Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Hell of a road to get to heaven

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel but had a bad time reaching the hotel. Firstly it is hard to find the hotel then had a hard time getting to it through the worst roads in ooty. Finally when you reach the hotel, its like reaching heaven, broad roads, ample parking, lovely staff, beautiful rooms n view, good food n an overall lovely experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly overpriced. Bad value for Money

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything
Heater doesn't work Hot Water Geyser doesn't work No adequate parking Approach road terrible Loud buzzing sound and cranking noise in all rooms Badly designed atrium which makes it extra noisy and most important - the marketing team called within 5 mins of checking in in order to see their holiday packages. DUDE who the hell wants to take marketing/sales calls when on vacation. clearly the team was more obsessed on selling their plans over my comfort in one word - this hotel is worth if they charge 2500 not 7500!!!
4 out of 5
by Claes from Bangalore

Great view from the terrace

Posted Apr 22, 2014
The hotel is well situated, no more than 15 minutes drive to the Golf Course. The view is breathtaking and the floral arrangements are beatiful. We were well taken care of by the staff and we enjoyed a breakfast buffet with a good variety of dishes. The Junior Suite that we were provided was big, well equiped and clean.
2 out of 5
by Kits from Chennai

Fern Hill - a Night Mare

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Good Landscaping and Infrastructure with no hospitality.
Cons: Hospitality and Keep the room ready with the itenary mentioned while booking. Restaurant - Taking long time to refill the items.
Location: OOty City is 5 KMS away from the resort, last 1 and half KMS streach is bumby.
Among other Sterling properties - Fern hill stay is a night mare and i had a terrible experience. The property, Landscaping, Infrastructure are good but the main thing hospitality is missing. From the day of check in i had to fight for each and every item. The reception executives not even know the room they allocated are good to check in and the itenary shown in the website are not present in the room. You have call house keeping and they will say very politely that they will address your concern but they will never turn. There time to respond is minimum 3 hrs and to provide all the itenary as per my booking took 2 days for them. Even after i taken up with their head housekeeping and facility. I did repeated complaints on the poor service i got, but no body seems to be bothered. If you really feel hospitality and service is important. Then Fern hill is not the right fit. I will never visit again - same I mentioned clearly in my feedback form.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing place to stay in ooty

Posted Jan 3, 2014
It was the perfect place to stay in Ooty. The location, staff, food and all other things out there was wonderful. We just loved the place and made our vacation memorable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good option, Great scenic view warm hospitablity.

Posted Oct 15, 2013
If u r looking 4a decent stay option....fern hill is the right choice.the rooms promises a beautiful view of the city.....the comfort level is great....the staff is warm and hospitable. The only negative is the proximity from the main city......around 8kms....but if u plan to drive down in ur own vehicle....,then shouldn't b an issue. To sum up it is the value 4 money deal.
5 out of 5
by Utsav from Bangalore

Weekend Gate away from Busy IT Life

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: The cordial staff,timeliness,great room service,good selection of food menu and buffet breakfast.
Cons: I would recommend putting a wall clock in each room the digital clock on the indoor phones are way too small.
Location: I took the junior suite which was with open view to mountain and overlooked the nicely maintained lawn they have so I loved the location and ambience.
Most pleasant stay I ever had in India. Could be compared to any of the famous abroad 3 Star Hotel Groups.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Property in OOTY to enjoy :)

Posted Aug 21, 2013
The place is slightly off road, especially if you are reaching there using Google navigation. The resort is on a hill with excellent scenic view and lot of greenery. Stay was made very comfortable by their staff. Great food options. Variety of dishes was available. Overall the Resort was one of the best parts of our stay, and we will like to return there soon. Fern Hill is undoubtedly the best Property in OOTY to enjoy. My Overall Experience was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not as expected

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Location: location is good, but the access road is bad.
not a good experience from a resort of this name. cable was not working no hot water. it took them more than 15 hours to fix reported problems. worst of all... i ordered the same dish two time on different days and surprisingly the preparation was totally different from what i was served earlier.. leave the taste even the color of the dish was different . when i asked they arrogantly told me that the chef was different. wont go there again and would not even recommend others to visit this place.
4 out of 5
by Dominic from Bangalore, Karnataka, India

I Recommend the Fernhill!

Posted Jul 2, 2013
It was a very pleasant stay at the Fernhill. I would certainly recommend it. Staff were very helpful, and the ambience is very good.