Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Thanks we're not fat.

Posted Jan 18, 2018
The whole thing was okay. Just don't even consider this place if you are fat or lazy enough to climb the stairs because the elevator has room for one slim person and a bag, or two slim persons without luggage. People with prominent gut cannot fit into it, Lol.
4 out of 5
by John

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Captain Obvious didn't mention the lack of air conditioning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was like a building site ,health and safety didn't come into it. There was no breakfast room or minibar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
The lift wasn't working neither was the plug in the sink in the bathroom. No breakfast available. Some longstanding reception staff, who knew their regular customers and looked after us well, appear to have left. Long term renovation and upgrading is taking place, which will improve standards in the long term but is causing much disruption over the next few months.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed at the hotel several times a year for 13 years so I was very disappointed on this latest trip, especially as I had people with me I'd recommended it to. I had booked a twin but got a double bed and a camp bed, suitable for a child (we were 2 women respectively in our 60s and 70s). There wasn't a bathroom but a tiny cabinet de toillette with tiles missing. The floor in the bedroom was loose and dangerous. There wasn't a proper cupboard, just makeshift shelves. The fridge didn't work. It was all in a very bad state, not fit for guests. I complained that I hadn't been given the room I had requested , given that I have stayed so often at the hotel and had booked several months previously but they couldn't give me a suitable room the first night. The proprietor has changed and unfortunately some of the most helpful reception staff appear to have left. The lift wasn't working and no breakfast is available even though there is a sign in reception giving the price of breakfast (It hasn't been available for several months). The hotel is being renovated and upgraded but in the meantime some of the rooms are totally inadequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great staff, price and location, a bit run down

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, great location.
Cons: Furniture not particularly new has been around the block many times.
Location: Central to all of Paris
Great value for the price and location; excellent friendly, attentive staff. Room is a bit run down, hot water takes a bit of time to heat up. But given the location it's a good value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greece

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Excellent location!
Great location,very friendly and helpfull staff.Very close to Metro station (Richelieu-Drouot) and most of the sights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Claire from London

A nice comfortable find in a good location.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a single room, and was pleasantly surprised to get a room with a double bed, and a decently-sized room at that. My room opened onto a mini balcony (not deep enough to put a chair on, but you could happily stand on it and watch the world go by). Room condition was a little tired, but clean. Air conditioning, which was needed in August, was by way of a fan. The hotel's arranged over 7 floors, and has a tiny 2-person lift. I had to go up first then have the guy on reception send my big bag (a 65 litre rucksack) up after me separately. Seriously, I had no idea that lifts this small were even made! Therefore, I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you're travelling with lots of (or vary large) luggage, or if you can't do lifts and can't do lots of stairs. Didn't do breakfast, so don't know what it's like. If you're travelling from Gare du Nord, the southbound number 42 bus stops practically outside (wish I'd known that before battling the Metro with my bags!). This bus also goes to the Eiffel Tower. The northbound stop for the bus is at the northbound end of the road - less than a 5 minute walk, and again much easier for Gare du Nord than the Metro. The hotel's well located, but relatively quiet during the evening as it's in an area that seems to be mostly BNP Paribas offices. That said, there's plenty of places to eat on the nearby Boulevard des Italiens (even in August when half of Paris seems to be closed!)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Not the best experience...

Posted Jul 13, 2016
We travel for 2 weeks and stayed at 5-6 hotels and this got mine lowers rating, unfortunately. Didn't expect any luxury, espessially in Paris, but found few things somewhat of experience. The good thing is the price is low and mattresses are fine and staff is friendly ( don't take their advise on where to have a dinner, Yelp ) Now to the exciting part. The elevator is for 2 people, we are slim and it was very tight, even intimate. To get to the six floor, without the lift, its like getting haft way to the Eiffel Tower (15 steps per flight and there are two per floor, do the math) The shower, I didn't see anything like that from way back - the dorm. It was dirty and narrow, so lots of water in this small room. I thought of buying a plastic shower to feel like an investor. Lastly, panorama from our room (bed?). You couldn't hide from at least three other rooms/couples at a close range. If you into watching what is going with others-no problems, don't forget you are watched too. It was hot, so you need to keep windows open, everybody did. Hope this is helpful and you do the right choice for you.