Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

lt was a nice hotel.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Visited Newport Beach and Balboa Island.
Comfortable, clean and friendly staff. Centrally located.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Can't wait to come back!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: It is conveniently located to Newport, Balboa beach and Huntington beach.
Cons: Parking can be a little tight at times.
Location: Beach is within walking distance. Great restaurants all over.
We stay here every time we come to Newport/Balboa. We always bring our beach cruisers and ride from the hotel to the beaches, to shopping and to restaurants. All of the staff is super nice and they provide a great breakfast. If you don't bring bikes you can borrow bikes, beach towels and beach umbrellas from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Near the beach
Cons: Parking was not good
Location: Good location for going to the beach and eating food and shopping
Good and very clean good continental breakfastGreat location for going to the beach right across the street
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great location for beach/ocean time

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Love the continental breakfast. They loan towels for beach.
Location: It's a nice area. The beach is a minute walk. Disneyland is only 40 minutes away.
We always stay at the Best Western when we go to Newport Beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by Arthur , Hotel Management
Dear Matt, Thank you very much for your review. We love making our guest happy and hope to see you again soon. Arthur Adolphson Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend visit

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Everything good if you don't count the dead mouse in the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Great customer service! Perfect location: literally across the street from the beach!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glendora

Best Western Newport Beach

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
I have to say, the interior of the hotel far exceeds the exterior. The lobby was really nice, contemporary, the room for breakfast was great. The breakfast smelled and looked good, they had waffles, eggs, ham, plus much more. The pool is small but the loungers, tables and umbrellas were great. The room was really good. We had two queen beds and still plenty of room. Had a fridge in room. Would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler I want to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very glad you loved our property. In the future, we will be making changes to the exterior as well. I definitely hope to see you again on your next visit. Arthur Adolphson Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
by Jennifer

Good, but definitely paying for location

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was fine. Fairly updated, clean, staff was extremely friendly, and they had stuff you could borrow for the beach (towels, chairs, toys, etc). It's what I'd expect from a Best Western, but not one of the nicer ones. The location is prime (right across the street from the beach), and that's mostly what you're paying for, as the price is well above what you'd pay elsewhere for the same room and amenities. Our room was right under the hallway on the next floor, and I was awakened very early by footsteps running up and down the hall. Not the hotel's fault, of course, but the floorplan design does play into it. Breakfast is pretty typical - cereal, breads, waffles, egg patties and "meat," however the breakfast room is very small and cramped. It's very difficult to get to the food, and then to find a place to sit down and eat it. But if you're looking for a place that's decent and awesome location for a beach getaway, this is a great place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer Thank you for your candid remarks regarding your stay. We are very glad you found your stay good. We have been making renovations so guests could feel they are paying for more than just location. We do hope to see you again very soon. Arthur Adolphson Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel cross street to be in the beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: the breakfast very good
Cons: very good attention
Location: you have all around the hotel
very comfortable and very convenient. I have very nice stay in the beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Decent hotel across from beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This was a nice hotel for the price in the area. The staff member who checked us in seemed too bored to tell us slowly where everything was, so he blew through it all. Room smelled musty and like smoke.