Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good views

Posted Dec 25, 2016
The hotel good overall. Nice view of the valley. The restaurant is also decent. It is on the expensive side though.
1 out of 5
by SURESH from Thrissur

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor. No maintenance. Poor food. Horrible lift.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for review. We are disappointed that you found shortcomings in our services and maintenance which stand in contrast with the feedback we generally get from our guests. We however sincerely regret any inconvenience caused to you.
4 out of 5
by SANDIP from KolkatA

Good for couple

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Have a wonderful stay and the hotel service and stuff are very pleased.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our property and services to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other properties at Kalimpong, Darjeeling, Dooars, Siliguri, Burdwan and Port Blair.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Over priced >7000/ day for the facilities it provides. Good location on mountain top.great breakfast. Good place for kids with amenities for chess, other board games, badminton, table tennis, but that basement room is full of mosquitoes and certain equipments are missing. Poor maintenance of excellent facilities. Average room service. Non existent wifi, but they keep advertising and blaming it on Internet service provider.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and appreciating our location, facilities and food. We, however, are disappointed that you found shortcomings in our services and maintenance. Please appreciate that the cost of operation of hotels in hill locations are always higher as compared to plains. It is, however, always our endeavour to offer our guests best value for their money. As far as the internet connection is concerned, please understand that the remote hilly location makes it challenging to get stable internet connection. We have taken a serious note of the issues pointed out by you and will take corrective measures. We regret any inconvenience caused to you. Generally our properties are known for their high quality of maintenance. We shall request you to please consider this as an aberration and promise you of a better experience next time. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other properties at Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Siliguri, Burdwan and Port Blair.
2 out of 5
by Chaitanya

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gulab

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from location is only plus

Poor Service

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
considerable scope of improvement in service. understaff. if you give order for food be patient to wait for atleast an hour. had to call thrice to get hair dryer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely regret any inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your observations and shall take corrective measures. Generally our properties are known for great hospitality. We shall request you to please consider this as an aberration and promise you of a better experience next time. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other properties at Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Siliguri, Burdwan and Port Blair.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pune

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Location is nice. You get to see entire valley and away from Ooty town
Cons: Front desk, Room Service, Quality of Restaurant. Overall infra of the Hotel
Location: Site seeing. Tea factory
Overall experience was OK. Nothing great. The carpet in the entire Hotel was stinking. Room size was also small and overall comfort was that good. Not very good staff as some of the luggage they were carrying for me was broken.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Team Sinclairs, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Our three-level landscaped garden from where you have a wonderful view of the Ooty town as well as the Nilgiris is perhaps one of best. However, your comments on our services, maintenance and food is a bit surprising as many guests during the same period have opined differently. However, we always value our guests’ feedback and therefore have taken serious note of the issues pointed out by you. The concerned team members have also been briefed about the shortcomings. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Not worth the money I paid

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Hotel was ok ok.. for the price he charges, it was not worth.
3 out of 5
by Vijay Kumar from Kolkata

Hotel with a nice view...

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is at a good location....but the rooms are too small and toilets are tiny as well. Breakfast and dinner buffet needs a big upliftment both in quality and variety...