Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two days at Christmas

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The style, comfort and responsiveness
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to Fashion Island, theaters, Balboa Island, the beach and water.
My trip was mostly business, I stayed at the BBR because of location and convenience and was really impressed with the service, ambience and responsiveness.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent facility and staff

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Wonderful two-day stay. EVERY staff member--reception, restaurant, bistro, bar, boutique--alert, bright, helpful, and welcoming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel right on the bay

Posted Nov 23, 2016
We came for a girls weekend, the room was huge and the beds were so comfortable. The bathroom had all the amenities we needed. My only regret is not spending more time at the hotel, we missed the pool and the Sunday brunch which I heard was amazing...next time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Bed was no comfortable, there were dips in the bed. I believe it's time to change mattress. Pillows were not comfortable either. There was a bug in the bathroom as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great service

Posted Nov 6, 2016
This place was great. Staff were very friendly. The rooms are very clean and seems to be recently upgraded. Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Absolutely Beautiful place!

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The setting on the water, the Yates were so fun to watch come and go. The Air show was on and was very beautiful to sit out on your Veranda and watch.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Perfect location, On the water right on the main strip of HWY 1. Gorgeous!
Absolutely Breath taking beautiful place! Would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Stood her for my wedding and the staff was very pleasant. Anything I needed was provided and room service selection after 10 wasn't that great but other then that the staff was very friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Surroundings on the Bay!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Sitting on the water enjoying a glass of wine after a long day!
Cons: No improvements , I liked everything about the hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Luxury

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Balboa Bay Resort is well located near Balboa Island & Fashion Island and a short drive to Laguna Beach and San Clemente. the facilities are top class.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Location was about all that this hotel had going.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Hotel was nice. Location right on the water was awesome. Looking out into the harbor and seeing all the yachts was amazing. However the front desk staff was rude and not what a five star staff should be providing in terms of customer service. The restaurant staff was the worst I had ever been served by. I think hooters provides better service. The food was moderate at best. Overall pretty upset with this very expensive one night stay hotel and will not be going back. Nor will I recommend this place to anyone I know.