Ratings based on 1,067 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and staff.

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Pros: Closeness to beach.
Cons: Have comfortable chair to sit in while in room.
Location: Great location.
Pleased with the overall stay. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zachary, Louisiana

Nice hotel. Great location

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Room with beach view was nice & spacious. Staff was pleasant at all times. POOL WAS CLOSED! Most guests I spoke with were most upset because no one was notified of this when reservations were made!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2018 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable feedback, Tony. We’re so sorry you had a negative experience in our hotel, as your experience during your stay sincerely matters to us. We would love to have the opportunity to address your concerns, please reach out to us directly at the hotel. We appreciate you letting us know. Candid comments always help us do our job better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Pleasant

Posted Apr 4, 2018
I’m hard to please but the stay was nice ! You can literally walk 1 min and your at the beach! Pool is heated the food was Good ! restaurant inside the hotel was a little under staffed at all times lol! Staff very nice and punctual! Hotel looks just like the pics! I’m pleased!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Allison, Hotel Management
Cole, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this us this feedback! We're so pleased that you loved your stay with us, and that our staff made your stay even better. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another wonderful stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2018
arrived at 11:30 am, called ahead for early arrival, did not get put into a room until 4:30 pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review. We do apologize for your challenges at check in. Your feedback sincerely helps us to do our job better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Alabama

Never Again

Posted Apr 2, 2018
The hotel looks nice, as it was recently renovated, but looks are definitely deceiving in this situation. When we arrived, there was nowhere to park. I paid for a "beach view" room, but the room I received was directly overlooking the pool. I was told there was nothing that could be done because the hotel was full and I booked through Expedia, but she would have her manager contact me. I never heard from the manager. The bed was hard as a rock and the pillows were so horrible they might as well have not been there. We stayed from Friday night through Sunday morning. Our room was never cleaned Saturday. We did not even receive fresh towels. Hilton hotels are usually wonderful in my experience, but this was pitiful. It was a total waste of money and I will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Allison, Hotel Management
Jennifer, we are so sorry that you had this negative experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback, we have informed our General Manager of the issues you had with your view, housekeeping and bed. We would love to make this up to you, please contact us personally for more direct communication. Again, we are so sorry for this experience and we hope we can welcome you back again for a five star experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Disappointing all around

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Not a great experience for the price. Nowhere was it listed that the pool and hot tub were down due to renovation. Advised by hotel staff that Hampton Inn was allowing pool use only to find out that statement was false and we were told we were trespassing. Would not stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Christina. We're very sorry that our pool was undergoing renovations during your stay, and we're very sorry about the miscommunication with Hampton Inn & Suites. We have informed our management team of this miscommunication. Please feel free to reach out to us personally for more direct communication so we can properly resolve this issue. We would love to welcome you back now that our pool renovations are complete.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Al

Renovations going on

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Unfortunately we did not have a good experience. Major renovations are going on, most notably the indoor/outdoor pool. The pool and exits via the pool to outside were all closed. We understand and appreciate renovations taking place, but we had no advanced knowledge of it, even after calling the hotel to inquire on booking. We selected this particular hotel because of the indoor/outdoor pools because of the variability of weather in the spring. We were very disappointed. We also did not get daily service to our room, only clean towels which we had to ask for. We tried to make the best of it. To get to the beach we either had to go around the side of the building passing by pool construction, or out to the other side and between two buildings by the garage which also served as the smoking area. The staff were extremely nice but were out in the very uncomfortable positions of dealing with a lot of unhappy people. Hilton can do better by their employees and all the patrons who use their hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you, Melissa, for taking the time to write this review. We're so sorry that our pool was undergoing renovations during yoru stay. We're very happy to read that our staff provided you with excellent service. We would love to welcome you back again, next time for a better stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington, Tx

Close to the beach

Posted Mar 26, 2018
The hotel wasn’t what I expected for the price I pay. We expected the indoor pool and all the pool there were under reconstruction. The hot tub was nasty for me. The only thing I like was my beach view room. That I overly paid for and the staffs are really nice and helpful. The room wasn’t clean the way I expected. I usually would use the draws for my clothes but it was too dusty. Hotels gave us free breakfast for not having access to the pool. Was the only nice thing I like about this place. But for calling the Hilton. I was a little bit disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2018 by Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you, Jenny, for taking the time to write this review! We're so pleased to read that you loved your room and the view, and that our staff made you feel welcome and accommodated during your stay with us! We're so sorry that our pool area is currently undergoing renovations, but luckily our neighbors at the Hampton Inn & Suites are allowing our guests to use their pool! We would love to welcome you back once our renovations are complete for a better stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Great vacation at Orange Beach

Posted Mar 24, 2018
our experience was Great will visit again, also have told others about Orange Beach. Very close to the beach. The staff was wonderful and the cookies, fruit water and of course the great free breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Allison, Hotel Management
Milton & Marva, thank you for taking the time to write this review! We're so pleased that you had a great experience with us, and that you loved our location, breakfast, and that our staff made you feel welcome during your stay! We would love to welcome you both back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No pool

Posted Mar 23, 2018
I was Beyond disappointed. I lived in Baldwin county for years. So I come back as often as possible. Mostly to visit my Son and his family. My grandchildren. They come see Nana and swim. The hotel didn't tell me the pool wasn't open when I made reservations or even at check in. The hot tub, was of course too ful to enjoy. One of my grandsons has special needs. The pool was the reason I booked here. The beach is more difficult for him. Being a Hilton Honors member; this is unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Allison, Hotel Management
We're so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately, our pool is undergoing renovations, but luckily our neighbors at the Hampton Inn & Suites are letting our guests use their pool! We would love to make this up to you, please feel free to reach out to us for better communication. We would love to welcome you back again once our renovations are complete!