Restaurant staff were very polite, courteous & served us with respect & couldn't do enough for us Rooms were comfortable, clean & very nice. The corridor was a bit smelly, and dark, I had to request to have it sprayed Thank you for a pleasant stay in Ooty.
3 out of 5
by Sharmita

3 star hotel - tiny room: property grounds r great

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
The overall stay was not too comfy as the room is very small... and the restaurant looks more like a banquet hall in which some chairs & tables have been laid.. its more like a 'bhojanalay' and not like a nice restaurant.. But the moment u step into the hotel grounds - on many levels - its just so so lovely.. so many spots to take fantastic pics.. really amazing views from the hotel grounds..