Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

In need of repairs

Posted Oct 9, 2017
This hotel is in need of a good top to bottom cleaning, fresh paint, new carpets and linen replacement. I would not recommend a stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good things com in small packages

Posted Sep 2, 2017
We stayed 1 night midweek. For a room so close to the main road it was quiet that night. Room is extremely small but we were able to squeeze in the 2 patio chairs to watch TV but then had to remove them to the outside when we wanted to go to bed. I liked the french Provincial style furnishings and nice ensuite bathroom. Tea and coffee available to make in our room and bar fridge. The restaurant was closed that evening but the attached hotel bar served food. Parking at the rear of the building. Breakfast of cereal and toast and tea/coffee only was included. I had to ask reception to top up jams, refill the kettle and ask what the drinking glasses were for as there was no juice or water on offer on the tables. She promptly fixed that situation as there were no waiting staff. We did appreciate the breakfast as there was no room to make our own in the room.
5 out of 5
by Clark

Excellent Accommodation

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent little hotel at the top end of New Zealand. Clean, comfortable room. Pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotorua New Zealand

Great Service and Location in Beautiful Opononi

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly service in a cosy, quaint hotel. Good options for dining and drinking. It is like a hotel from the 80's, so no high tech gadgets and gismos.
Cons: Rooms need more storage for luggage, toilet space is a tad tight, but the shower is modern and roomy. Hot water needs to run awhile to draw through.
Location: One advantage to this hotel is the location, within close proximity to the adjoined Boar and Marlin Restaurant (in which we had a very nice meal) and
A very pleasant stay in a great location. Check in and out was quick and friendly. Room was small but had all you needed for a stay for a day or two, and our room was closer to the road and looked out over the water and had a small balcony, which we didn't get to utilise, as we arrived quite late.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

good value for money

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Good value for money, although a bit noisey if yoy are a light sleeper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the beach and restaurant / bar.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
the rooms were a bit small and cramped. Needs a bit of a revamp but we did enjoy the situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Aust.

One night stopover

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe some towel rails in bathroom.
Quick checkin. Lovely clean and comfy room. Beautiful new bathroom. Great food. Right across road from Harbour. Perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Wotif
Cozy rooms beautiful view staff very accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Pleasant Surprise!

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Wotif
The hotel is in a beautiful location right across from the water. The room was small but was well equipped for a short stay. I really loved the French doors opening onto the verandah.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cricket farm motel

Posted Mar 2, 2017
We shared our room with so many crickets and other insects, we hardly slept We had all windows closed but these insects were already in the room! There were dead ones on the floor when we arrived: vacuuming and exterminating would be great as otherwise the place was fine