Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Adrian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Claire from Leeds

Nice location.

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hillside location ( though you will need a car). All rooms with balconies. Reliable wifi. Good restaurant with authentic German cuisine. Good choice at breakfast. Most of the staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

our opinion of the hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Every thing, including the lift, good car parking
Cons: possibly air conditioning as it was 35 degrees,
Location: lovely & quiet & peaceful, lots of walks & cycle tracks, not too far from any towns & Strasbourg airport
At first sight it was everything that we hoped for. On entering the hotel it was an up market hotel, we were staying for 1 night only, but after sampling the menu, which they had in English, we decided to stay for 7 nights instead of 1. Coming down to breakfast on the first day we were astounded at the choice of bread, rolls, cheese , meats , fruit, jams, cereals, you could also have a cooked breakfast. You can see by our overall rating that every thing was excellent, although the portions were too large for us, the chefs gave us smaller portions which was ideal, until we paid the bill we were not aware that they had reduced the price, which we are not accustomed to in England. Afternoon tea & cakes were of the usual German high standard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel

Posted May 5, 2015
All is good, but food options in the menu can be improved a bit.
5 out of 5
by William from Durham

Venice Trip

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
Just a stopover, away from the city. A little out of the way but well worth it. Hotel was outstanding as was the quality of the food and service. Typical German breakfast, how do we survive with ours ! Only one night stay but looks a great place for walking and outdoors Exellent.
3 out of 5
by Susan from Gresham, Oregon

Remote location

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
First:The hotel was up a very long mountain road, one lane only. Second the wifi only worked in the dinning room. The most annoying was that they charged us for a meal we did not eat. They would not take it off the bill. If you were into hiking it probably would be a nice mountain resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Idyllic setting in the Schwarzwald

Posted Aug 9, 2014
You couldn't ask for a prettier setting in the Black Forest for this family-run hotel (it's been in the same family for 125 years). It has everything to make for a comfortable stay with great walking opportunities right outside the front door. Nicely kept with beautiful flower displays in the outdoor balcony boxes. Quite old fashioned and favoured by an older clientele - doesn't looked to have changed one bit in the last 30 years or so, but not necessarily the worse for it. Very generous portions of food in the restuarant and a fabulous breakfast. Our second time there and graet value, we'll be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location and hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels
We wanted to find a hotel in the heart of the Black Forest, and we certainly did. Kalikutt was in a remote location and absolutely beautiful. All of the rooms have private porches and ours overlooked the backside of Kalikutt - the view around the entire hotel was gorgeous. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The staff didn't speak much English (the woman we think is the owner spoke some, and there was a young staff member who spoke some), but it didn't matter. They were friendly and helpful and we made do with pointing, nodding, and broken English and German. Breakfast was delicious every morning and a great value. The food at the hotel was delicious - we were so happy to be able to eat right there the first night we got in. And it was so convenient to bring up desserts and drinks our other nights at the hotel. The location is perfectly situated in the Black Forest so we could spend a day exploring Triberg/Freiberg/more southern Black Forest, and then spend the next day in Freudenstadt and Baden-Baden. It was exactly what we were looking for and we would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by M Devall from Telford UK

Perfect Hotel For Black Forest

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels
Traditional German Architecture, fantastic, great location for Black Forest. The most accommodating hard working staff I have ever had the pleasure to meet. Food in the restaurant is of such a high standard, I would challenge anyone to find better...anywhere. Great Hotel run by Great people.
5 out of 5
by Jennie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels