Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Easy access to the beach and the marina.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Outside area for pets needed.
Location: Restaurants up and down the street. Great marina! Museum, nicer food, whale watching tour, ferry to Catalina Island & charter fishing available...
Close to beach and fast food. Right on the Pacific Coast Highway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The manager and his team really helped me figure out my room situation after an unexpected snafu, on my part. Much appreciated.
The 2 Queen bed suite, with sofa bed was good for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Great place nice location....... close to college. I don't want to add more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Great location with traffic lights nearby get going in right direction. Very friendly staff that will help. Had TV issue and I called front desk and service was almost immediately and problem solved. TV issue was housekeeping wasn't put back the cord with remote control receiver thereby controller couldn't work properly. Thoroughly enjoyed my time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location near beach and restaurants was good.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Location and nice large room.
Cons: Parking (garage was being redone) was terrible.
Location: Excellent location within walking distance to Dana Point Marina with its walking path and many restaurants.
Staff very nice. Breakfast, although free, was less than adequate. Hot foods were often cold and egg white patty was tasteless.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For our reservation wrong

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Got yo hotel early evening , hotel had got our reservation wrong and didn't have an accessible room as requested , bathrooom was a joke - so small , walls psoer thin and felt unsafe
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Peter Callan, General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my apologies if there was anything incorrect with your reservation on our end. When you book through 3rd party websites the computers assign the specific room type you request ... I know on some sites the accessible rooms aren't identified that clearly so you may have thought you were reserving one at the time. Without your name I have no way of looking it up. Whatever the cause, you didn't receive what you wanted and for that I do apologize. If you'd like to contact me directly at the hotel, I can look into this better and, if any type of refund is in order, I would be happy to assist.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Not Impressed!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
I was pleased with the majority of my stay except for the smell of the room. It smelt musty and stail.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Peter, General Manager, Hotel Management
We're extremely sorry for the musty smell you found in your room. I'm sure you know that all of California has been hit with very heavy rains for the past two months - much needed to help relieve the drought - but between the high humidity and needing to keep all the windows and balcony doors closed throughout the storms we haven't been able to air out the rooms the way we would have liked. Hopefully the worst is over and we can start letting the Pacific breezes in once again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Nice room close to Dana Point Harbor and great breakfast. I plan to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Centro, CA

Very clean and modern.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We were surprised at how close the beach and harbor were from here. Walking distance, beautiful city. Hotel was very clean, and newly renovated. I will stay here again in the future if I ever come back this way!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Close to beach. Good location.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Staff were not super friendly and cleaning staff sass very loud early on a Saturday. So much for sleeping in. Room was what you'd expect for this price point.