Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - not very kid friendly

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Across street from ocean
At 7:30 pm the front desk guy come and told us he had gotten some calls on the noise. We have 3 boys under age 9, & were out in the desk of the hotel looking at the ocean. So not to kid friendly, but very nice, & great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Our second stay and we'll be back

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, easy, small
Cons: The complimentary breakfast is awful but it usually is when offered. If you're ok with sugar cereal, toast, gross eggs and coffee then you'll be fine
Location: Capistrano State Beach is right across the street. driving and parking is easiest and convenient. I highly recommend Captain Dave's Whale Watch
We stayed at this hotel a year ago and had a good experience so returned this year. We went for the ocean view room which was great. But be aware there is a road and a train track between you and the ocean. We knew this ahead of time so no surprise but just a heads up for anyone new to the area. It super easy to get to Capistrano beach form here which is convenient as my husband doesn't get around very well. We go for the whale watching and beach not to hang out in a hotel so this fits our needs perfectly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Nice hotel, walk to the beach

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Nice Room, cute facility walk to beach and good restaurants. Could open the windows and hear the surf pounding the sand.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las Vegas

Beauty by the ocean

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Staff is s friendly and amazing. I've been staying here for years.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Best Western Dana Point Inn-By-the-Sea

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The staff, the location, the facilities.
Location: Downey state beach, Ocean Institute, shops and restaurants at the harbor.
The hotel was easy to find, it's right on PCH, and there was plenty of parking underground. Check-in staff was friendly and informative. We had reserved an ocean view room and it was on the second floor. The room was spacious and clean. The ocean is across the street and past railroad tracks. The view is very pretty, but there were a couple of small nuisances: when you sit down on the balcony, the railing is right at eye level, blocking the view unless you sit up tall or hunch over to look through the bars of the railing, and the traffic can be loud. Fortunately, the trains weren't an issue at all and the traffic quiets down as the evening progresses. It was very nice to sleep with the window open to hear the waves crash and drinking my coffee on the balcony the next morning with that ocean view was pretty awesome. There is a free breakfast, hot food and cold, and the management was nearby to help with making the waffles and fresh coffee. A bonus is that the hotel is just a few steps away from a great Mexican restaurant called Olamendi's and a sports bar called Sunsets that served good bar food. If you like to avoid crowds in town, then this is the place to stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa

Worst Hotel Experience EVER!!!

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: The location is great with tons of beach activities. This lousy hotel capitalizes off their location. Not worth the outrageous prices and bad service.
Ridiculously overpriced run down motel. They price gouge because of their location. Not worth the price and absolutely terrible customer service. I should have just slept in my car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Douglasville< PA


Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: For the Best rate in Dana Point, this hotel surpassed our expectations. Free parking right under the hotel, great room, great service, free breakfast.
Cons: nothing..
Location: Your at the beach, but you do have to cross over an overpass. Restaurants you can easily walk to, free parking at hotel, great deck.
we were looking for a hotel, near the ferry over to Catalina Island. This Hotel worked out great, across from the beach although you have to go over an overpass over the railroad tracks, {but every Hotel has to do the same}.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring, Texas


Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Peace and quiet
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to the beach.
This was the most peaceful hotel we have ever stayed in. From the water fountains to the well kept atrium area, it was a great place to be! The breakfast buffet was appreciated. This hotel was truly representative of Best Western. A great hotel at a reasonable price! Thanks again for the experience! The Baluns - stayed August 2016
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Too much road noise since right on very busy street. Other than that, an ok place to stay. Breakfast included, staff very friendly, and grounds clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Aug 7, 2016
It was nicer than I expected for a best western. The staff went out of their way to make our stay nice. They offered us free, very nice beach chairs. Parking was free and simple.