Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kauai

Closest to lower trestles

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Not only is this hotel closest to the sight of surfing America national championships, it is also the nicest of the larger lodges in town. Free breakfast is a major plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel beautiful area.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
traveled alone to San Clemente and found comfort suits a wonderful hotel. Staff very kind and rooms affordable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Close to beach

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Older hotel that has been remodeled. Room was a little small, but clean. Hotel staff not very helpful when we asked directions to the beach. Lots of "rules" listed on a card in the room that were not advertised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2nd floor noise

Posted May 25, 2017
When we arrived we were given a second floor room which turned out to be very noisy above us. We asked the front desk for a new room and he didn't seem very pleased at all to accommodate us. He should have been the one to offer us the new room but instead we had to ask. We were given a room on the third floor which turned out to be great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

We love this hotel. Close to the beach

Posted May 22, 2017
Very clean, nice breakfast. Staff are very friendly and although the freeway noise is loud, inside the rooms are quiet. We always stay in a suite because we have a large family. The hotel is very accommodating to the kids. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are clean but a little outdated. Great hotel for the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and comfortable.

Posted May 16, 2017
This was our 4th stay here. It's close to Camp Pendleton. The breakfast is good. The beach and dining in San Clements are nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room & location with easy check in

Posted May 15, 2017
This is our 2nd time staying here & we really enjoyed it-?very good breakfast too
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Camp Pendleton

Posted May 1, 2017
If you need a place to stay while you visit someone at the School of Infantry, this hotel is conveniently located. Surfin' Donuts nearby was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ok

Cali hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Great experience. Comfortable and clean. I would book again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for the price.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The price of the hotel for the area.
Cons: The cleanliness of the carpets. More ice machines.
Location: Walking distance to liquor store and great restaurants.
The rooms were not ready when we arrived at 6 p.m.. The pool area was very small, not alot of patio area to sit while the kids swam. Staff was very nice and did their best to accommodate our request to have rooms next to our friends. The rooms themselves were okay. The carpets were stained with what appeared to be white paint. The complementary breakfast was above average and the staff allowed our children to eat prior to the breakfast hours to accommodate their tournament schedule. However, in the portion of the hotel we stayed at (room 309) there was no ice machine. In order to get ice you were required to go to the lobby (which requires you to walk outside), and take the elevator to the second floor. Very inconvenient.