Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Luxury

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Balboa Bay Resort is well located near Balboa Island & Fashion Island and a short drive to Laguna Beach and San Clemente. the facilities are top class.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Location was about all that this hotel had going.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Hotel was nice. Location right on the water was awesome. Looking out into the harbor and seeing all the yachts was amazing. However the front desk staff was rude and not what a five star staff should be providing in terms of customer service. The restaurant staff was the worst I had ever been served by. I think hooters provides better service. The food was moderate at best. Overall pretty upset with this very expensive one night stay hotel and will not be going back. Nor will I recommend this place to anyone I know.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, Californa

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: It's beautiful and the finishes are high end. It was clean. Friendly staff. It has restaurants. The bay view was nice.
Cons: I think the price of the bay view room needs to come down. The room is pretty small for the price.
Location: Take ferry to Balboa Island. From there you can rent boats and buy touring tickets, etc. We took a tour of the bay and then did whale watching. FUN
The hotel overall was very nice. We got a bay view room. Though I enjoyed the view and the balcony, for the price it was a pretty small room. But the quality of everything was up to par. However, I brought my iPad with me and most of the time for some reason the wifi would not work for me. The device showed it was connected but I could not access the internet 90% of the time. We called the front desk about it but never had a tech guy show up. That aside, the staff was friendly and the concierge got us headed in the right direction to have an afternoon on the water and then dinner at a really nice restaurant, Bayside Restaurant, complete with a piano player. The beautiful music was SO nice after a full day out doing things. Upon checkout, when telling them about our wifi experience, they compensated us so I appreciate their willingness to make it right.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nor Cal

It's what 4-5 stars are made of...

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Disappointed that our room had a street view of the Maserati & Ferrari dealerships when I thought I had booked a room with a bay view..BUT the room had minimized my disappointment. Beautiful, large room with a bathroom as big as a bedroom. Friendly staff and beautiful surroundings.. will definitely stay again if visiting in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't like the extra charges hotel charges

Posted Sep 1, 2016
After we were leaving and getting out, the hotel charges us extra over $100 hospitality charge, even they said we get free bottle of wine and 2 drinks but at the end you end up paying for all. I think this is deceiving. Also paid $30 for parking for each night and we only stayed for 2 nights, though the charge was high.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from y

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Beautifully situated, love the relaxing colors of blues and greens, hints of ocean waves and colors everywhere in patterns and colors of the carpeting, artwork and light fixtures. Love the restaurants. Great staff. Nice rooms. My only complain is the outdated pool area, it definitely needs a good facelift.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: On the pier and live music for guest to enjoy!
Location: Fashion island mall and movie theater. Edward theater Nearby as well. Nice and quiet.
Helpful staff and attentiveness! Nice view, large room. Pleasant overall!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy People

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Beautiful property, the staff were cortious and very accomedating. Just a bunch of happy people!!! Everybody was very attentive. I'm definitely going back there and stay longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice room overlooking harbor!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Enjoyed our stay! Great room overlooking harbor! Beautiful scenery! Staff were friendly and attentive. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nijmegen

Top hotel!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Pool, bar, restaurant, room
Cons: Breakfast also in bar area.
Location: Beach and shoppes
We loved the hotel in the heart of newport beach. Great view on a lot of fancy boats and a good restaurant and bar. We also had a great day at the pool. The service was great, the valet even dropped us of with a complementary shuttle service to our restaurant 15 min away. We will come again!