Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from laguna niguel

Very good

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: The room is nice I like the balcony to see the ocean view.
Cons: Rooms, balcony, amenity, the ocean view, the food
Location: Vacation
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - not very kid friendly

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Across street from ocean
At 7:30 pm the front desk guy come and told us he had gotten some calls on the noise. We have 3 boys under age 9, & were out in the desk of the hotel looking at the ocean. So not to kid friendly, but very nice, & great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Our second stay and we'll be back

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, easy, small
Cons: The complimentary breakfast is awful but it usually is when offered. If you're ok with sugar cereal, toast, gross eggs and coffee then you'll be fine
Location: Capistrano State Beach is right across the street. driving and parking is easiest and convenient. I highly recommend Captain Dave's Whale Watch
We stayed at this hotel a year ago and had a good experience so returned this year. We went for the ocean view room which was great. But be aware there is a road and a train track between you and the ocean. We knew this ahead of time so no surprise but just a heads up for anyone new to the area. It super easy to get to Capistrano beach form here which is convenient as my husband doesn't get around very well. We go for the whale watching and beach not to hang out in a hotel so this fits our needs perfectly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Nice hotel, walk to the beach

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Nice Room, cute facility walk to beach and good restaurants. Could open the windows and hear the surf pounding the sand.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las Vegas

Beauty by the ocean

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Staff is s friendly and amazing. I've been staying here for years.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Best Western Dana Point Inn-By-the-Sea

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The staff, the location, the facilities.
Location: Downey state beach, Ocean Institute, shops and restaurants at the harbor.
The hotel was easy to find, it's right on PCH, and there was plenty of parking underground. Check-in staff was friendly and informative. We had reserved an ocean view room and it was on the second floor. The room was spacious and clean. The ocean is across the street and past railroad tracks. The view is very pretty, but there were a couple of small nuisances: when you sit down on the balcony, the railing is right at eye level, blocking the view unless you sit up tall or hunch over to look through the bars of the railing, and the traffic can be loud. Fortunately, the trains weren't an issue at all and the traffic quiets down as the evening progresses. It was very nice to sleep with the window open to hear the waves crash and drinking my coffee on the balcony the next morning with that ocean view was pretty awesome. There is a free breakfast, hot food and cold, and the management was nearby to help with making the waffles and fresh coffee. A bonus is that the hotel is just a few steps away from a great Mexican restaurant called Olamendi's and a sports bar called Sunsets that served good bar food. If you like to avoid crowds in town, then this is the place to stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is cute and quaint. It is right across from a nice beach. You can walk along the pathway and there are three good restaurants within walking distance. The staff is really nice. The only thing that was not up to par are the sheets on the bed. It felt like we were sleeping under plastic. An upgrade of the sheets is definitely needed. Other than that, this is a great hotel and the staff is very nice.
4 out of 5
by Charles from Arizona

A great value

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice, respectful and helpful owners/operators! Great breakfast served each AM. A great value. Only drawback is there is no pool, just a small hot tub.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa

Worst Hotel Experience EVER!!!

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: The location is great with tons of beach activities. This lousy hotel capitalizes off their location. Not worth the outrageous prices and bad service.
Ridiculously overpriced run down motel. They price gouge because of their location. Not worth the price and absolutely terrible customer service. I should have just slept in my car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Douglasville< PA

GREAT LOCATION , NEAR THE BEACH, AND RESTAURANTS

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: For the Best rate in Dana Point, this hotel surpassed our expectations. Free parking right under the hotel, great room, great service, free breakfast.
Cons: nothing..
Location: Your at the beach, but you do have to cross over an overpass. Restaurants you can easily walk to, free parking at hotel, great deck.
we were looking for a hotel, near the ferry over to Catalina Island. This Hotel worked out great, across from the beach although you have to go over an overpass over the railroad tracks, {but every Hotel has to do the same}.