Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Classy, comfortable, romantic, super clean and beautiful B&B!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Charming Scenic Overlook in Dana Point

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The Blue Lantern Inn is perched high up on a bluff overlooking the Dana Point Harbor and Pacific Ocean. I was very pleased to find a very comforting, spacious room with partial views of the Dana Point Harbor outside of my windows. The Inn's staff were incredibly pleasant, informative and efficient at all points throughout my overnight stay and I was very pleased with the complimentary breakfast buffet for registered guests upon waking up in the morning. There are several very nice restaurants a short walk away the finest in my opinion which I dined at The Chart House. Towards the hotel amenities I was saddened to learn that The Blue Lantern Inn had no inner courtyard or pool area. However, there is a private terrace with seating and lounges at the back side of the Inn to take in the stellar views of the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor below. My one regret is that I didn't pay a little more for one of the nicer rooms above this private terrace area with individual balconies on the 2nd and 3rd floors. I would definitely stay again at the Blue Lantern Inn in Dana Point when another opportunity presents itself and I'm already speaking very highly of this hotel with my family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Breakfast sampling is a must

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Within walking distance to several excellent restaurants Chart House and Jacks, as well as Coastal Kitchen were my favs.
The view of the bay from my room was killer. I had a fireplace and a jetted soaker tub. The staff was so welcoming and they had a wine reception in the evening. The breakfast was absolutely phenomenal - each day a surprise from crostini blueberry bread pudding to glazed French toast. From your room in the AM you could smell the bacon cooking - yum! What a hidden gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The inn is gorgeous! Dana Point is relaxing and we will be going back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a wonderful stay

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Place was horrible, between the AC units outside our room and the city deciding to cut the trees outside our window that day at 7 am not a place I plan to go again. The bathroom was dangerous with the high wall bath tube and no hand rails to grab, slippery floor. And tube The breakfast was also terrible. Everyone's visit is different, recommend you don't get room 309
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expectations exceeded! Wonderful property-amazing

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Highly recommend. These people care about their property and their guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lock Haven, PA

beautiful view. good location

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: location. price. VIEWS! breakfast. clean
Cons: nothing really
Location: whale watching tours and great food at the marina just a couple min drive
just one night stay but room was clean and very spacious. double bathroom with jaccuzi tub and seperate stand up shower. Nice size balcony with table/chairs and an amazing view we ate breakfast on. just a couple min drive from the marina. did a 2 min whale watching tour and saw several blue whale and hundreds of dolphins! Very good complimentary breakfast. friendly staff. Absolutely zero issues and well worth the price
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Saco, Maine

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
This B and B was easy to find, great parking and terrific views! Staff was friendly and informative of the area! Walking trails, marina with restaurants all close by. I would recommend this place 100%!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to harbor

Posted May 8, 2016
Great place to stay Loved it! Would come back again