Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

Better then some Vegas Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: The room was very nice.
Cons: The hot breakfast.
Location: Casino was attached.
I love the look. The attendant was very friendly. The only thing I was displeasing was the breakfast. The grits was running and the bacon wax greasy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is "okay" but it's not like you have a variety of hotels in town. I don't like the hanging out of people at the entrance drinking and playing music all hours of the night. It's not something I would expect at any hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lucky stay.

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
We were traveling to Alexandria from Baton Rouge and the weather was too bad to continue. We enjoyed our time at the hotel however the casino, not so much.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The room had small roaches, that we detected while in bed. This ruined the night and experience. Highly disappointed.
3 out of 5
by terri

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
First I found this hotel is overpriced! It wasn't that clean or fresh looking, especially for what we paid- with the casino & horse races as entertainment attached to hotel, very disappointed- the casino service really was awful - slow slow drink service, not very upbeat and gracious you're there abd spending money- casino needs to be redecorated updated- not too clean, only 1 place to eat after horse races and service was ok- high priced nice restaurant only should give you excellent service and attentiveness- burger & drink was good though-- horse races- the clubhouse was awful- service was horrible and rude- going to this hotel all had to do with the entertainment and if I give it all one rating 1-10, I'd say 3-- room was clean, decor sort of updated but walk in the hall and it's yuk, pool looked nasty- this whole place needs management overhaul as well as cleaning- fresh paint, etc- def not 3 star hotel- not worth money we had to pay and not going back - I'll find elsewhere for entertainment.
5 out of 5
by michele

Family Reunion

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Room was very clean and very comfortable. Just wish there was a bathtub because had my 5 month old grandson with us and was difficult to bath him.
3 out of 5
by Ruth

Not happy in Opelousas

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Was not impressed with the overall quality of the hotel. I paid $146 and have stayed in better hotels for less.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by C L

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Great over night stay. Clean room, carpet appeared like new, bed quite comfortable. Received service with lots of greetings and smiles from the desk and clean up staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
I booked a double queen room at the Evangeline Downs based on the rave reviews I read for the hotel on various sites. I needed a room as I was traveling to Opelousas for a family member's funeral. I went to the memorial service and I received a frantic call from my daughter, saying that a man had been banging on the door for the past ten minutes as if he was trying to get into the room. I told her to call the front desk as I myself called the police, and rushed from the memorial service back to the hotel. The guy at the door turned out to be a mentally disabled man who couldn't locate his room as his guardian had left him unattended. None of this was his fault, however, I feel that the hotel staff did not take the threat seriously. They were slow to respond to my daughter's call to them prior to the police responding, and later laughed off the situation as they felt, "He wasn't a real threat." Their inaction in the situation was a major disappointment. Once the police resolved the issue, my entire family and I (as I now felt uncomfortable with my family staying in the room) returned to the memorial service. The next morning, I was getting ready for the actual funeral service and we'd run out of towels so I called down to the front desk to request more. The front desk agent said they'd send them up right away. Nearly 45 minutes go by before the towels came up (unfolded), I was nearly late for the service as a result. I'm highly disappointed with the staff and service at Downs.