Ratings based on 2,215 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Disney Parks

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: I loved the nearness to the parks and the fireplace in the lobby.
Cons: Offer better deals, like passes to accommodate the stay.
Great place to stay if visiting Disneyland, but it is a little bit on the expensive side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Security Abound

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: We love the character and ambience.
Cons: The positioning of the security for those guests staying at the far end of the hotel wings.
Location: Disneyland of course.
It's a new world that we live in. You go through security every time you leave the hotel. Our room was at the very end of the building so we asked the maid if there was a short way to get downstairs than walking all the way back to the front lobby and he said to take the stairwell at the end of the hall. Well...that took us out to La Brea Bakery and we headed to the park until Security converged on us and took us back to the Hotel. At that point we started noticing the security and it was at least 4-5 times more obvious than ever before, plus there are dozens of employees that just stand around, not actually doing anything just watching. We've been going to DL for over 20 years and have never felt unsafe, but with this new security procedure, we have to assume they are aware of something. So, good to be kept safe, but the layout of their hotel does not accommodate their security measures very well. I suggest not staying in a Downtown Disney view room unless you want to walk an extra mile (literally) out of your way each time you go back to the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The lobby is beautiful and service is excellent. Rooms are large, but overall, the rooms are not anything great for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

A Holiday Inn Express Inside the Park

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Paid extra to get King size bed with premium view. I should have known something was up when the hotel clerk started acting nervous when I showed up. He tried to be sneaky and ask if I wanted to be on same floor as my friends (checking in at same time). When I came down after seeing they placed me in double beds they said that they gave me double beds because I wanted to be next to my friends. Then when I said no I don't care they replied no king size beds were available and they said they would let us know as soon as one became available but by that time it would be too late. Overall the $700 night room felt like a Holiday Inn express but with the convenience of being inside the theme park. Very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco ca

Disneyland Vacation

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Just what I wrote about above.
Location: We went to downtown Disney and shopped and ate we did not venture out of the park.
I love the Grand California my only complaint is that the stopper for the tub was hanging out and did not work also one of the light blubs was out over the bed. I left the light on over the bed so that the maid could see that it was out but nothing was done about it. The price of the hotel is a lot and I would think that small things like that would be taken care of ASAP.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wilmington, de

Great location but hotel could use a face lift

Posted Dec 7, 2016
While the location was perfect, the beds weren't very comfortable and the shower was almost unusable. We both had to take burning hot showers every morning with almost no water pressure. Don't get me wrong I love a nice hot shower but this was way hot and there was little room for adjustment. Additionally, we had booked a king bed almost six months in adnavce and on check in we were given two queens with a view of the roof of the hotel. It wasn't what we had booked and was frustrating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

amazing location and beautiful public rooms

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: very beautiful hotel and amazing location in disneyland
Cons: check in took a long time, busy on Sunday morning
Location: It's Disneyland, what else can I say
Loved taking the family on this birthday treat of a trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great overall experience

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: We love the lobby & that everyone (hotel guest or not) is allowed to relax there, listen to the music & take in the beautiful architecture and design.
Our experience at the Grand Californian was great overall. Our only complaint was the shower in the bathroom did not have good water pressure and it fluctuated a lot between cold and hot. We do not know if that is because of how many rooms there are at the hotel or because we were given a handicap accessible room (do not know why) and there was a hand held shower head.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manteca

Disappointed

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: I liked the staff, except the one that lied about our room being near elevator.
Cons: The shower only worked half power. Most of the water went down the spout instead of shower head. Drain slow, sink drain girgled and sent up FOWL smell
Location: Disneyland had several problems, No sound throughout park, several BIG rides broke down. Not the hotels fault, but added to disappointment.
We were located at the back of hotel. The elevator was located outside of the lobby, FAR from lobby.I asked to be near elevator since I have hard time walking. It was noisy with street noise and workers. The room was small. It was a big waste of money. We had a great stay here a couple months ago. This time was extremely disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel and staff were great. Breakfast buffet was horrible. My husband and I got sick and wasn't much we could even eat. Food was tasteless.