Ratings based on 756 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redlands CA

Great location.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfy. Fireplace was a nice bonus. Can't beat the location, beach right across the street. Had a great dinner at the Italian restaurant, superb service. Sweetheart manager/server even made a "to go" ice cream sundae for our daughter. We found a new favorite place to stay at the beach!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything but lacking

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The staff wasn't very friendly because I used a 3rd party to book the trip. I was told nervous times - that this happened because you booked with a 3rd party.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Not worth it!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Room did not accommodate amount of people as listed. When I showed them what the website said I was told "that's what you get when booking with a third party" They "upgraded" us to a room that would accommodate that required a fold away bed and we were charged a lot more than the original booking. Room was next to a busy street with noise all night from the bar across the street. Room was old and dirty. Continental breakfast consisted of individually wrapped muffins.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa Az

Thin Walls

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The walls are super thin. I listened to someone's music and crying from midnight to after 3am. It woke up everyone in the my room. I went to the front desk and they came and asked them to keep it down. They turned the music down a little bit. But it was still loud enough to keep me awake. The breakfast is all packaged muffins. And green apples. More like a snack.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missoula, MT

Beautiful old style Hacienda building near pier

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. And it's wonderful architecture.
Cons: Need to update rooms.
Location: Balboa Pier, Ruby's Diner, Balboa Island and ferry, The Wedge, beach, ocean.
We loved staying at this hotel and will be back. It is close to everything including the Balboa Pier and The Wedge. We took the ferry over to Balboa Island for fun. The room was a little bare and furnishings old, in a style that did not fit the historical building. We had no area rugs on the floor so slipped around after a shower. Jacuzzi was wonderful and the view from their spectacular!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Location couldn't make up for the rest

Posted Mar 16, 2017
The location was great but the facility was run down and dirty. The listing is misleading as well. The "pool" is actually a hot tub and the "breakfast" is apples, oranges and prepackaged danishes (cheap ones at that). We booked a week because the location but could only last a night it was loud, dirty, smelly and we felt like we needed a shower when we left.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but terrible hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Staff was nice and location was great. The room was extremely small for 2 people and we're forced to stand in one location so the other could move around. We also could hear every noise in the building. Every door close, every conversation, and even the garbage truck that came by at 5am. The door didn't even seal to keep the light from the hallway out. Paint didn't cover up the water damage on the walls and the bathroom light fixtures weren't big enough to cover the electrical box in the wall.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
For the money you paid the room was a very small note herb really loud you could hear everybody walking down the hall ways
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice..close to beach

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Our stay was nice..Will was a great help! He helped us move from room to another. And contiued to be friendly whenever he saw us!Heather in bar was fantastic! Downside..the beds are not very comfortable.and few of staff were not very friendly ,when we left the vallet didn't even help load car ..barely acknowledged us
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
A historic hotel, in more ways than one, located on the beautiful Balboa peninsula. Location is terrific, with a large open green space, steps from the sand, Balboa pier, and a play area for kids. Also right next to some Cantina Taco joint that is basically a bar that stays open late, is loud, and gets all kind of silly drunks shuffling around in the wee hours of the morning - this was kind of annoying, but I probably would've enjoyed it myself were I still in my twenties and bored. The hotel itself gets 3 stars - historic yes, but in need of some upgrading and basic interior fixes. Staff was kind enough. Parking was pricey ($45/day to valet, or $18/day to park at the public lot across the way), on top of already pricey "resort fees" - for which you get wifi. Soak tub in the room was nice. Thin walls, so you hear a lot, but not too bad. Overall could be a real gem with some upgrades and upkeep. With that said, it was underwhelming in enough ways that we probably wouldn't return.