Ratings based on 1,176 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Close to everything
Location: Restaurants bars shops
Staff very good everything was fine the only thing that bothered me is this review because it needs to be longer than i think it needs to be
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kihei, Maui, Hawaii

4 people 1 king bed?

Posted Dec 31, 2016
I love this hotel, this was my 4th visit to it, but first time booking through expedia. We've held family reunions twice here (last one was in Aug 2016). So I was disappointed when I booked the room for 4 people, 2 queen beds, called them ahead of time to let them know we would be a late check in. I gave them the names of my daughter, son, niece and nephew checking in. When they checked in they were told it's a King size bed ONLY?? Only after arguing and demanding, did they get what was all ready paid for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in harbor area

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Leaking faucets tub and sink didn't drain said they couldn't be repaired
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Tony K., Hotel Management
Thanks you for the information. Sorry we were unable to take corrective action while you were at the hotel. One night stay and you were departing that morning. We spoke with Expedia and were able to provide a discount for your inconveniences. Best regards and happy new year. Tony Kaspar, GM - Dana Point Marina Inn
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

It's old and dirty but hey... at least it's noisy!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The beds were comfortable and clean, really nice soft towels and good coffee in the breakfast area.
Location: Pros: it's in a really great location in the harbour with lots of restaurants, coffee shops, shopping and whale watching at your doorstep.
Bathroom fixtures are really old and worn out to the point of looking disgusting. (See pictures) The walls are thin to the point of easily hearing conversations next door, bath fans are noisy and so is the refrigerator. They don't have any door closers so people can slam the door to the room next to you and keep waking you up. They have a patio in the courtyard so people sit out there till all hours whooping it up ( kept me awake till 1:30 AM despite 3 calls to the front desk). They switched us to another “non smoking” room but it reeked like smoke and the sink was plugged. 3rd room was fine so it shows they have some good rooms – hence the good reviews you will read. You just don’t want to come here during busy seasons or long weekends when if you get a bad room you can’t get switched. Want to talk to a manager? Sorry he takes weekends off! So if there are partiers there is no one to deal with them. The young lady at the front desk tried to insinuate it was my imagination. Here’s the scoop... From what I hear the harbour area is slated for complete re-development. All buildings will be torn down including this hotel so it looks to me that they are not spending an extra dime and just sucking it dry. If you are lucky enough to get a good room, you’ll have a good stay as long as there are no parties going on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Nice hotel close to the marina and state beaches

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Close to the marina and beaches.
Cons: Switch out bathroom sink (deep scratches). Install ramp behind swimming pool so wheelchair users don't have to use the driveway to access marina.
Location: See above - beaches, marina, restaurants nearby.
Very friendly staff (especially the woman overseeing breakfast), right on the marina allowing scenic half-mile walk to the end of the breakwater, close to state beaches (though you have to cross a bridge to get to Capistrano state beach). Quiet with nice deck, although bathroom was a little dated. All in all no complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, United States of America

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Old and outdated - there was a big spider in the dingy bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
it was an amazing stay for a short time wish can stay longer
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful anniversary Retreat location

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
We were there for our one year anniversary over the weekend of November 19th and the staff was exceptionally Amazing by giving us an early check-in And the room and the hotel itself is super comfortable and super clean and I would recommend this hotel anyone anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Need a bellhop during normal business hours
No diner on site. Ordered dinner from local deli which delivered