Ratings based on 910 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovations ongoing.

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Great location right on beach. Wish we knew before we booked that renovations were going on. We were only guests on entire floor as all rooms were being worked on. Painters came and painted our balcony while we were there and new furniture for balcony was also delivered. In fact, we carried it in. Lots of noise, no water for 6 hours one day. No hot water one day. Construction workers were staying at hotel. They were out drinking by pool or hot tub every night. Not very family friendly in that regard. Would have been nice to be given some break on price for all the inconveniences we had to deal with. Should be nice place when everything is done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thank you John for sharing your review and feedback with us. We sincerely appreciate it as it helps us to do our job better. We do apologize you had these inconveniences during your stay due to the construction. Please come back and give us another chance because once the construction is complete you are right, it will be a really nice place. We look forward to welcoming you back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVOID

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Where to start. They are undergoing a large renovation project- we knew this when we booked as we got an email from Expedia. I messaged with an employee from the hotel prior to our stay who assured us that by the time we visited there would just be exterior painting being done. I also verified that we would have pool and beach access prior to check in. However, when we arrived we were told that there was no bathroom to use, except the port-a-John in the parking lot. Our room was not fully finished. There was debris in the old tub, a wet and bubbled patch of drywall above the tub, and the vent/fan was hanging from the ceiling. One of our sheets had a 6 inch tear in it, the carpet was already stained, the balcony door was dirty and did not lock, the chairs on the balcony were filthy, and the hall was full of construction debris and didn’t appear to have been vacuumed recently. To get to the pool and beach, you must use the front entrance and walk through the construction zone on the side of the building where, despite the no smoking signs, the workers take their smoke breaks. On our second day, we returned to our room prior to checking out only to find that we had no hot water or any water at all in the shower. We called the front desk and they said they knew nothing about. We waited an hour and 10 minutes for them to call us back, only to let us know that the water would be off for at least two hours. No apology. They did however, agree to a full refund. Never again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by Jasmine Hunt, Hotel Management
We completely understand your response to our renovations and appreciate your feedback as there is always room for improvement. With any construction we have ran into the unexpected at times and for that we are truly sorry. We are really looking forward to having a beautiful brand new building. I hope you are able to give us another chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

GREAT LOCATION!

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Pros: The location! The breakfast was a true warm, hearty meal - not continental:) They changed up the menu daily.
Cons: Add an indoor pool.
Location: Picturesque beachfront location. Be ready for beachtime, walking, biking, hitting the trails. The water was too rough for swimming:(
While we were advised - shortly before leaving on vacation - that the hotel was in the midst of renovations, they still were more of an inconvenience than we anticipated. Having only 1 working elevator during spring break is a great big hassle. The stairs were completely closed off due to painting during part of our stay. It's annoying to have no lobby restrooms, so we were running to our room bathroom all the way from the pool/beach:( The staff is friendly, wonderful & professional, especially LINCOLN :) @ the front desk. He's almost always alone @ the front desk @ night & does an excellent job - as well as the 3-4 employees during the day!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Jasmine Hunt, Hotel Management
Hello, MSA. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Deidre and Shell do a great job with breakfast and they will be happy to hear of your cimpliemtns. Unfortunately, we do not have the space for an indoor pool but we wish we did. Thank you for your suggestions. We completely understand the impact our renovation is having and we are so sorry for it impacting your stay more than expected. Lincoln will surely be rewarded for his amazing hard work, we're so happy to have him on our team. We hope you re able to return and give us another chance in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton Ohio

MAJOR Construction

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: The pool was nice.
The hotel called me on a Thursday for my Sunday arrival stating they were undergoing minor renovations. It was major. No laundry service, fitness area and there was painting & construction in numerous rooms around the hotel. Most hotels do 1 floor at a time - they were doing the 1st floor & scattered rooms around the hotel. The hot tub was broken half of the time and 1 of my rooms had a leak they attempted to half fix 2 days in a row leaving the hotel w/out water for 5 hours. The exit doors were incorrectly marked & you could not use - only 1 elevator was available so you would wait 5-10 minutes for a very small hotel to get on the elevator. The staff was not overly concerned with our issues which included us having to share a bathroom in our other room due to a large fan in the 1 room for 2 days. The photos make the hotel look better than it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Jasmine Hunt, Hotel Management
Hello, Angeline. We hear your concerns loud and clear, thank you for sharing these with us. It is definitely not an ideal vacation and we are sincerely apologetic for what you experienced during your time here. We hope you are able to give us another chance in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2018
It was under construction and we were told this prior to our stay, but we were also told the rooms were completed and the construction was contained to a specific area which was not the case,. I work in a place that is continually changing to stay competitive and we never see the construction areas it it always tented off and very well contained so I know it is possible and they didn't even try, we had to walk around the parking lot to get to the pool and beach area and through the construction which was really bad because I have a child with limited mobility and to get her through the construction was difficult, and the construction crew was always in the breakfast area eating while I think it is wonderful that they supply breakfast to the construction crew it was very inconvenient for the guest it made seating crowded and most guests were just taking their breakfast to the room, perhaps having a specific time for the construction crew to eat different from the guest would have solved this issue. Also construction materials made the way to the pool and hot tub area and I also seen some down on the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2018 by Jasmine Hunt, Hotel Management
Hello, Allison. I completely understand the impact this had on your family and sincerely apologize. I have taken your comments to our project manager's for further review by the entire team behind the project. I hope you are able to give us another chance in the future once our redesign is complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Metairie, Louisiana

Clean hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 12, 2018
Pros: It was very clean and the breakfast offered a large variety.
Cons: Having more sitting space in the room and having cots available.
Location: It was close to restaurants and activities.
The hotel was very clean, the breakfast was good. The hotel was under construction so the king room only had a king bed with one office chair. We brought our 12 year old grandson with us so all of us slept in one bed. There was no sofa or anywhere to sit. A cot was unavailable. Everything was clean and newly constructed. The pool was heated but still cold and not acceptable to swim in in March. The hotel was right on the beach with a private access to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2018 by Jasmine Hunt, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for sharing what we are doing well and could do better at. We are really excited to show off our new lobby once complete, it will have more open seating! We're almost done with the renovation and can't wait to show it off. I hope you are able to return and give us another chance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and convenient

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Right on the beach. Beautiful pool. Currently doing minor renovations but everything is nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Jasmine Hunt - General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello! We are so glad you got to enjoy the beach and our pool, it's what the gulf is all about. The renovations are so exciting for our team and we can't wait to show it off. Please come see us again soon.
4 out of 5
by Vining

Posted Jan 1, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Online Concierge, Hotel Management
We appreciate you, Vining, for choosing to stay with us and for giving us this great rating. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to Orange Beach. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. - Liz
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a happy guest

Posted Dec 10, 2017 on Hotels
Our bathtub had no hot water. When I told the front desk employee, she said, “That’s bizarre because all of the water comes from the same place.” My children and I took cold baths on the coldest night of winter thus far. Had this not happened I could give this hotel a perfect score.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017
We are truly grateful to you for sharing with us this experience. We are truly sorry about the hot water issue and the fact that our staff was so nonchalant about this issue. We appreciate you letting us know about this and we will share this with our GM. We would love to have the opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel. - Liz
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: on the beach
Cons: breakfast could be better
priority was shopping and beach. lots of both and plenty of places to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Krissy , Hotel Management
Vickie, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're so happy that you enjoyed our beachfront location. We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the breakfast options and will be sure to pass this along to our management team for review. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Orange Beach one day soon. Thanks for choosing to stay with us! --Krissy